Skip to content
AI & Automation

6 Steps: Esignature Solutions for Construction Industry 2026

Oct 15, 2026

Key Takeaways

  • An e-signature product for a contractor is a way to send a subcontract, change order, or pay application for a recorded signature and to keep who signed, in what order, and when.

  • Price the allowance, not the sticker. A low monthly seat can still stall a job if the plan counts every sent packet against a yearly cap.

  • Docusign, Dropbox Sign, PandaDoc, and signNow publish seat or plan prices. Adobe Acrobat Sign Solutions, Zoho Sign's dollar rates, and Procore did not show a fixed software price on the pages opened for this guide, so those three are Quote-based.

  • Procore does not replace a signature subscription. Its project tools can request signatures through Docusign, and the envelope still counts on the Docusign plan.

  • A proposed filing layer above the signer is worth it only when a signed file must land on the job and a person must check exceptions. A single sender with a light month can stay on a basic plan.

August spending rate: $2,203.1 billion according to U.S. Census Bureau (2026), 0.9 percent above the revised July estimate of $2,184.5 billion and 1.7 percent below the August 2025 estimate of $2,242.0 billion. That is the volume of work put in place, not a software market. It is why a residential or commercial contractor feels signature delay in the schedule even when the software bill looks small.

TL;DR: count the people who send, count a peak month of packets, then pick the plan whose allowance and project-tool fit match that count. Treat Quote-based vendors as a sales conversation, not as a guessed seat price.

The job is to get the change order signed

An e-signature solution for construction is software that sends a contract, change order, or invoice for an electronic signature and keeps a time-stamped record of the signing. The owner, operations manager, or controller who searched this topic is not browsing. A sub is waiting on a commitment, an owner is waiting on a change, or a pay app cannot move until someone signs.

The category decision comes before any brand. You are choosing how a packet leaves the office or the trailer, how a signer on a phone completes it, and how the signed file gets back to the job record. Drawing markup, takeoff, and schedule tools do not answer that. A signer that cannot show order and completion does not either.

Six steps settle it. Count senders separately from people who only sign. Count envelopes in a peak month, not a quiet one. Check whether the construction system already routes Docusign. Separate PDF editing from signature routing. Price the annual seat against the allowance. Decide whether a layer above the signer has to file the result and hold exceptions for a person.

Same allowance math shows up in other trades. Guides for accounting firms, medical practices, and law firms walk the seat-versus-cap choice in those offices. The construction difference is the project file: the signature has to attach to a subcontract, a prime change, or an invoice, not only to a shared drive.

Who this is for

This comparison is for an owner, operations manager, or controller at a residential or commercial contractor who will choose a signing tool soon. It fits a firm that sends subcontracts, change orders, proposals, or owner packets to people who do not sit in the same office. It also fits a firm that already keeps the job in a construction system and wants the signature status to match the commitment or the invoice.

Red flags: you need drawing markup, model coordination, or a full project-management suite and you do not send packets for signature. Your counsel requires wet ink or an in-person notary the product you are considering does not offer. You will not pay for any signature seat and you expect a construction platform to include unlimited signing at no separate allowance.

How we evaluated these tools

Weights reflect what moves a contractor's choice, not a lab score. No product was tested for this guide. Each cell below is a public fact from a vendor page or a stated gap where the page did not publish the fact.

CriterionWeightMinimum bar for a short list
Allowance versus a peak month25%100 sends a year or a published uncapped request model
Routing across several parties20%3 roles in an order the sender can set
Phone and in-person signing15%1 mobile path a superintendent can hand over
Record of who signed15%1 completion record or audit trail on the plan
Published price a buyer can check15%1 public paid plan, or an honest Quote-based label
Fit with the job file10%1 path into a project tool or a clean PDF export

Allowance is the heaviest weight because construction sending is lumpy. A ground-up start can push a month of subcontracts and insurance exhibits through one coordinator, then go quiet. Routing is next because a change often needs the project manager, the sub, and the owner in order, not a single click from the client. Phone signing matters on site. The completion record matters when a pay dispute asks who signed the exhibit. A public price matters because a controller cannot compare Quote-based seats to a $30 seat without a quote in hand. Job-file fit is real but lighter: email plus a filed PDF still works when the project tool has no connector.

Anything that fails the record test is out of this short list. A scanned JPEG with no signer log is not a substitute. A construction suite that only stores the unsigned PDF is not a signer until a signature product is attached and priced.

