Skip to content
AI & Automation

ezyVet vs Covetrus Pulse 2027: Which Clinic Software Fits

Oct 19, 2026

Short answer: same category, different owners

Both products are cloud practice management systems, the software that holds client, patient, appointment, billing and medical record data for a clinic. The real decision is therefore not whether you need one, but which owner's system fits your supplier relationships, support expectations and integration plans. ezyVet is owned by IDEXX Laboratories, while Covetrus Pulse comes from Covetrus, which positions it as the hub of its wider platform. One naming point comes first: Covetrus Pulse is not a new name for an unrelated product, because Covetrus's product page lists it as formerly eVetPractice, according to Covetrus.

TL;DR: If you need a public starting price before you talk to anyone, ezyVet is the only one of the two that shows one on its pricing page. If you already buy most of your supplies and pharmacy through Covetrus, Pulse is built to sit at the center of that relationship. Neither vendor publishes enough on its public pages to decide from the web alone, so a written quote and a walkthrough of your own workflows are the real final filters.

Who this is for

This guide is for an owner or operations lead at a small veterinary business who is close to choosing between these two products and wants the decision points rather than a feature dump. It assumes you will live with the system for years, so ownership, integration access and contract terms matter as much as the screenshots.

Red flags: you need a final price in writing before any sales conversation, nobody on your team will own data exports or integrations, or you expect to change your main supplier during the contract term.

Key Takeaways

  • ezyVet is the only one of the two with a starting price on its public pricing page; Covetrus Pulse is quote-based on the vendor pages we could read.

  • ezyVet is owned by IDEXX, and Covetrus is privately held, so ownership is the first fact to confirm in writing before you sign.

  • Covetrus Pulse is the current name for eVetPractice, so search for both names when you collect reviews and comparisons.

  • ezyVet publishes a developer resource catalog behind an application process; we could not find public API documentation for Pulse.

  • Neither vendor's review-site ratings were readable for this guide, so read those ratings and their recent comments yourself rather than trusting a summary score.

  • The reliable final filter is a written quote with every line item, plus a walkthrough of one of your real workflows.

How we evaluated these tools

We weighted six criteria that a practice owner or operations lead actually decides on. The weights total 100%. Each criterion would earn 0 to 5 points from public evidence, but we do not publish totals, because pricing, setup and contract inputs are quote-based on one side and unpublished on the other. A total would look precise while hiding the gaps.

CriterionWeightPointsWhy it matters
Published cost and contract clarity20%0–5The cost line is the first filter, and a quote-only price needs written line items before you compare.
Daily clinical workflow fit20%0–5Medical records, prescriptions and scheduling decide how often staff touch the system each day.
Billing, payments and inventory15%0–5Payment and stock errors are costly to unwind, so these workflows need hands-on checks.
Integration and data access20%0–5This decides whether you can export data, connect accounting, or build a workflow later.
Implementation and support15%0–5Setup, data conversion and training are where rollouts usually slip.
Ownership, roadmap and exit risk10%0–5Who owns the product, and how hard it is to leave, shapes the decision for years.

Facts in this guide come from the pages cited inline, and our analysis is labeled as analysis. Vendor claims are labeled as vendor claims. We did not run either product or contact either vendor. The table below shows what we could read.

Source groupPages readPages blocked or unusableWhat we used them for
Vendor and parent pages46Starting price, product scope, ownership and developer access model
Trade press and comparison pages62Ownership history, launch claims and a third-party pricing record
Review sites (G2, Capterra, GetApp, Software Advice)08Not used, because the ratings could not be read

Head-to-head feature matrix

The matrix below uses two kinds of evidence: the feature lists on each vendor's product page and the resource names in ezyVet's developer catalog. "Listed" means the vendor names the capability. It does not confirm that the capability works for your workflow.

