Onvio vs Canopy for Tax Firms: Buyer's Guide 2026
Onvio or Canopy: the decision most tax firms are really making
Accounting practice management software is the system a firm uses to track clients, deadlines, documents, billing and client communication in one place. The Onvio versus Canopy question is rarely a pure feature contest. It is a question about whether your tax engine decides your practice management tool, or whether your practice management tool should be chosen on its own merits.
TL;DR: choose Onvio if your returns are prepared in UltraTax CS and you want project status, client data and invoices to flow between the tax engine and the practice layer. Choose Canopy if you want published per-seat pricing, a single platform for CRM, workflow, documents, billing and payments, and you are not tied to Thomson Reuters tax software. If you run a mixed stack, the real work is the glue between systems, which is covered later in this guide.
One naming point first. Onvio is the Thomson Reuters cloud suite, and the practice management product inside it is sold as Onvio Firm Management. According to Thomson Reuters, Onvio Firm Management bundles document management, a branded client portal, project management, time and billing, trial balance tools and eSignature. In the sources reviewed for this guide, the product still carries that name, and I found no rename, merger or discontinuation notice. Thomson Reuters does publish migration help for moving into Onvio from FileCabinet CS, NetClient CS, UltraTax CS 2021 and third-party tax applications, so some firms meet Onvio as the destination of a forced or planned move rather than as a fresh shopping choice.
This guide is built from public information: vendor pricing and help pages, plus independent trade and review sources. No hands-on testing is claimed. Where a vendor does not publish something, the guide says so and tells you what to ask.
Key Takeaways
Onvio pricing is Quote-based. Thomson Reuters describes an annual base fee that includes one user, plus yearly per-user fees, but publishes no dollar amounts.
Canopy publishes three per-seat tiers at $74, $109 and $149 per user per month, billed annually, with add-ons and usage credits priced separately.
The strongest reason to pick Onvio is the documented UltraTax CS integration: client details, project status and invoices move between the two products.
The strongest reason to pick Canopy is breadth in one platform plus a documented developer API, though the API is gated to higher tiers and the support article is inconsistent about which.
Neither vendor's public pages document webhooks, so automation between systems usually means scheduled exports or API polling that someone must own.
Independent review data on Onvio is thin and mixed, so a paid pilot with your own returns beats any ranking, including this one.
Who this is for
This guide is for an owner or operations lead at a 5-50 person accounting, bookkeeping or tax firm who has already narrowed the list to these two products and needs the deciding factors. It assumes you are comparing a Thomson Reuters-aligned suite against a standalone platform, and that you care about deadlines, client document collection, billing and a sane monthly bill.
Red flags: you have no stated tax software yet (then pick the tax engine first, not the practice layer); you need a published price before talking to a salesperson (Onvio will not give you one); you expect a native two-way sync with a tax engine other than UltraTax CS (neither page reviewed documents one).
How we evaluated these tools
The criteria below reflect what a 5-50 person firm usually decides on. The weights are editorial judgment, not vendor data, and no scores are assigned to the vendors. Instead, each criterion is used to organize the evidence in the sections that follow. If your firm's priorities differ, reweight the table before you read the verdicts.
| Criterion | Weight | Max points | Why it matters |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tax-software fit and data flow | 25% | 25 | Re-keying client data between tax and practice tools is the most common source of lost hours |
| Pricing transparency and total cost | 20% | 20 | Quote-only pricing slows a decision and hides add-on costs |
| Client portal and document collection | 15% | 15 | Chasing missing documents consumes the busy season |
| Workflow and project management | 15% | 15 | Deadlines, task status and capacity drive on-time delivery |
| Integration and API access | 10% | 10 | Determines whether you can automate around the tool |
| Reviewer sentiment and support | 10% | 10 | Downtime and slow support cost more than a feature gap |
| Implementation and migration effort | 5% | 5 | Matters most to firms with years of legacy documents |
Facts in the tables and profiles come from the cited vendor and publisher pages. Analysis is labeled as analysis.