What the public price actually buys

Pricing checked October 14, 2026. Figures below are the ones printed on the vendor pages opened that day. Where a page did not show a dollar amount, the cell says Quote-based. Tax is extra where the vendor says so. Annual totals in the second table are arithmetic on those published rates, shown so a controller can compare a year, not a teaser month.

Standard seat: $30 per month according to Docusign (2026). On that annual plan billed monthly, the Personal plan is $11 per month with an annual commitment of $132 and 5 envelopes a month, the Business Pro plan is $45 per user per month with an annual commitment of $540, Standard and Business Pro each include 100 envelopes per user per year, SMS delivery starts at $0.36, and an identity-verification attempt starts at $2.40. Personal is one user. Standard and Business Pro go up to 50 users. Enhanced plans are contact-sales. An envelope counts when it is sent, signed or not.

Dropbox Sign's Essentials plan is $15 per month, or $10.05 per month when the yearly charge is $120.60, and the Standard plan is $25 per user per month, or $17.50 per user per month with a yearly start of $420, while Premium is a custom quote, according to Dropbox Sign (2026). The page describes unlimited signature requests on the product and lists 22 languages. Standard is framed for 2 or more users, with a prompt to contact the vendor past 5 users. Premium is framed for 5 or more users.

Starter seat: $19 per month according to PandaDoc (2026). Billed annually, the Business plan is $49 per user per month. Billed monthly, Starter is $35 per user per month and Business is $65. The free plan is $0 and is capped at 5 documents a month, with a note that older annual free accounts were 60 a year, and at 2 recipients per document. Starter and the free plan list up to 5 templates. Business and Enterprise list unlimited templates. Enterprise is contact sales.

signNow's Business plan is listed at $8 per user per month billed annually, Business Premium at $15, Enterprise at $30, and a Site License at $1.50 per signature invite, and the same page says more than 28 million users and that paid plans include unlimited users at no extra cost with no envelope cap, according to signNow (2026). The page also states a per-user rate. Those two statements should be confirmed on the checkout before you budget seats. The page says a 7-day trial does not require a card, and it says signatures are intended to meet the U.S. ESIGN Act and UETA.

Zoho Sign's comparison table lists 5 envelopes a month on the free plan, 25 envelopes per user per month on Standard, unlimited envelopes on Professional and Enterprise, a 20 percent saving on yearly billing, and 50 complimentary credits per user per month capped at 2,500 on Enterprise, while dollar amounts did not render, according to Zoho Sign (2026). This guide marks Zoho Sign's seat price Quote-based.

Adobe states that a paid Acrobat membership includes 100GB of cloud storage and that the Reader app has more than 635 million installs, and the business pages describe Acrobat Sign Solutions as a contact-sales product, according to Adobe (2026). Seat dollars on Adobe's pricing pages are loaded by the store and did not appear in the page text opened for this guide, so Acrobat prices are Quote-based here. The same FAQ says Standard can request signatures, and Pro adds compare, redact, web forms, branding, and bulk signature requests.

Procore states that price depends on products and Annual Construction Volume, that a contract includes unlimited users, and that there are over 3 million individual users, according to Procore (2026). Field Productivity is called out as priced on full-time equivalent staff rather than that volume model. Procore's own help lists Docusign requests on commitments, change orders, prime contracts, invoices, correspondence, and documents.

VendorPlanPublished monthly rateIncluded sendsSender seats on the page
DocusignPersonal$115 a month1
DocusignStandard$30 per user100 a yearUp to 50
DocusignBusiness Pro$45 per user100 a yearUp to 50
Dropbox SignEssentials$10.05 yearly rateUnlimited requests stated1 individual plan
Dropbox SignStandard$17.50 per userUnlimited requests stated2 or more
PandaDocStarter$19 per userUnlimited on the paid planPer user
PandaDocBusiness$49 per userUnlimited on the paid planPer user
signNowBusiness$8 per user listedNo cap stated on that pageUnlimited users also stated
Zoho SignStandardQuote-based25 per user a monthPer user
AdobeSign SolutionsQuote-basedNot shown as a numberContact sales
ProcoreAnnual contractQuote-basedUses a Docusign envelopeUnlimited users stated
Seats on a per-user planDocusign Standard for a yearPandaDoc Starter for a yearDropbox Sign Standard for a year
1$360$228$210
2$720$456$420
3$1,080$684$630
5$1,800$1,140$1,050

The $360, $720, $1,080, and $1,800 figures are the published $30 monthly Standard rate times 12, times the seat count. The $228 PandaDoc column is $19 times 12. The $210 Dropbox column is $17.50 times 12, and the $420 row matches the yearly starting figure on Dropbox Sign's page for the Standard plan. signNow is left out of this seat multiplication because its own page both prices per user and says unlimited users are included at no extra cost.

