Skip to content
AI & Automation

6 Onfleet Alternatives for Local Delivery Fleets in 2027

Oct 26, 2026

Key Takeaways

  • Pick the category before the vendor. Route planners, dispatch and order platforms, and enterprise delivery suites solve different problems, and most local fleets need the first two.

  • At 800 deliveries a month with 10 drivers, the lowest price on the pages we read that lists both proof of delivery and API access is Routific's flat $150 plan.

  • Per-driver pricing (OptimoRoute, Upper) rises with headcount. Per-order pricing (Routific above 1,000 orders, Shipday overages) rises with volume.

  • Caps decide which cheap plan actually fits. OptimoRoute Lite handles up to 700 orders at once, and Shipday's free Basic plan includes 300 orders a month.

  • Several vendors keep SMS, ERP, SFTP and similar features behind "Contact Us" or paid add-ons, so get those costs in writing before you compare headline prices.

  • Onfleet is the baseline in this guide. Its published Launch plan starts at $619 a month for 2,500 tasks.

TL;DR: For a local fleet at about 800 deliveries a month, the cheapest option on the pages we read that lists both proof of delivery and API access is Routific at a flat $150 a month. The trade-off is that Routific's pricing changes above 1,000 orders a month.

An Onfleet alternative is software that plans routes, assigns drivers, tracks stops and records proof of delivery for a fleet that runs its own vehicles, so the owner keeps dispatch control without necessarily buying a task platform sized for thousands of deliveries.

Three kinds of product show up in this search. Route planners such as Routific, OptimoRoute and Spoke focus on stop sequencing, driver apps and live ETAs. Dispatch and order platforms such as Shipday add order intake and customer notifications on top. Enterprise tools, including the Enterprise tier on Onfleet at $3,099 a month and up, add custom deployment and sales-led contracts. Pick the category that matches what your dispatcher does every day. A team that mainly needs faster stop sequencing rarely needs an enterprise contract.

Demand for this category is growing, but the size estimates disagree. 2026 market size: $3.36 billion for last-mile delivery software according to The Business Research Company (2026). That report names small and medium enterprises as a user segment, which describes this reader. Persistence Market Research puts the same 2026 market at $13.6 billion according to Persistence Market Research (2026), roughly four times the other figure. Treat that spread as a reason not to buy on market reports at all.

How we evaluated these tools

We read each vendor's official pricing page, then checked the limits, add-ons, billing rules and included features that page states. We did not run any of these products, and we did not assign numeric scores. The weights below show which gaps matter most for a local fleet, so use them to decide what to verify, not as a league table.

CriterionWeightWhat we checked on the pricing page
Total cost at your volume25%Base price, billing basis, overage and add-on fees
Driver and dispatcher limits15%Whether drivers, users or dispatchers are priced or capped
Order and stop caps15%Orders per month, orders at once, stops per route
Routing and dispatch depth20%Optimization, time windows, shifts, capacity, mid-route changes
Proof of delivery and customer updates15%Photos, signatures, ETAs, tracking links
Integration and API access10%API, webhooks, exports, storefront and automation connections

Six alternatives met our research bar: Routific, OptimoRoute, Spoke, Shipday, Route4Me and Upper. Onfleet appears as the baseline. We dropped Track-POD because its pricing page did not load during research, so this guide has no verified price for it.

What the published prices show

Pricing checked October 25, 2026. Every figure below comes from the vendor's own pricing page. Where a page gives no price, the table says Quote-based.