Feature matrix: what each platform covers
The matrix normalizes the same eight capabilities across both products. Cells show what the pages reviewed state, and "Not stated" means the page opened did not say, not that the capability is absent.
| Capability | Onvio | Canopy |
|---|---|---|
| Client portal | Branded portal on web plus two mobile apps | Client portal and secure messaging on every plan |
| Document management | Scan-and-upload, folders, full-text search, activity tracking | Document management and eSign on every plan |
| eSignature | Included, with knowledge-based authentication | eSign included; knowledge-based authentication sold as a usage credit |
| Time and billing | Time and expense entry, invoicing, receipt tracking | Invoicing and payments, with card and ACH processing |
| Workflow and projects | Due dates, staff and client tasks, budgets, profitability reporting, bulk status updates | Automated and recurring task workflows; capacity planning and custom reporting on the Plus tier and above |
| Tax-engine integration | Documented UltraTax CS integration | Tax Workflow Automation add-on; engine-specific sync not stated on the pricing page |
| Public API | Not stated on the pages reviewed | Developer API, key-based, 37 endpoints |
| AI features | Not stated | AI Meeting Notetaker hours scale by tier |
Analysis: the matrix shows two different design philosophies. Onvio is shaped around a Thomson Reuters tax workflow, so its depth is in the handoff with UltraTax CS. Canopy is shaped around running the whole firm in one product, so its breadth shows in payments, CRM and capacity planning. If your firm is tax-heavy and already on UltraTax CS, the integration row outweighs most of the others. If your firm mixes bookkeeping, advisory and tax across several engines, the rows for payments, workflow tiers and API matter more.
The Onvio integration detail is documented. The UltraTax CS link shares data, provides a client tax questionnaire with document upload, and sends invoices to time and billing. Thomson Reuters' help documentation adds that status changes are bi-directional between UltraTax CS and Onvio, and that task-level status changes require the Firm Management Advanced tier. That tier gate is worth confirming in your quote.
Pricing and total cost of ownership
Pricing checked October 8, 2026. Canopy's figures were read from its public pricing page; Onvio publishes no prices, so every Onvio cell below says Quote-based.
Canopy pricing: $74, $109, $149 per user monthly according to Canopy (2026). The same page says the three tiers are billed annually and include a core platform with CRM, workflow, document management, billing, client portal, payments and core AI. The AI Meeting Notetaker allowance rises with the tier: 8, 12 and 16 hours per user per month. A "Coming Soon" label sits above the top tier, so confirm which of its features are live before you pay for it. Add-ons such as tax workflow automation, close automation, tax resolution, knowledge-based authentication and extra client intake credits are priced separately, as are payment processing fees; see current pricing on the Canopy page for those figures.
| Vendor | Plan | Published price | Billing basis |
|---|---|---|---|
| Onvio | Firm Management | Quote-based | Annual base fee including one user, plus yearly per-user fees |
| Onvio | Firm Management Advanced | Quote-based | Adds task-level status changes in the UltraTax CS sync |
| Canopy | Standard | $74 per user per month | Billed annually |
| Canopy | Plus | $109 per user per month | Billed annually |
| Canopy | Premium | $149 per user per month | Billed annually |
| Canopy | Enterprise | Quote-based | Custom quote, aimed at large firms |
On Onvio's billing model, according to Thomson Reuters, users added mid-term are charged monthly per user until the next renewal, when they can move to the annual per-user fee. Renewals process automatically each year with a credit card on file, and invoices land around the 12th of the month after service. That structure rewards firms that forecast seat counts before renewal and punishes firms that add seasonal staff in January.
The table below multiplies the three published per-seat rates by seat count and twelve months. It is arithmetic on list prices, before add-ons, usage credits and payment fees, so treat it as a floor.
| Per-seat tier | Monthly per user | Annual per user | 5 users | 10 users | 25 users |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Standard | $74 | $888 | $4,440 | $8,880 | $22,200 |
| Plus | $109 | $1,308 | $6,540 | $13,080 | $32,700 |
| Premium | $149 | $1,788 | $8,940 | $17,880 | $44,700 |
Analysis: a fair total-cost comparison needs three more numbers that only quotes and trials reveal. First, the Onvio base fee and per-user fee for your seat count. Second, the Canopy add-ons your workflow actually uses, especially tax workflow credits and knowledge-based authentication if you collect signatures at volume. Third, what you already pay for point tools (separate portal, e-signature, payment link) that either platform would retire. Ask both vendors to price the same 10-seat scenario in writing.