A matrix for the signing desk

CapabilityDocusignAdobe AcrobatDropbox SignPandaDocsignNowProcore
Send for signatureYes, all paid plans readYes, on Standard and ProYesYes, including a capped free planYesThrough Docusign
Set a signing orderYesRequest-signature tools on paid AcrobatListed among plan featuresYes, including freeYes, role-based on the product pageSet inside the Docusign envelope
Bulk sendBusiness ProPro, per the Acrobat FAQListed as a feature on the pricing pageMarked as a paid add-on on the help gridBusiness PremiumNot a bulk signer
Collect a payment while signingBusiness ProBraintree listed on the business comparisonNot stated on the page openedStripe on paid plans in the help gridBusiness PremiumNot the payment product
In-person signingStandard and Business ProNot assigned to a plan hereListed as a featureBusiness and Enterprise in the help gridKiosk mode on Business PremiumSigner uses the Docusign request
API for a filing handoffBusiness ProSign Solutions is the enterprise pathNot confirmed on the pricing pageConfirm the plan; the help grid mixes a check and a paid markFull API stated on Site LicenseOpen APIs stated; signature still Docusign
Construction recordApp marketplace and partner usePDF file you file yourselfFile stored after signingProposal plus signaturePage names construction bids and contractsCommitments, changes, invoices

"Not stated" means the page opened for this guide did not assign the feature. It does not mean the feature is absent.

Who should pick which product

Docusign fits a contractor that already lives in Procore or that wants a widely used envelope, a certificate of completion, and routing past a single signer. The pricing page includes in-person signing, shared templates, and commenting on Standard, and adds bulk send, web forms, payment collection, and API access on Business Pro. The limit is the allowance: 5 envelopes a month on Personal, and 100 per user per year on Standard and Business Pro annual plans. A firm that issues changes every week on several jobs will outrun Personal immediately and can outrun 100 a year. Implementation is an account for each sender, templates for the subcontract and the change form, and a decision about who is allowed to send. People who only sign do not need a seat. Primary evidence is the eSignature pricing page.

Adobe Acrobat fits a contractor whose contracts are edited as PDFs before anyone signs. The pricing FAQ says Standard covers edit, convert, fill, sign, and signature requests, and Pro adds compare, redact, branded agreements, web forms, and bulk send. Acrobat Sign Solutions is the enterprise signature product and is Quote-based. The limit of this guide is price clarity: list dollars did not render, so a controller should not treat a blog's remembered Adobe price as a quote. Implementation is a named-user license per person who edits or sends, plus a separate sales conversation if you need the deeper Sign Solutions authentication and integrations. Primary evidence is the Acrobat pricing FAQ.

Dropbox Sign fits a small team that wants a published price and a statement of unlimited signature requests, especially if files already sit in Dropbox, Google, or Microsoft. Essentials is the individual plan. Standard is the small-team plan at $17.50 per user per month on the yearly rate. Premium is Quote-based and is the tier aimed at larger admin, reporting, and residency needs. The limit is the user prompt: the page tells Standard buyers to make contact past 5 users, so a growing GC should not assume the $17.50 rate holds at 15 senders. Implementation is one sender on Essentials or a small sender group on Standard, templates for the forms you reuse, and a habit of storing the signed PDF on the job. Primary evidence is the Dropbox Sign pricing page.

PandaDoc fits a contractor that sells with a proposal, a price table, and a signature in the same document. Starter at $19 per user per month billed annually is the editing and e-sign seat with up to 5 templates. Business at $49 adds unlimited templates, approvals, a content library, and CRM connections, with Salesforce marked as paid on the help grid. The free plan is a real option only for a very light sender: 5 documents a month and 2 recipients. The limit is seat math and the template cap on Starter. A firm with a library of trade-specific subcontracts will hit 5 templates quickly. Implementation is a template per agreement type, an approval step before the client sees a price, and a check that API or webhook access is actually on the plan you buy before you design a filing handoff. Primary evidence is the plan comparison.

signNow fits a cost-sensitive team that wants mobile signing and a vendor page that names construction bids and contracts, plus Procore among common integrations. Business Premium is the listed tier for bulk send, kiosk mode, and payment requests. Enterprise is the listed tier for conditional fields and advanced signer authentication. Site License at $1.50 per signature invite is the usage model the page aims at organizations sending 1,000 or more documents a year, and it is where the page places full API access. The limit is the billing sentence itself: per-user prices and "unlimited users at no extra cost" appear together. Do not multiply $8 by headcount in a budget until checkout confirms the unit. HIPAA, 21 CFR Part 11, and qualified electronic signatures are described as add-ons, mainly on Site License, not as default on every tier. Primary evidence is signNow's official information page.