CapabilityezyVetCovetrus Pulse
Medical records and clinical notesConsult, Physical Exam, Plan and Vaccination resources listed in the developer catalogElectronic medical records listed on the product page
Client communicationCommunication resources listed in the developer catalogCovetrus Comms, reminders and online scheduling listed
Prescriptions and online pharmacyPrescription and Prescription Item resources listedOnline pharmacy through a vRxPro integration listed
PaymentsPayment and Payment Method resources listedCovetrus Payments listed; walk through card-terminal workflows yourself
Inventory and purchasingProduct, Purchase Order and Stock Adjustment resources listedCovetrus Supply and CUBEX integration listed
DiagnosticsDiagnostic and Integrated Diagnostic resources listedZoetis Diagnostics integration listed
Wellness and membership plansWellness Plan and Wellness Plan Membership resources listedCovetrus CarePlans listed; membership billing not listed on the page we read
Webhooks and event triggersWebhook and Webhook Events resources listedNot listed on the page we read
Open API accessDeveloper catalog is public; access requires an application and OAuth 2.0 client credentialsNo public API documentation found
AI documentation toolsNot listed on the pages we readCovetrus AI listed; included at no extra cost per the vendor page

Two rows matter most for a small practice. The first is payments, because card-terminal and end-of-day reconciliation mistakes are expensive to unwind, so have your own staff walk through them before you sign. The second is integration access, because it decides whether outside tools can read your data at all. ezyVet's catalog is public with approval-based access. Pulse's page names many integrations, but we did not find an API we could read. If wellness or membership plans are a deciding factor, our guide to in-house membership plan platforms is written for dental practices but covers the same kind of recurring plan.

Pricing and total cost of ownership

ezyVet's pricing page gives a starting point and not much more. ezyVet starting price: $260.50 per month according to ezyVet (2026). The same page says all features are available at every practice size, and in the text we read, its FAQ questions on contract terms, training cost and data conversion appear without answers.

Covetrus Pulse has no public price on the vendor pages we could read, so it is quote-based here. A third-party profile reports a price range, but it rates its own record at 50% confidence and was last verified August 21, 2026, according to CostBench (2026). We did not print that range, because it is not on a vendor page. The same profile also reports an auto-renewing commitment that we could not confirm anywhere else, so treat it as a question for the vendor, not a fact.

Anything shown as "Not published" or "Quote-based" below is not on a vendor page we could read.

Cost lineezyVetCovetrus Pulse
Published starting price$260.50 per month according to ezyVet (2026)Quote-based
Pricing structureOne price line; the page says all features are available at every practice sizeQuote-based; no tier names on the vendor page we read
Setup, data conversion and trainingNot priced on the page we readNot published
Contract termNot stated in the text we readNot published by the vendor
AI featuresNot stated on the pages we readIncluded at no extra cost per the vendor page

Our read: for budgeting, the published ezyVet line covers only the subscription. Setup, conversion, training and add-on fees should sit in your budget as open lines until a written quote fills them in. Do not assume the Covetrus AI inclusion carries over to your quote; ask for it in writing.

Who owns each product and why it matters

IDEXX announced its acquisition of ezyVet on June 2, 2021, and its release said no details of the agreement would be made public, according to IDEXX. IDEXX's announcement also said ezyVet customers would keep the same support and training, whichever IDEXX practice management system they choose.

Covetrus has a different ownership history. Funds affiliated with Clayton, Dubilier & Rice and TPG Capital completed their takeover of Covetrus in October 2022, and Covetrus is now a private company, according to Equimanagement. The per-share price and valuation were reported as follows: Deal value: $21 per share, about $4bn according to Financier Worldwide (2022).

Ownership facts can go stale, so the question is what has changed since. We found no 2026 ownership change in the sources we could read. One comparison page lists Covetrus under Patterson Companies, which does not match the completion announcement, according to PupPilot (2026). Treat third-party parent labels as leads to check, not as facts.

ezyVet: best fit, limits and implementation

Vendor data: ezyVet publishes a starting price and a developer resource catalog that includes invoices, estimates, prescriptions, inventory, purchase orders, wellness plans and webhooks. Its developer portal describes OAuth 2.0 client credentials and an application process, so budget time for approval before any build.