Vendor profiles
Onvio Firm Management
Facts. Onvio is the Thomson Reuters cloud practice management product. It covers documents, a branded client portal, project management, time and billing, trial balance tools and eSignature. The portal integrates with Dropbox, Google Drive and Box for data sharing. The documented UltraTax CS link carries the EIN, name and email address of clients created in UltraTax CS, builds tax projects from the return entity type, and sends invoices to the Review Invoices tab. Thomson Reuters publishes a request-a-demo path rather than a price list. According to CPA Practice Advisor, the 2019 review gave Onvio Documents 4.75 stars and described pricing as subscription-based with product support included.
Best fit. Firms already on UltraTax CS that want tax project status and invoices to travel between systems, firms that want Thomson Reuters as a single throat to choke for tax, documents and portal, and firms whose partners are comfortable with quote-based procurement.
Limitations. The independent sentiment data is thin. Onvio reviewer recommendation rate: 70% across 12 reviews according to SelectHub (2026), drawn from a single review site. SelectHub's summary of those reviews also lists slow performance, downtime, syncing issues between modules, a steep learning curve and long support waits, and says workflow management is seen as weaker than Canopy or Karbon. Treat that as a small-sample signal, not a verdict. The 2019 CPA Practice Advisor rating is both old and specific to the documents module. No public API documentation appeared on the product pages reviewed.
Implementation. Thomson Reuters advises migrating one product at a time and starting with the product holding the most accurate client information. Password-protected UltraTax CS clients are marked Confidential after migration because Onvio does not support password protection. Duplicate FileCabinet CS drawers that share an EIN or SSN migrate only once, with the rest reported as exceptions, so plan cleanup time before cutover.
Canopy
Facts. Canopy is an all-in-one platform with CRM and client management, document management and eSign, a client portal with secure messaging, automated and recurring workflows, and invoicing and payments, all in the base tiers. Plus adds user roles and access controls, capacity planning and forecasting, advanced task views and custom reporting. Premium adds advanced workflows and automation, advanced billing scenarios and deeper reporting. Enterprise is quote-based and, per the pricing page, can run alongside existing software.
Best fit. Firms that want published pricing, one login for CRM, tasks, documents, billing and payments, and firms with a mixed tax, bookkeeping and advisory service line that do not want the practice layer chosen by their tax engine.
Limitations. The pricing page does not state which tax engines sync with Canopy beyond a Tax Workflow Automation add-on, so ask for the exact integration list for the engine you use. Multi-entity management is marked "Coming Soon" on all tiers, and a "Coming Soon" label also appears near the top tier. If you manage groups of related entities, confirm the date in writing.
Canopy API: 37 endpoints across 6 resource areas according to Canopy's support center (2026). The areas are CRM, files, invoicing, tasks, client notes and user lookup. Access uses an API key from the API Management settings page. The article says availability is on the Plus or Premium plan in one place and Premium only in another, so verify the tier before you design anything around it. Webhooks are not mentioned.
Implementation. Canopy's pricing page lists intake credits and usage-based add-ons, so scope the first busy season with the credits you expect to consume. The Enterprise tier is described as suited to firms of roughly 200 people, which is well above the 5-50 range this guide targets.
Where orchestration sits above either tool
Most 5-50 person firms do not fail on features. They fail on the work between the features: exceptions that nobody owns, invoices that sit unpaid because the reminder lives in someone's inbox, and migration leftovers that surface in March. This is where US Tech Automations positions itself, above whichever practice management tool you choose rather than as a replacement for it.
A proposed, configurable workflow for the migration case works like this. Trigger: a firm administrator with the Migrations permission group exports the exception report after each Onvio migration batch. Action: the workflow reads the export, groups rows by client EIN or SSN, and drafts a merge checklist per client with the duplicate drawers named. Output: a task list for a staff accountant, with every merge held for human approval before any document is moved. The prerequisites are a file export or scheduled report from the source system and a named reviewer; because no public Onvio API appeared in the pages reviewed, this design assumes exports rather than live API calls until Thomson Reuters confirms otherwise.
A second proposed workflow targets billing follow-up on the Canopy side. Trigger: a scheduled job polls the invoices resource through the Canopy API on a nightly cadence, because webhooks are not documented. Action: it flags invoices unpaid past a firm-set number of days and drafts a reminder for the client. Output: a queue for the responsible partner, who approves or edits each message before it sends. The prerequisites are an API key on a tier that includes API access, a read scope for invoices and clients, and an escalation rule for invoices the partner has put on hold. Nothing in this design describes a live deployment or a measured result; it is a configuration proposal to price and test.
