Skip to content
AI & Automation

5 GorillaDesk Alternatives for Solo Exterminators in 2027

Oct 25, 2026

Start with the category, then the brand

Pest-control operations software puts routing, recurring treatment schedules, chemical-use records and billing into one system built for route-based work. For a solo exterminator, the real choice is which category to stay in: a pest-specific platform that quotes every price, or a general field-service tool that publishes its monthly prices.

That category choice matters at the buying stage. FieldRoutes and PestPac both keep their prices behind a sales conversation, so you cannot compare totals until someone quotes you. Housecall Pro, Kickserv and Jobber publish monthly prices, and their pages describe scheduling, invoicing and payments without pest-specific programs. A one-truck owner can compare the public numbers in an afternoon; the quote-based platforms need a call before any number appears.

TL;DR: If you run one route and need QuickBooks Online sync, compare the entry plans from GorillaDesk, Housecall Pro, Kickserv and Jobber on list price first. If you need integrated IPM, logbook or multi-branch depth, request written quotes from FieldRoutes and PestPac before you decide.

Key Takeaways

  • Choose the category first. FieldRoutes and PestPac are quote-based, while Housecall Pro, Kickserv and Jobber publish monthly prices on their pricing pages.

  • The lowest published price on a plan that lists QuickBooks Online integration is $60 a month, on the Start plan at Kickserv.

  • GorillaDesk's QuickBooks link is a one-way push to QuickBooks Online, and its help article says the desktop version is not supported.

  • Pest-specific depth, such as IPM, logbook and multi-branch reporting, appears mostly on quote-based pages, so those totals cannot be checked from public information.

  • Any automation needs API or export access on the plan you buy, and the pages we opened name API access on only some plans.

  • Briostack is excluded because we could not open a public pricing page or confirm its pest-control scope.

How we evaluated these tools

We started from each vendor's own pricing and product pages, then checked the claims against independent or industry sources where those existed. The weights below reflect a solo operator's decision, not a general software ranking. Pest-specific fit carries the most weight, because a general tool that needs a long setup for treatment programs costs more time than its monthly fee shows. QuickBooks sync and published pricing come next, because a sole owner needs the books right without a bookkeeper on staff. API access matters only if you plan to automate, so it carries less weight. Where a page did not state a feature, we marked it "Not stated" rather than assuming it was missing or present.

CriterionWeightScaleWhat we checkedWhy it matters for one operator
Pest-specific fit25%1–5Named pest items on the product or pricing pageFewer custom setups for treatment programs
QuickBooks Online sync20%1–5Which plan includes sync, and whether it is one-wayKeeps the books right without a bookkeeper
Published pricing15%1–5Whether a monthly list price appears without a sales callLets you compare totals before a demo
Routing and scheduling15%1–5Route planning, optimization and dispatch mappingRoute density sets drive time and fuel
API and export access15%1–5Named API access or integrations on a planRequired before any automation
Ownership and support clarity10%1–5Vendor ownership and readable documentationAffects roadmap and support risk

What each vendor publishes about pest work

The matrix records only what each vendor's pricing or product page states. "Not stated" means we did not find the item on the pages we opened, which is not proof the feature is absent. Where a developer page could not be opened, we marked the item "Not verified."

VendorPublished pricesPest-specific items namedQuickBooks Online sync statedAPI access statedRouting stated
GorillaDeskYesChemical use records; trap and device barcoding on ProYes, on ProNot foundYes; Basic has a stop limit
FieldRoutesNoBuilt for pest control; Sentricon listedNot statedYes, premium API accessYes, route optimization
PestPacNoIPM, multi-unit support, logbookNot statedYes, API integrations on EnterpriseYes, route optimization on Professional
Housecall ProYesPest Control appears only as an industry optionYes, on EssentialsYes, open API access on MaxYes, routes on Essentials
KickservYesNot statedYes, on StartNot statedDispatch mapping on Run
JobberYesNot statedYes, on ConnectNot verifiedScheduling and routing on Grow and Plus

Published prices and a one-technician setup

The table lists the entry-level plans whose prices appear on each vendor's own pricing page. Monthly list prices are in US dollars, and annual-billing prices appear separately where the page shows them. Pricing checked October 21, 2026.

