Houzz Pro vs JobTread 2027: Which One Fits Your Firm
The short answer for a small builder
Construction management software is one system for estimates, job costs, schedules, change orders and invoices. Houzz Pro and JobTread both sell that idea, but they start from different places: Houzz Pro is built by Houzz, the home design platform, and leans toward selections and a homeowner audience, while JobTread is built around estimating and job costing and charges per internal user.
The category decision matters more than the feature grid. If you want to test on live jobs before paying, only Houzz Pro offers a trial. If you want one published plan, a lower per-user add-on and job costing as the core, JobTread is the cleaner buy, though it leaves you no trial to fall back on.
TL;DR: choose Houzz Pro for design-led remodeling, a trial and the advertising package; choose JobTread for estimating, job costing and a lower per-seat price. Either way, get the accounting sync confirmed in writing before you sign.
Key Takeaways
Houzz Pro is the only one of the two with a free trial, on its Design and Pro tiers, while JobTread offers a money-back guarantee on monthly plans instead.
JobTread sells one plan with everything included; Houzz Pro's price depends on which tier you need and how many users you add.
Per-seat cost decides the gap as your team grows, and the worked example below shows how quickly it widens.
Houzz Pro has the larger review sample, but both listings are small, so ratings cannot settle the choice.
Houzz's Teams tier and advertising package are starting prices, not final quotes.
Confirm the QuickBooks sync, API access and onboarding scope in writing before you sign.
What each product is, and what changed
Neither Houzz Pro nor JobTread was renamed, merged or discontinued in the sources opened for this guide. The nearest change is Houzz's older Ivy platform: Houzz bought Ivy in 2019 according to Houzz Pro (2019). The same FAQ says new Ivy memberships have stopped and Ivy accounts close once users move to Houzz Pro.
JobTread sells one product rather than tiers. JobTread's base plan costs $199 per month according to JobTread (2026). The page lists all features as included, adds $20 per month for each internal user from two through ten, saves 20% on annual billing, and makes vendor, subcontractor and customer portal users free and unlimited. It offers no free trial, only a 30-day money-back guarantee on monthly subscriptions.
I could not confirm JobTread's ownership or funding on a primary page, so this guide makes no claim about who owns it.
How we evaluated these tools
This guide scores eight criteria, weighted by what a small builder decides on. The weights are our analysis, not vendor data. Price and per-seat cost carry 35% of the weight because both vendors publish those figures, so a buyer can check them without a sales call, and because per-seat cost sets the bill as a team grows.
| Criterion | Weight | Why it matters to a small builder |
|---|---|---|
| Published price and what it includes | 20% | Lets you budget before a sales call |
| Cost of each added internal user | 15% | Sets the bill as you hire estimators or PMs |
| Trial or refund before commitment | 10% | Lets you test on live jobs |
| Estimating and job costing | 15% | Where margin errors start |
| Change orders and invoicing | 15% | Where unbilled work gets lost |
| Scheduling and daily logs | 10% | Crew visibility in the field |
| Onboarding and migration effort | 10% | Time before the team is productive |
| Review evidence | 5% | Weak signal when samples are small |
Review evidence carries only 5%. The listings this guide could open have small samples and come from third-party sites, so they can flag a problem but cannot settle a choice. The profile sections below cite them.
Pricing and the math behind it
Pricing checked October 29, 2026.
Houzz's own pricing page returned a server error when this guide checked it, so the Houzz figures below come from Houzz's pricing explainer. Houzz's Pro plan costs $199 per month according to Houzz Pro (2026). The same explainer gives Houzz's Design plan at $99 per month, Houzz's Teams tier from $399 per month, one user included on Design and Pro, and $50 per month for each added user. It sets a 30-day free trial on Design and Pro, describes Pro as best for contractors and remodelers running complex projects, and sells the advertising package separately from $499 per month.
A third-party listing disagrees on the free tier. Toolradar's listing says, according to Toolradar (May 2026), that Houzz has no permanent free plan, only the 30-day trial, and lists Teams from $399 per month. Another listing claims a free plan exists, so ask Houzz which applies before you plan around it.
Consider an illustrative firm with four internal users, which means three seats on top of the base plan. On Houzz's Pro plan, the cost is $199 plus three seats at $50, or $349 per month. On JobTread, the cost is $199 plus three seats at $20, or $259 per month. The gap is $90 per month, or $1,080 a year, before any advertising spend or implementation fee. If that firm also takes card payments through Stripe, which JobTread lists as a native integration, a proposed workflow would watch Stripe events such as invoice.created, and would check Stripe's pending_webhooks field to see how many webhook deliveries are still outstanding, according to Stripe (current docs).