VendorPlanPublished pricePrice page
OnfleetLaunch$619 a month, 2,500 tasksOnfleet pricing
OnfleetScale$1,349 a month, 5,000 tasksOnfleet pricing
OnfleetEnterpriseFrom $3,099 a month, 10,000+ tasksOnfleet pricing
RoutificPaid plan$150 a month up to 1,000 ordersRoutific pricing
OptimoRouteLite$35.10 per driver a month, billed annuallyOptimoRoute pricing
OptimoRoutePro$44.10 per driver a month, billed annuallyOptimoRoute pricing
OptimoRouteCustomQuote-basedOptimoRoute pricing
SpokeStarter$125 a month, unlimited driversSpoke pricing
SpokePremium$200 a month, unlimited driversSpoke pricing
ShipdayProfessional LiteFrom $29 a month, 300 orders includedShipday pricing
Route4MeRoute Optimization$199 a monthRoute4Me pricing
UpperProfessional$60 per user a month, or $48 billed yearlyUpper pricing
UpperEnterpriseQuote-basedUpper pricing

Routific's price is the easiest to read. Paid plan on Routific: $150 a month up to 1,000 orders according to Routific (2026). Routific counts each unique order once, when it is scheduled to a route, and its free plan covers schedules under 100 orders a month. Above 1,000 orders, per-order fees start at 15 cents and fall with volume. The page does not say whether a volume band's rate applies to every order or only to the orders inside that band, so ask before you model high volumes.

Onfleet's numbers are plan-based. Its entry plan costs $619 a month for 2,500 tasks, and Scale costs $1,349 a month for 5,000 tasks, according to Onfleet (2026). Unlimited users come with the plans, but telephony is billed separately, and the page does not show overage rates for tasks above a plan's cap. A Courier Suite add-on starts at $299 a month and is sold through a contact-sales button.

OptimoRoute prices by driver, and the annual toggle is the number to compare. Pro plan on OptimoRoute: $44.10 per driver, billed annually according to OptimoRoute (2026). The same page says annual billing saves 10 percent over monthly and that monthly plans have no contract. Its FAQ example uses $49 per driver for Pro, which does not match the $44.10 annual figure, so confirm which rate your invoice will carry.

Upper prices per user, with monthly and yearly rates on each tier. Its Professional plan is $60 per user a month, or $48 billed yearly, according to Upper (2026). Upper's Enterprise tier is Quote-based.

Spoke's pricing page lists Starter at $125 a month, Premium at $200 and Expert at $1,000, all with unlimited drivers, according to Spoke (2026). Extra-stop charges of $0.04, $0.06 and $0.07 apply by tier, and the page does not define what counts as an extra stop. The Circuit for Teams pricing address now redirects to this Spoke page, so confirm which product your quote covers.

Shipday's free Basic plan covers up to 300 orders a month with 10 driver accounts, and the Professional Lite plan starts at $29 a month with $0.06 per extra order, according to Shipday (2026). The page's plan cards conflict on some Business AI order limits, so ask which card your quote follows.

Route4Me lists its base plan, Route Optimization, at $199 a month, Business Optimization at $299 and Enterprise at $349, according to Route4Me (2026). The page states no user, route or stop limits for those three plans. Text notifications and several other features are paid add-ons, and ERP/CRM, SFTP sync and HIPAA compliance are on "Contact Us."

Cost at your volume

Take 10 drivers and 800 deliveries a month as a test case, and use only the published figures above. The table shows the monthly cost each plan produces at that volume.

VendorPlanCost at 10 drivers, 800 ordersHow it is calculated
OnfleetLaunch$619 a monthFlat plan, 2,500-task cap, telephony not priced
RoutificPaid plan$150 a monthFlat up to 1,000 orders
OptimoRouteLite, annual$351 a month10 drivers × $35.10
OptimoRoutePro, annual$441 a month10 drivers × $44.10
UpperProfessional, annual$480 a month10 users × $48, if dispatchers count as users
SpokeStarter$125 a monthFlat with unlimited drivers, extra-stop fees not counted
ShipdayProfessional Lite$59 a month$29 + (800 − 300) × $0.06 = $59
Route4MeRoute Optimization$199 a monthFlat, paid add-ons excluded

The spread is wide. At this volume, the lowest published figure is $59 and the highest is $619, before the add-ons that each vendor prices separately. Low numbers come with caps, feature gaps or per-stop and per-seat exposure, so the cheapest line is not automatically the right one.