VendorPlanMonthly list priceAnnual-billing priceUsers or routesAdded cost
GorillaDeskBasic$49/moNot published1 route$50/mo for each of routes 2 and 3
GorillaDeskPro$99/moNot published1 route$50/mo per added route
Housecall ProBasic$79/mo$59/mo1 userNot published
Housecall ProEssentials$189/mo$149/mo5 usersNot published
KickservStart$60/moNot published (20% annual discount stated)5 usersNot published
JobberConnect$139/mo$99/mo1 user$29/mo per extra user

The figures in this table come from the vendor pricing pages cited in the profiles below. They are list prices before card processing and add-ons.

A worked example for one route

Take an illustrative solo operator with one route, about 300 texted reminders a month, and QuickBooks Online as the books of record. On GorillaDesk, the Basic plan at $49 a month plus the $5 monthly SMS subscription comes to $54, and 300 messages drawn from $50 credit packs of 1,000 add $15 a month, so the total is $69 a month or $828 a year, according to GorillaDesk (2026). Adding QuickBooks Online sync means the Pro plan at $99 a month, which lifts the same setup to $119 a month or $1,428 a year. If invoices are collected through Stripe, which GorillaDesk names as a payment option, a proposed workflow could react to Stripe's invoice.paid event, but it must first check whether the one-way QuickBooks push already recorded that payment, or the same payment posts twice (Stripe event reference). These totals exclude labor and card processing, and the 300-message volume is an assumption for this scenario.

Where the quote-based vendors fit

FieldRoutes and PestPac list their plans without prices, so any total for them stays Quote-based until a written proposal arrives.

VendorPlanPublished priceWhat the page lists
FieldRoutesGrowthQuote-basedRoute optimization, technician app, lead management, customer payment portal, premium API access, Sentricon
FieldRoutesCorporateQuote-basedThe same ten features as Growth, per the page
PestPacSmall BusinessQuote-basedBasic scheduling and routing, termite inspections, billing, customer portal
PestPacProfessionalQuote-basedRoute optimization, IPM and multi-unit support, logbook, marketing automation
PestPacEnterpriseQuote-basedMultiple branches, auditor reports, API integrations

Ask each quote-based vendor for four things in writing: the per-route or per-user rule, the price of every add-on you need, whether the platform syncs to QuickBooks Online and in which direction, and what happens to your customer and chemical records if you leave.

Vendor profiles: where each alternative fits

GorillaDesk: the stay option for one route

Best fit: a solo operator who runs one route, wants a low monthly list price, and can accept a one-way QuickBooks link. The GorillaDesk pricing page lists Basic at $49 a month, Pro at $99 a month and Growth at $149 a month, with added routes priced separately, according to GorillaDesk (2026). Only users assigned to a schedule need a paid seat, and Pro adds QuickBooks Online sync, device barcoding for traps and equipment, and GPS tracking, per the same page.

Limitations: the QuickBooks sync is one-way, covers QuickBooks Online only, and its help article says the desktop version is not supported. Implementation: reconcile one month of invoices in both systems before you switch the sync on, and confirm which customer, invoice and payment records move across, since the help article names those three objects.

FieldRoutes: pest-specific depth behind a quote

Best fit: pest operators who want pest-specific operations and will request a written quote before comparing. FieldRoutes lists two plans, Growth and Corporate, and both are Quote-based on its pricing page (FieldRoutes pricing). Both include route optimization, premium API access, a technician mobile app and a customer payment portal, and the page lists Sentricon without explaining it.

The vendor's own survey is the closest thing to market data on its public pages. It polled 1,025 pest control company leaders in April 2025, and 52% of survey respondents use routing software according to FieldRoutes (2025). The survey was run and published by the vendor, so treat it as vendor research.

Ownership: ServiceTitan announced on January 4, 2022 that it had agreed to acquire FieldRoutes, according to ServiceTitan (2022), and FieldRoutes' news page now describes the company as a ServiceTitan company. Limitations: there is no public price, the pricing page says nothing about QuickBooks, and the per-route or per-user rule must be confirmed in writing. For a side-by-side view of this pairing, see FieldRoutes vs GorillaDesk for pest control companies.