| Internal users | Houzz's Pro plan | JobTread | Gap |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | $199 | $199 | $0 |
| 2 | $249 | $219 | $30 |
| 4 | $349 | $259 | $90 |
| 6 | $449 | $299 | $150 |
| 10 | $649 | $379 | $270 |
At six users, Houzz's Pro plan costs $449 per month, above the $399 starting price of Houzz's Teams tier, which includes unlimited users. The Teams final price is quote-based, so a firm near that size should ask for a written number before deciding. Every figure in the table is list-price arithmetic from the citations in this section and the scope section above.
| Term | Houzz Pro | JobTread |
|---|---|---|
| Entry list price | $99 per month (Design), $199 per month (Pro) | $199 per month |
| Top tier | From $399 per month; final price quote-based | Not applicable, one plan |
| Added internal user | $50 per month | $20 per month (users 2 to 10) |
| Annual billing | Annual subscription follows the trial; discount not stated on explainer | 20% off annual billing |
| Free trial | 30 days on Design and Pro | None |
| Money-back guarantee | Not stated on explainer | 30 days on monthly plans |
| Advertising add-on | From $499 per month | None listed |
| Implementation | $500 to $5,000 for SMB deployments (third-party estimate) | Not published on the page checked |
The implementation range for Houzz is a third-party estimate for SMB deployments, not a Houzz quote. JobTread publishes its prices, so none of its rows needs a quote, but its implementation cost is not on the page this guide checked.
Feature matrix for the decisions that matter
JobTread's integrations page lists QuickBooks Online, Zapier, Stripe and Gusto among its native integrations, which it says it develops and maintains itself, according to JobTread (current page). The same list includes a JobTread AI Connector.
| Decision | Houzz Pro | JobTread |
|---|---|---|
| Entry plan | Design and Pro tiers, Teams above | One plan, all features included |
| Included internal users | 1 on Design and Pro | 1 |
| Added internal user | $50 per month | $20 per month, users 2 to 10 |
| Free trial | 30 days on Design and Pro | None |
| Money-back guarantee | Not stated on the explainer | 30 days on monthly plans |
| Change orders | Not confirmed on an opened page | Not confirmed on an opened page |
| QuickBooks Online | Not confirmed on an opened page | Native integration |
| Paid marketplace visibility | Advertising package from $499 per month | None listed |
| Public API | Not confirmed on an opened page | Open API described; docs not reachable here |
| Review evidence | 4.2 from 107 reviews | 4.8 from 11 user reviews |
"Not confirmed" means no page this guide opened stated the feature. That is a gap in the evidence, not proof the feature is missing, so ask each vendor to show it on a live account.
Houzz Pro: where it fits and where it strains
Houzz's rating: 4.2 from 107 reviews according to Software Finder (2026). That listing also gives $500 to $5,000 for implementation and onboarding at SMB deployments as a possible extra cost, and says a free plan is offered, a claim the Toolradar listing disputes.
Best fit: remodelers, interior designers and design-build firms whose sales depend on selections and visual proposals, and who want a trial on real jobs before committing. If you run takeoffs and change orders, Pro is the tier to compare against JobTread, not Design.
Limitations: Houzz's Teams tier is sold from a starting price, so a multi-crew firm cannot budget from a published final number. Each added user on Design or Pro adds $50 per month, which compounds as the table above shows. The advertising package is a separate purchase, so marketplace exposure is an extra cost, not part of the plan. Houzz's AI features and some Pro functions were not confirmed on a page this guide could open, so do not buy for them on the strength of marketing copy.
Implementation: budget for a setup project. Ask Houzz what onboarding and migration support your tier includes, and get the hours in writing, because the range above is an estimate for SMB deployments, not a quote.
Our read: Houzz Pro is the stronger choice when design work and a trial drive the decision. It is the weaker choice for a firm that mainly needs job costing at a predictable per-seat price.
JobTread: where it fits and where it strains
JobTread's rating: 4.8 from 11 user reviews according to Software Finder (February 2026). That sample is too small to rank the two products. The same listing shows a "Custom" starting price beside its $199 figure, so trust JobTread's own pricing page over the aggregator.
Best fit: estimators and project managers who run estimating and job costing as the core, and who want one plan with everything included. Vendor, subcontractor and customer portal users are free and unlimited, which matters if you bring subs and clients into the same system.
Limitations: there is no free trial, so your only test is a monthly plan with a 30-day money-back guarantee. Each added internal user adds $20 per month, so the cost still climbs with headcount, only more slowly than Houzz's. One competing vendor's comparison says JobTread's AI requires an outside model you source and pay for. The JobTread integrations page does list a JobTread AI Connector, so check what it includes before relying on either claim.
Implementation: budget for configuration. JobTread's open API is documented behind its app, and this guide could not open that documentation, so any API work should wait until you have read it. JobTread's API developer certification covers grant keys, Pave queries, pagination and webhooks, which suggests integration work is expected for firms that connect outside tools.
Our read: JobTread suits a firm that wants job costing and one price structure without a sales-led tier. It is the weaker buy for a firm that needs a trial before paying or homeowner-facing marketing.