Zoho Sign fits a contractor already sending bills or keeping books in Zoho and willing to accept a Quote-based dollar rate. The free plan is a single user at 5 envelopes a month. Standard adds approval workflows and a 25-envelope monthly cap per user. Professional removes that cap and adds branding, attachments, and reports. Enterprise adds bulk send, in-person signing, signer groups, and APIs and webhooks, with the credit allowance noted above. The limit is the cap on Standard and the fact that SMS, advanced certificates, and many automations consume credits. A 14-day trial on the page allows up to 10 users and up to 50 envelopes, with a watermark until you move to a paid or free plan. Implementation means deciding who is a paid sender, because signers do not need an account. Primary evidence is the Zoho Sign pricing page.

Procore fits a general contractor, owner, or specialty contractor that wants the signature request to start on the subcontract, change order, or invoice already in the project, and that accepts a Quote-based annual contract tied to construction volume. It is a weak fit if you only need a signer and you do not want a project-management contract. The integration does not give you free envelopes. A sender still needs a Docusign account, and signers do not. Procore's help page lists the tools. A known boundary on a related invoice article in Procore's help is that the Docusign path collects the invoice signature and is not the lien-waiver signature path. Implementation is a company admin enabling Docusign, a project admin leaving it on, and a sender who can prepare the envelope. Primary evidence is the pricing page and the tool list.

A month of envelopes, with the math

A commercial project engineer sends 8 subcontracts, 6 change orders, and 4 owner acknowledgements in one month, which is 18 envelopes. On the Standard plan, that seat's annual commitment is $360 and the allowance is 100 envelopes in the year, so this month uses 18 of the 100 and leaves 82. Six months at that same 18 would be 108 envelopes, which is 8 past the included 100, and the plan page says the excess is billed pay-as-you-go without printing the per-envelope overage rate on the pricing page opened here. Dividing the $360 commitment by the 100 included envelopes is $3.60 per included envelope only if the seat uses the full allowance. On Docusign's Standard plan, the allowance is the 100 envelopes a year already used in this count. If the packet is a PandaDoc document instead, the status value document.completed is the lifecycle point the vendor documents as fully signed, according to PandaDoc (2026). That status is delivered on the event document_state_changed. The 8, 6, 4, and 18 counts are an illustration for the math, not a measured customer week.

Filing the signed document without a second inbox

The pain is not the click to sign. It is the signed file sitting in someone's email while the job file still shows the change as pending. A proposed US Tech Automations design can watch for a completion signal from the signer you already chose. The trigger is a PandaDoc webhook whose status is document.completed, or a Docusign envelope reaching completed, on a plan that actually includes the API. The action is to pull the signed PDF, match a project number the sender placed on the document, and put the file in that job's change-order folder. The output is a filed copy plus a status the coordinator can see. Prerequisite: API credentials for that vendor, a stable project-number field, and a place to store the PDF. A person reviews any packet whose signer list does not match the routing list before the folder is treated as the record copy. This is a configurable design, not a claim that a contractor is running it today, and it states no measured time saved.

The second step is the exception path. US Tech Automations can be configured to open a review task when the webhook arrives without a project number, when the same document completion is delivered twice, or when the dollar amount on a change order does not match the amount already on the job log. The output of that path is a held file, not a silent overwrite. Prerequisite: the sender fills the project field, and someone owns the review queue the same day. No accounting system should be updated until that person accepts the match. Firms that only need the signer's own download button do not need this layer.

Zapier, Make, and n8n can file a signed PDF too. Configured with care, they can keep a run history, retry a failed call, branch on an error, and store an audit of what ran. The buyer designs and owns observability, idempotency so the same completion does not create two change files, escalation when a run fails, access control on the connection, and the maintenance when a vendor changes a field. A proposed US Tech Automations design differs by making the review hold and the project-number match part of the configured path, with the API prerequisite and the human check named above, rather than leaving those as homework on a generic automation account. If your volume is a few packets a month and a single zap already files them, the generic tool is the simpler owner.

When NOT to use US Tech Automations: stay on the signer alone if one person sends a handful of contracts and downloads the PDF into the job folder the same day. Stay inside Procore plus Docusign if the signed commitment already lands on the project item and nobody needs a second system to notice exceptions. Stay with a single Zapier, Make, or n8n scenario if there is no duplicate-delivery problem, no mismatch between signer and amount, and someone on staff will keep the scenario working.