Worked example at 800 deliveries a month

Take a fleet of 10 drivers that completes 800 deliveries a month. Using the pricing table above, Onfleet's entry plan costs $619 a month for up to 2,500 tasks, and Routific's paid plan costs a flat $150 up to 1,000 orders. OptimoRoute's Pro plan costs 10 × $44.10 = $441 a month on annual billing, and its Lite plan costs 10 × $35.10 = $351. Upper's Professional plan costs $48 per user on yearly billing, so 10 users come to 10 × $48 = $480 a month if dispatchers count as users. Shipday's Professional Lite plan costs $29 for the first 300 orders plus $0.06 for each of the other 500, which is $29 + $30 = $59 a month. Spoke's Starter is $125 a month with unlimited drivers before extra-stop fees, and Route4Me's Route Optimization plan is $199 before add-ons. If your workflow reads completion events from Onfleet, the webhook reference lists the taskCompleted trigger and the data.task field, so budget for API access on whichever platform you choose, not only on the cheapest plan.

Feature matrix: what each page states

The matrix records only what each pricing page says. "Not stated" means the page does not say, not that the feature is missing. Confirm every "Not stated" cell in writing before you sign.

VendorFree tierDriver or user limitOrder or stop capProof of deliveryAPI on pricing page
RoutificYes, under 100 orders a monthUnlimited drivers and dispatchersFlat to 1,000 ordersYes, photos, signatures, barcodes, notesYes, with webhooks
OptimoRouteNot statedPriced per driver700 (Lite) or 1,000 (Pro) orders at oncePro onlyYes, Web Service API on Lite and Pro
SpokeNot statedUnlimited driversExtra-stop fees of $0.04 to $0.07Not statedNot stated
ShipdayYes, Basic10 driver accounts on Basic, 15 on Professional Lite300 orders included on Basic and Professional LiteNot statedNot stated
Route4MeNot stated for main plansNot statedNot statedIncluded on Route OptimizationOptimization APIs on Enterprise
UpperNot stated10, 15 or 30 driver profiles by tier250, 500 or 1,500 stops per routeProfessional and aboveAPI and webhooks on Enterprise
Onfleet (baseline)Not statedUnlimited users on Launch2,500, 5,000 or 10,000+ tasksNot on pricing pageNot on pricing page; API docs exist (webhook reference)

Vendor profiles

Routific

Best fit: a team that wants one flat price up to 1,000 orders a month, unlimited drivers and dispatchers, and customer tracking links. The plan includes route optimization with time windows, capacities and driver shifts, turn-by-turn navigation, and time-stamped proof of delivery.

Limitations: SMS notifications are an add-on priced by country, and the page says to request a quote. Above 1,000 orders the bill becomes per-order, and the band question above applies. Above 50,000 orders the price is custom.

Implementation: all customers get email and live chat, and paid customers also get personalized onboarding by phone or video. Adding full- or part-time drivers costs nothing extra, per the page. Evidence: Routific pricing.

OptimoRoute

Best fit: teams that budget per driver and want a clear annual discount, plus analytics and proof of delivery. Lite includes live tracking, route history, Excel and Garmin export, and a Web Service API, so a team that only needs planning and tracking can stay on it.

Limitations: Lite caps orders at 700 at once. Proof of delivery, analytics and customer feedback sit in Pro. Weekly planning needs a contact to activate, and the Custom tier is sales-led.

Implementation: the page says you can plan as often as you like, that upgrades are included, and that monthly plans have no contract. The $49 FAQ example against the $44.10 annual price is the first thing to clear up with the vendor. Evidence: OptimoRoute pricing.

Spoke

Best fit: teams that want unlimited drivers and dispatch members, and that can estimate how many extra stops they will generate. Starter, Premium and Expert are billed monthly on the page.