Who this is for
Choose Houzz Pro if design-led sales come first, you want a trial on live jobs, and you can accept $50 per added user. Choose JobTread if estimating and job costing come first, you want one published plan, and you can buy on a money-back guarantee instead of a trial. A firm that needs both design tools and job costing should run a short parallel pilot before choosing, since the public record does not show either product covering both well.
Red flags: you need a free trial before buying, which rules JobTread out; you need a final Teams price on paper, which Houzz does not publish; you plan to give every field worker a full seat without a budget for each one.
Terms used in this comparison
Job costing: tracking actual cost against each job's budget, line by line.
Takeoff: measuring plans to list the materials and quantities a job needs.
Change order: a signed change to scope or price after the contract is set.
Internal user: an employee login billed per seat; JobTread's pricing page says vendor, subcontractor and customer portal users are free.
Native integration: a connector the vendor builds and maintains itself, as JobTread's integrations page describes its list.
Grant key: the credential JobTread's API certification describes for API access.
Webhook: a message a platform sends to your system when an event happens.
Idempotency: a design where a repeated request does not create a duplicate record.
Keeping change orders and invoices in step
The purchase usually turns on one failure: a change order approved in the field never reaches the invoice. A proposed, configurable workflow from US Tech Automations would address that gap with two workflows, and both need a person in the loop.
Proposed workflow A, change order to invoice check: the trigger is a change order marked approved in the job system. On JobTread, that event could arrive by webhook once a grant key is set up. On Houzz Pro, this guide found no documented public API, so the trigger would be a scheduled export or the native QuickBooks sync, which still needs confirming. The action compares the approved change-order total with the matching draft invoice in QuickBooks Online. The output is an exception list for the office lead showing the job, the change-order number and the dollar difference. Human review point: the office lead approves each draft before it goes out, and the workflow never sends an invoice on its own.
Proposed workflow B, weekly exception report: each Monday the workflow pulls open jobs, unbilled change orders and any failed sync from the previous week, then posts one summary to the owner. Human review point: someone with billing authority clears each line, and the owner, not the tool, decides what counts as an exception. Prerequisites for both: read access to the job system, QuickBooks Online admin rights, and a written decision on which system holds change orders.
The do-it-yourself route is a Zapier or n8n build, and JobTread lists Zapier among its native integrations, so a small firm can start there. Zapier can support run histories, retries and error branches when you configure them. The buyer still designs and owns observability (who reads failed runs), idempotency (so a retried change order does not create a second invoice), escalation, access controls and maintenance when a field changes. A proposed US Tech Automations design would configure those pieces differently: a stored record per change order that blocks duplicates, a named exception queue, role-limited credentials and an escalation path to one person. Whether that is worth it depends on how many change orders you handle each month and whether anyone will read the reports.
When a simpler setup wins
US Tech Automations is not the right first step for every firm. A firm with one or two internal users, few change orders and a QuickBooks sync that already works should use the vendor's built-in features and reconcile by hand. A firm that wants one tool for design, selections and marketing gains little from a separate workflow layer. A firm with nobody willing to own the exception report will end up with a workflow no one checks, and a built-in report is the better choice there.
Frequently asked questions
Is Houzz Pro cheaper than JobTread?
Not at the Pro tier, where the two start at the same list price; the difference comes from added users, and Houzz's per-user add-on is more than double JobTread's.
Does Houzz Pro offer a free trial?
Yes, on its Design and Pro tiers, and the Teams tier has no trial mentioned.
Does JobTread offer a free trial?
No. JobTread says it does not offer a free trial and offers a money-back guarantee on monthly subscriptions instead.
Do both connect to QuickBooks Online?
JobTread lists QuickBooks Online as a native integration. This guide did not confirm Houzz Pro's QuickBooks sync on a page it could open, so ask Houzz to demonstrate it on a live account before you buy.
Which one has better reviews?
Neither listing is large enough to call a winner. Houzz Pro's sample is the larger of the two, and JobTread's is small, so use reviews to spot problems rather than to rank.
Can a small firm skip a workflow layer entirely?
Yes, if change orders are few and the built-in QuickBooks sync works. Built-in reports and a monthly manual reconciliation can be enough, and the section above explains when they are not.
Before you sign
Ask Houzz for the Teams price in writing if you will need more than a handful of users.
Confirm the QuickBooks Online sync on a live account, not a slide.
Ask JobTread which API features and webhook access your plan includes.
Name the person who reviews exception reports before any integration goes live.
Decide which system holds change orders, so there is one source of truth.
Make the call
If design-led sales and a trial matter most, start with Houzz's Pro plan, test it on live jobs and budget $50 for each added user. If estimating, job costing and one predictable plan matter most, JobTread is the cleaner buy, but you commit without a trial. Either way, the gap between the job system and your books is where money gets lost, so plan that link before you pick the tool, and see how US Tech Automations configures this for a proposed change-order check.
About the Author

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.