Mistakes that leave a subcontract unsigned

Buying a seat for every superintendent is the expensive miss. On the Docusign page, recipients sign without an account. Seats are for people who send.

Ignoring the allowance is the schedule miss. Personal at 5 envelopes a month is a solo, light pattern. A bid day that sends 12 subcontracts is already over that month.

Assuming the construction platform includes signing is the budget miss. Procore's integration still consumes a Docusign envelope. Price both, or do not promise "it is already in the software."

Skipping the order is the dispute miss. A change that the owner signs before the sub has agreed is a different document from a change that follows the sub, then the owner. Set the order in the template.

Filing nothing but the email is the closeout miss. The certificate and the signed PDF have to sit on the job, with a person checking the odd ones. A shared inbox is not a record.

Treating a free plan as the company standard is the growth miss. PandaDoc's free plan stops at 5 documents a month and 2 recipients. That can cover a sole operator. It will not cover a GC with a trade list.

Glossary

Envelope. Docusign's unit for one sent signature transaction. It can hold more than one document and more than one signer, and it counts once when sent.

Allowance. The number of envelopes or documents a plan includes before the vendor stops the send or bills more. Read the year versus the month.

Signing order. The sequence of roles. A subcontract that needs the sub before the general contractor is a different route from a client-only proposal.

Audit trail. The vendor's log of sends, views, and signatures, plus a completion certificate. It is the page you keep when someone later asks who signed.

Annual Construction Volume. Procore's phrase for the dollar value of work run through its products, used to price the annual contract. It is not a per-user rate.

Template. A reusable packet with fields and roles already placed. Starter on PandaDoc caps these at 5. A trade-by-trade library can blow past that.

In-person signing. A sender hands a phone or tablet to someone on site. Docusign includes it from Standard. signNow lists kiosk mode on Business Premium.

Quote-based. No dollar amount was printed on the vendor pricing page opened for this guide. It is not a guessed price.

Questions to settle before you buy

Does a subcontractor need an account to sign?

No. Docusign and Zoho Sign both state that recipients can sign from the email without buying a seat. You pay for the people who send.

What happens when a Docusign seat passes 100 envelopes in the year?

The annual Standard and Business Pro plans include 100 envelopes per user per year, and the pricing page says extra envelopes bill pay-as-you-go. The per-envelope overage dollar did not appear on that pricing page, so ask the vendor before you treat overage as free.

Is Procore enough by itself for signatures?

No. The signature requests in the tools listed on Procore's help page run through Docusign, and the sender needs a Docusign account. Budget the Procore contract and the envelope plan.

Which plan is the wrong one for a GC that sends changes every week?

Docusign's Personal plan, at 5 envelopes a month, and PandaDoc's free plan, at 5 documents a month with 2 recipients, are the published caps that break first. A weekly change habit needs a higher allowance or a plan that states uncapped requests.

Can the signed PDF update the job file without a person?

It should not, if the packet might be the wrong job or the wrong amount. A proposed design can file the PDF when the completion status arrives, then hold the file for a person when the project number or the signer list does not match. Someone still accepts the record copy.

Do Adobe's team plans have a public seat price in this guide?

No dollar amount rendered on the Adobe pricing pages opened on October 14, 2026, so this guide marks them Quote-based. Use Adobe's own checkout or a sales quote for the number, and use Standard versus Pro only for the feature split in the FAQ.

The choice, then the handoff

Pick the signer for the allowance and the job file, then decide if anything has to happen after document.completed or a completed envelope. A Dropbox Sign or signNow seat can be the whole answer when the coordinator files the PDF the same day. Docusign plus Procore is the answer when the commitment and the invoice already live in that project tool and you accept both bills. PandaDoc is the answer when the proposal and the signature are one document and the template count fits the plan. Adobe is the answer when PDF editing is the daily work and you will take a Quote-based number for the enterprise signature tier. Zoho Sign is the answer when the books are already there and a 25-envelope Standard cap is enough, or you will pay for the unlimited tier once you have the dollar quote.

If the signed file must land on the job and a mismatch must wait for a person, that is a separate configured layer, with the vendor API as a prerequisite and a human review before anyone treats the folder as final. You can see how US Tech Automations configures this against the signer you actually buy. The same filing question is why auto repair shops and dental practices also separate the signature click from the record that has to be stored.

About the Author

Garrett Mullins
Garrett Mullins
Workflow Specialist

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.