Limitations: the pricing page does not define an extra stop, and it does not list proof-of-delivery or API features, so verify both in writing. Because Circuit for Teams' pricing address now redirects here, confirm which product and tier your quote covers.

Implementation: monthly billing, with extra-stop charges separate from the plan fee. Evidence: Spoke pricing.

Shipday

Best fit: pilots and very low-volume operations that need order intake, dispatch and customer notifications, with a free starting point and per-order billing once they exceed the included volume.

Limitations: Basic allows 300 orders a month and one dispatch account. The page's plan cards conflict on Business AI order limits and on which card applies to which account type, and it shows monthly billing only. Its FAQ says the card is charged at month end based on actual usage, so model your peak month, not the average. Evidence: Shipday pricing.

Route4Me

Best fit: dispatch teams with dense stop counts, mixed fleets and a budget for add-ons. Business Optimization adds operational-improvement tools, optimization across drivers, vehicles and facilities, and mixed-fleet handling.

Limitations: the plan table states no user, route or stop limits, so the cost of growth is unclear. Text notifications, avoidance zones and dynamic geofencing are paid add-ons, and several integrations are "Contact Us." The page's structured price data is marked valid until November 24, 2026, so re-check before you budget. Evidence: Route4Me pricing.

Upper

Best fit: teams that want a per-user model with four tiers and expect to move up in stops per route. Professional adds live GPS tracking, proof of delivery, customer notifications, time windows and recurring routes.

Limitations: per-user pricing means dispatchers add cost. Stops per route are 250 on Starter and 500 on Professional, and the Enterprise cap conflicts on the page (3,000+ on one card, 1,500+ in the table). Customer tracking is $20 per driver, capacity optimization is $25 per driver, and barcode scanning is $50 per company. API and webhooks appear only at Enterprise.

Implementation: a 7-day free trial is listed, but the page is inconsistent about whether the trial includes SMS notifications. Upper also publishes competitor comparisons, including one on Onfleet pricing, so read its Onfleet figures alongside Onfleet's own page. Evidence: Upper pricing.

Who this is for

  • Routific: owners or dispatchers with under 1,000 orders a month who want flat pricing and storefront or automation connections.

  • OptimoRoute: teams that budget per driver and need proof of delivery and analytics, which means the Pro plan.

  • Spoke: teams with a large driver headcount that can estimate extra stops and confirm feature coverage in writing.

  • Shipday: pilots and very low-volume teams that need a free start and per-order billing.

  • Route4Me: dispatch teams with dense stop counts that will pay for add-ons.

  • Upper: teams that expect to move between tiers and want per-user pricing with stated stop caps.

  • Stay on Onfleet: if your volume fits its tiers and your drivers already use its app, switching costs may exceed the savings. This guide does not price migration effort.

Red flags: you cannot export order data from the tool you are replacing; your peak month sits at or just under a plan cap with no overage quote; or you need SMS, ERP or SFTP features that the vendor's page lists only as "Contact Us."

Where a proposed workflow fits the gap

The gap most owners feel sits between the dispatch tool and the rest of the business. A proposed US Tech Automations design would sit above whichever dispatch tool you pick and would not replace it. This is a configurable workflow, not a live deployment, and it needs API or export access on your plan before anything can run.

Trigger: an Onfleet webhook fires for taskFailed. The Onfleet webhook reference lists that trigger among its 29 options, and it names data.task among the fields it includes. Action: the workflow reads the task, pulls the customer and address fields, and creates one exception item per failed stop. Output: a dispatcher queue with a suggested next step. Human review: a dispatcher approves any re-attempt or customer message before it goes out. Prerequisites: API access confirmed in writing for your Onfleet plan, and a secure endpoint that can receive webhook POSTs.

A second proposed workflow applies if you move to a route planner with an API. Trigger: a new order arrives from your storefront or an import file. Action: the workflow sends the order to the route planner through its API and writes the scheduled route back to your order record. Output: a daily list of orders that were not scheduled, which a dispatcher clears before routes are released. Human review: a person approves any order the workflow cannot place. Prerequisites: API access on a plan that includes it, such as the feature list on Routific's paid plan, and a field-mapping sign-off.