PestPac: IPM, logbook and multi-branch depth

Best fit: operations that need IPM support, multi-unit building handling, logbook records or multi-branch reporting. The pricing page lists Small Business, Professional and Enterprise without prices and directs visitors to a consultant (PestPac pricing). Small Business covers basic scheduling and routing, termite inspections, billing and a customer portal. Professional adds route optimization, IPM and multi-unit support, a logbook and marketing automation. Enterprise adds multiple branches, auditor reports and API integrations.

Ownership: a sponsored trade article identifies WorkWave as the maker and calls PestPac its flagship pest-management product (sponsored PMP article). Limitations: the pricing page names no QuickBooks integration, so ask directly. Implementation: request a migration plan from GorillaDesk that covers customer history and chemical records before you commit. For the pest-to-pest comparison, see GorillaDesk vs PestPac for pest control companies.

Housecall Pro: published prices with a general workflow

Best fit: a solo operator who wants published prices and may grow into a larger team later. On the Housecall Pro pricing page, Basic is $79 a month billed monthly or $59 a month billed annually for one user. $59/mo billed annually for Basic on Housecall Pro according to Housecall Pro (2026). Essentials is $189 a month billed monthly or $149 a month billed annually for five users, and Max is $329 a month billed monthly or $299 a month billed annually for eight users, with extra users at $35 a month, according to Housecall Pro (2026).

QuickBooks Online sync sits on Essentials, not Basic, and Max adds open API access, recurring service plans and route optimization. Pest Control appears only as an industry option in the page's navigation, and the page describes no pest-specific features. Limitations: customer and job limits are not stated, and add-ons such as the CSR AI tool and Payroll are Quote-based. Implementation: choose Basic only if you will never need QuickBooks sync; otherwise budget for Essentials from the first month.

Kickserv: the lowest published price with QuickBooks Online

Best fit: a small field-service business with five or fewer users that wants a published, low entry price with QuickBooks Online integration on the entry plan. On the Kickserv pricing page, Start is $60 a month for five users, Run is $119 a month for ten users and Scale is $199 a month for twenty users, and QuickBooks Desktop integration adds $50 a month on Run, according to Kickserv (2026). Start includes QuickBooks Online integration, and Run adds dispatch mapping, GPS check-ins and custom reports.

The page names no pest-specific features, and its Premium tier is quote-based with no inclusions listed. Limitations: no customer or job limits are stated, and invoicing and scheduling inclusions are not spelled out for each plan. Implementation: confirm recurring treatment scheduling in a demo or in writing before you rely on the entry tier.

Jobber: transparent tiers without a pest mention

Best fit: a one-user operator who wants clear monthly tiers and built-in payment tools, and who can accept a general trades workflow. $49/mo for one user on Core after a $35 intro according to Jobber (2026). Connect for one user lists $139 a month on monthly terms and $99 a month billed annually, and card payments carry 2.9% plus 30¢, according to Jobber (2026).

The page does not mention pest control. Core covers one user, online booking, quotes, invoices and a website builder, while routing begins on Grow, and QuickBooks Online sync appears on Connect. Jobber's developer documentation covers webhooks, but that page did not open in this session, so its API access stays "Not verified" here. Confirm it before you design anything that depends on it.

Briostack: excluded for now

We looked at Briostack and could not open a pricing page on its site; the homepage links to a demo request rather than to prices. We also could not confirm its pest-control scope from a page we opened, so Briostack is not profiled. Add it to a shortlist only after a written quote and a scope confirmation.

Where a proposed US Tech Automations workflow fits

A proposed workflow is a configuration to scope, not a live deployment or a measured result. US Tech Automations would design these around whichever platform you pick, starting with the API or export access that platform actually provides.

The first workflow handles payment status. The trigger is a Stripe invoice.paid event for an invoice tied to your customer ID. The action matches the payment to the job in your field-service platform and checks whether the QuickBooks record already reflects it, writing a note only when it does not. The output is a payment note on the job and a daily exception list for any payment that fails to match. Prerequisites are a Stripe webhook endpoint, read access to jobs and customers through an export or API key, and written confirmation of how the platform's sync handles payments. Human review points are unmatched payments, refunds and any invoice the owner marks as disputed.

The second workflow handles reminders. The trigger is a job booked for the next day in the route tool. The action sends a reminder through the platform's SMS feature or an approved messaging provider and logs the send status. The output is a sent-or-failed log and a call list for failed sends. Prerequisites are SMS enabled on the platform, opt-in consent recorded for each customer, and approved message templates. Human review points are jobs with access notes or customer-specific treatment instructions, and the template text before go-live.