Our read: ezyVet fits a buyer who wants a public starting price to anchor the conversation, an IDEXX-owned vendor path for diagnostics, and a documented API for custom connections. The limits are the open lines. The pages we read leave setup, conversion and contract terms unanswered, and comparison material we read says ezyVet's enterprise pricing can be too expensive for small solo practices. A solo clinic should ask for a written quote at its own size before treating the starting price as the real cost.

One detail to confirm in writing: the developer portal's text and its sample response disagree on how long an access token lasts, so ask ezyVet which value applies before you design any token refresh process. If Cornerstone is also on your shortlist, our ezyVet vs Cornerstone guide covers that pairing. If your books are in Xero, read ezyVet to Xero for veterinary clinics before you scope any sync.

Covetrus Pulse: best fit, limits and implementation

Vendor data: Covetrus positions Pulse as the hub of its platform, with medical records, online pharmacy, payments, client communication, care plans, inventory and AI features listed on the product page. Covetrus's own time-savings claim is the figure to test rather than accept:

Covetrus claim: about six hours per week per vet according to Covetrus (2026).

It is a vendor claim, so measure your own hours before you put it in a budget. Covetrus's launch coverage also cited a survey, and that is marketing input, not independent evidence:

Launch survey: more than 500 veterinarians and practice staff according to Feed and Additive (2022).

Our read: Pulse fits a practice that already buys most supplies and pharmacy through Covetrus and wants one vendor for clinical and commercial systems. The limits are complexity and pricing structure. Comparison material we read warns that Pulse can feel complex for small practices and that add-on modules and connections can push the cost up. Both warnings are worth raising in a quote.

Implementation is the hardest part to judge from public pages. We could not find public Pulse API documentation. The practical path is to ask Covetrus in writing what export formats exist, whether scheduled reports can run, and whether third-party access requires an application. Those answers decide whether a workflow can read live data or has to depend on file exports.

Integrations and building your own workflow

US Tech Automations sells custom automation workflows that its team designs, builds and monitors after launch, so the question for this comparison is what each product would need to expose before any workflow could run safely. The company's homepage names QuickBooks, Stripe, HubSpot and Google Sheets among the tools it connects.

Zapier, Make and n8n are the usual alternatives to a managed build, and they can connect to either product when an API or export exists. When configured, they can keep run histories, retries, error branches and audit evidence. What they do not settle by themselves are the decisions that matter in a clinic: you still design and own observability, idempotency so that a retried run does not post the same invoice twice, escalation to a person, access controls for medical data, and maintenance when either vendor changes its interface. A proposed US Tech Automations design could configure an approval queue and exception routing in the same flow, with the same prerequisites and review points, so the real choice is who carries the maintenance.

For an ezyVet clinic, a proposed design starts with API access. The trigger is a new or changed invoice record read through an approved integration, which requires ezyVet to approve the application and issue credentials. The action compares each invoice line with the accounting export and flags mismatches, such as a line with no matching product code. The output is an exception queue, and a bookkeeper approves each batch before anything writes back. Start with read-only access, and confirm which accounting system is supported before you scope the build, because the homepage names QuickBooks and does not name Xero.

For a Pulse clinic, the same design starts from a file rather than an API call, because we found no public Pulse API documentation. The trigger is a scheduled invoice or inventory export placed in a shared folder, which requires confirming that Covetrus can produce that export on a schedule. The action matches the export to accounting data and stock counts, and the output is a short exception list that the office manager reviews before the next business day closes.

Illustrative inputs, not data from any clinic: a single-site ezyVet practice reconciles 40 invoice lines a week by hand, at 3 minutes each. That is 120 minutes, or 2 hours a week, and 104 hours across 52 weeks. If a reviewed workflow removes half of that work, about 52 hours a year return to the front desk, but the review queue takes time as well, so measure review minutes for a month before you count the savings. The first prerequisite is the site_uid value that ezyVet's token request requires, so confirm with ezyVet which site identifier applies before the build begins.