Build it yourself, buy the planner, or add a workflow layer

The realistic alternative to a vendor is stitching the process together in Zapier, Make or n8n. Those tools can be configured to keep run histories, retry failed steps and branch on errors, and they can support audit evidence once someone sets that up. The buyer still owns the design: idempotency so a duplicate event does not create two exceptions, escalation rules, access controls, and maintenance when an API changes. A proposed US Tech Automations design could configure those points differently, with a named owner for each exception type, run logs for every step, and a review gate before any customer message goes out. It still needs API prerequisites and someone who approves changes.

When NOT to use US Tech Automations. Skip a workflow layer if your dispatcher needs only stop sequencing and a driver app, because Routific, OptimoRoute or Spoke already cover that without a second system. Skip it if the dispatch tool you choose has no API or export, since there is nothing for a workflow to read or write. And skip it if your order volume is low enough that the vendor's own notifications and tracking links already meet customer needs, in which case a free Routific or Shipday tier may be the simpler answer.

Common mistakes

  • Comparing a per-driver price with a per-order price without matching the volume and headcount in each model.

  • Ignoring the cap on the cheapest plan, such as OptimoRoute Lite at 700 orders at once or Shipday's Basic plan at 300 orders.

  • Assuming unlimited drivers means unlimited cost. Spoke's extra-stop fees and Upper's per-user seats both add to the bill.

  • Using third-party price lists instead of the vendor's own pricing page. Several third-party pages disagree with each other on the same plan.

  • Assuming API access comes with the lowest plan. Confirm it on the plan you will buy.

  • Forgetting add-ons such as SMS, telephony and support tiers. Onfleet bills telephony separately, and Route4Me prices several items as add-ons.

Decision checklist

  • Monthly deliveries and peak-day count are written down.
  • Driver and dispatcher counts are written down, with dispatchers explicitly counted or excluded.
  • The plan cap is checked against your peak month, not the average.
  • Proof of delivery and customer tracking are confirmed on the plan you would buy.
  • API or export access is confirmed in writing.
  • Add-ons (SMS, telephony, tracking, support) appear in the quote.
  • The overage rule is written into the contract.
  • The vendor's pricing page was re-checked on the day you approve the budget.

Questions buyers ask first

Which Onfleet alternative is cheapest for a small fleet?

At 800 deliveries a month with 10 drivers, Shipday's Professional Lite comes to $59 with overage included, and Spoke's Starter is $125 flat, but Routific's $150 is the lowest price on the pages we read that lists both proof of delivery and API access. Compare caps and features before you compare price alone.

Do these tools charge per driver or per order?

They use both models. OptimoRoute and Upper charge per driver or per user, Routific and Shipday charge per order above an included volume, and Spoke adds per-stop fees on top of a monthly plan.

Is Onfleet's pricing fully published?

Its Launch, Scale and Enterprise starting prices are published, but the page does not show overage rates for tasks above a plan's cap, and telephony rates are not shown either.

Why do price figures differ across sites?

Third-party sites often lag vendor pages or mix monthly and annual billing. The vendor's own pricing page and a written quote are the reliable numbers.

Can a workflow layer replace the dispatch tool?

No. A proposed workflow sits above the tool, reading its events and writing exceptions to a review queue, so the dispatch tool still needs an API or export.

Shortlist before you sign

Shortlist two options, then get the cap, add-on and overage rules in writing for your peak month. Routific and OptimoRoute publish the clearest per-plan rules on the pages we read, while Shipday and Spoke need the most confirmation before you commit. If you need a workflow that reads from one system and writes exceptions to another, see how US Tech Automations configures this and bring the prerequisites list to your vendor call.

About the Author

Garrett Mullins
Garrett Mullins
Workflow Specialist

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.