The alternative is stitching these flows together in Zapier, Make or n8n, or building them in-house. Those tools can keep run histories, retries, error branches and audit evidence when configured, so they are a fair choice for a technical owner. What changes is ownership: the buyer must design idempotency so a repeated event does not post a payment twice, set escalation paths, control who sees customer data, and maintain the flow when the platform changes its API. US Tech Automations would scope those same items as named review points, with the owner still deciding who receives each exception.

Who this is for, and who should skip it

Who this is for

  • GorillaDesk: one route, a low published price, and a one-way QuickBooks link you can live with.

  • FieldRoutes or PestPac: pest-specific operations where you will compare written quotes and treat the quote as the decision point.

  • Housecall Pro: a solo operator who wants published prices and may later need the API on Max.

  • Kickserv: five or fewer users who need QuickBooks Online on the entry plan.

  • Jobber: a one-user operator who wants transparent add-on pricing and published card-processing rates.

Red flags: a vendor that will not state per-route or per-user terms in writing, a QuickBooks requirement the vendor will not confirm for your version, or an automation plan built on API access that has not been confirmed in writing.

When NOT to use US Tech Automations

A configured workflow is the wrong first purchase if your real gap is basic operations. A solo operator who needs only reminders and a clean route list should use the reminders and reports already inside the platform they pick, without a second system. A pest operation whose main need is IPM documentation and logbook reporting should settle that scope with the vendor's quote first, because a workflow layered on an incomplete core record only moves the errors faster. A business with no technical contact and no API or export access has nothing to connect, so the native features of the chosen platform are the right tool until that changes.

Decision checklist before you request quotes

  1. Confirm your technician count and route count in writing before you ask for any quote.

  2. Ask whether QuickBooks Online sync is one-way or two-way, and which plan includes it.

  3. Ask for per-route and per-user rules, plus every add-on you need, as written line items.

  4. Confirm API or export access on the plan you would buy, not the plan above it.

  5. Ask for a demo that shows recurring treatments and chemical records, not a generic job.

  6. Set a cutover date and reconcile one month of invoices before the old system closes.

Common mistakes when switching

  • Comparing entry prices and ignoring the add-on you need, such as the $5 SMS subscription or a second route.

  • Assuming "QuickBooks sync" means two-way when the vendor describes it as one-way.

  • Accepting a quote without per-route or per-user terms in writing.

  • Designing an automation before confirming API access, since a plan without the API cannot run it.

  • Skipping a parallel month. Solo-operator comparisons in other trades follow the same logic; see Follow Up Boss vs Lofty for solo agents.

Questions solo exterminators ask before switching

Is GorillaDesk still a fit for one technician?

Yes, if one route and a low published price matter more to you than two-way QuickBooks sync. Basic is the lowest tier on its pricing page, and Pro is the tier that adds QuickBooks Online sync.

Which alternative has the lowest published price on a plan with QuickBooks Online sync?

The Start plan on Kickserv, at $60 a month, is the lowest published price we found on a plan that lists QuickBooks Online integration, according to Kickserv (2026).

Do FieldRoutes or PestPac publish prices?

No. Both pricing pages list their plans as Quote-based, so their totals come only from written proposals.

Does Jobber mention pest control?

Not on the pricing page we opened. Its plans are general trades tiers, so confirm any pest-specific scheduling in a demo.

Do I need a developer to automate reminders or payment posting?

Usually yes for anything that crosses two systems. You need API or export access, someone to maintain the connection, and written review points for exceptions.

Why is Briostack missing?

We could not open a public pricing page or confirm its pest-control scope, so we left it out rather than guess at either.

Conclusion

Start with the category, then the number. If one route and QuickBooks Online sync are the requirement, put GorillaDesk Pro, the Start plan at Kickserv and Jobber's Connect plan beside the Essentials plan from Housecall Pro, then request written quotes from FieldRoutes and PestPac if pest-specific depth is the real need. Whichever you choose, get the per-route and per-user terms in writing and confirm API access before you plan an automation, and see how US Tech Automations configures this for a specific platform.

About the Author

Garrett Mullins
Garrett Mullins
Workflow Specialist

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.