Who should choose which

Your situationLean towardWhy
You need a public starting price before any sales callezyVetIt is the only one of the two with a starting price on its pricing page
You already buy supplies and pharmacy through CovetrusCovetrus PulseCovetrus positions Pulse as the hub of its platform
You plan a custom integration with an outside accounting or reporting toolezyVet, to test firstIts developer catalog is public, with application-based access
You want the vendor's AI documentation included in the priceCovetrus Pulse, to confirmIts product page says Covetrus AI is included at no extra cost
You cannot carry open quote lines in your budgetNeither yetGet written quotes from both before choosing

When NOT to use US Tech Automations: a simpler setup wins in three cases. If one trained person can reconcile your invoices in one sitting each month, a spreadsheet and the vendor's own reports are cheaper to run than a workflow with an approval queue. If your accounting system's own connector already moves the data you need and nobody has to approve exceptions, a managed workflow adds a service you do not need. If you cannot name the person who will review exceptions and approve writes, wait until you can, because an automated flow without a reviewer moves errors faster.

Checklist before you sign

  1. Get written line items for the base price, setup, data conversion, training and any add-ons.

  2. Ask for the contract term, renewal notice rules and exit terms in writing, and confirm them in the signed document.

  3. Ask each vendor directly whether any change of ownership is planned, and get the answer in writing.

  4. Request a sample export of your own records and check that the format is usable without the vendor's software.

  5. Ask which integration access is approved for your practice, and how long approval takes.

  6. Walk through one real workflow in each demo: a card payment, a prescription refill and an invoice correction.

Common mistakes

  • Comparing a published starting price against a quote-only price as if they were the same kind of number.

  • Treating a third-party price range or a review-site score as a vendor fact without checking the vendor's own page.

  • Assuming ownership is unchanged because a comparison page says so, when the page itself may be out of date.

  • Choosing an integration path before confirming API access or export rights.

  • Counting a vendor's time-savings claim as your own savings without measuring your staff's hours first.

Questions buyers ask

Is Covetrus Pulse the same product as eVetPractice?

Yes, the two names refer to the same product line, because Covetrus's product page lists Pulse as formerly eVetPractice. Search both names when you collect reviews, since older listings may still use the earlier name.

Does ezyVet publish its full price?

No, it publishes a starting point and says additional pricing details are available on request. Ask for line items covering setup, data conversion, training and any add-ons before you compare totals.

Who owns ezyVet and Covetrus Pulse?

IDEXX owns ezyVet, and Covetrus is privately held by funds affiliated with Clayton, Dubilier & Rice and TPG Capital. We found no 2026 change in the sources we could read, so confirm again before you sign.

Can either product connect to Zapier, Make or n8n?

We could not confirm a supported connector for either product in the pages we read. ezyVet's connection depends on an approved API application, and Pulse's depends on export or API access that you must confirm with Covetrus.

Which one should a single-site clinic choose?

Pick the vendor whose written quote fits your budget and whose supplier relationship you already rely on. If you already buy Covetrus supply and pharmacy, Pulse is the natural test; if you need a published starting point and a public API catalog to evaluate, start with ezyVet.

Are review-site ratings a reliable tiebreaker?

Not in this guide, because the review sites we tried returned access errors and we did not use their ratings. Read recent reviews on billing, payments and support yourself, and treat any summary score as a starting point only.

Next steps before you sign

Start with a written quote from each vendor, then walk one real workflow through each demo, including a card payment, a prescription refill and an invoice correction. Keep the ownership question open until the vendor confirms the answer in writing. If you want to see how this kind of proposed design would be configured for your clinic's system, see how this design would be configured.

About the Author

Garrett Mullins
Garrett Mullins
Workflow Specialist

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.