A worked example with the math
Here is an illustrative scenario with assumed numbers, not a customer result. A 12-person firm migrates 180 client folders from FileCabinet CS into Onvio, and 9 of the 180 clients have more than one drawer sharing an EIN or SSN, so only the first matching drawer migrates and the rest are listed in the Document_Upload_Exception_Report that Thomson Reuters describes in its migration help. If an accountant spends 40 minutes per exception hunting for the right drawer by hand, that is 9 x 40 = 360 minutes, or 6 hours. If a workflow drafts the merge checklist and the reviewer needs 15 minutes per exception to confirm it, the effort is 9 x 15 = 135 minutes, or 2.25 hours. The difference is 3.75 hours, and at an assumed internal cost of $60 per hour that is 3.75 x 60 = $225 of recovered time. The dollar value is small; the larger benefit is that every exception has an owner and a record before the first tax-season deadline.
Zapier, Make, n8n or in-house: the fair comparison
The real alternative to a purpose-built orchestration layer is often a no-code stack in Zapier, Make or n8n, or a script written by a technical partner or contractor. Those tools are capable. Configured well, they provide run histories, retries, error branches and audit evidence. What the buyer takes on is the design and the ownership: observability so failures are noticed, idempotency so a retry does not double-send a reminder, escalation paths when a step fails, access controls so an intern cannot see every client's data, and maintenance when a vendor changes a field.
A proposed US Tech Automations design would configure those pieces differently: a per-run log written for a partner to read, a de-duplication key on each client-and-invoice pair, a named human approver on every outbound client message, and a failure queue that reaches a person rather than an email folder. The prerequisites are the same as for the DIY route: API or export access, a permission model, and someone who owns the review step. If your firm has a technical owner who enjoys maintaining flows, the DIY path is a legitimate choice.
Benchmarks that frame the buying decision
Independent data on buyer priorities is more useful than vendor adoption claims. Firm leaders naming recruiting top concern: 61% according to Accounting Today (2025). The same MassCPAs survey, taken in November 2024 with more than 200 firm leaders, reported the following.
| Measure | Share of respondents |
|---|---|
| Recruiting talent is the top concern | 61% |
| Retention is the second concern | 39% |
| Moderate digital adoption is the norm | 62% |
| High adoption with extensive automation and analytics | 18% |
| Investing in cloud-based solutions | 62% |
| Investing in automation for routine processes | 54% |
| Investing in client-facing portals | 46% |
Analysis: when recruiting is the top concern, software that reduces seat-hours per return matters more than software with the longest feature list. That favors whichever tool your staff will adopt quickly, and it is the reason the SelectHub usability comments on Onvio and the portal, workflow and onboarding rows in the matrix deserve a real pilot rather than a demo. The survey is a regional sample, so use it as direction, not as a market-wide statistic.
Decision checklist and common mistakes
Use this checklist before you sign with either vendor.
Confirm your tax engine and ask each vendor for the documented integration with it, in writing.
Ask Thomson Reuters for the Onvio base fee, per-user fee, the Advanced tier price and the renewal terms for mid-term seat additions.
Ask Canopy which add-ons your workflow needs and which tier gates API access.
List your current point tools (portal, e-signature, payments) and price what each platform retires.
Run a pilot on five real clients, including one with a protected or duplicate-document history.
Decide who owns exceptions, reminders and approvals after go-live.
Common mistakes:
Comparing Canopy's published per-seat price against an Onvio estimate pulled from a third-party site rather than a written quote.
Choosing the practice layer before the tax engine, then discovering the integration you assumed does not exist.
Buying the top tier for a feature that is still labeled "Coming Soon."
Skipping migration cleanup, then finding duplicate drawers and Confidential flags in the middle of the filing season.
Assuming webhooks exist. Neither vendor's pages reviewed document them, so budget for polling or exports.
If neither product fits, compare adjacent options in these guides on Canopy versus Karbon, Canopy versus TaxDome, Canopy versus Financial Cents, and the broader Canopy alternatives list. If you are weighing a switch against doing nothing, read Canopy alternatives versus staying manual.
Frequently asked questions
Is Onvio or Canopy better for a tax-focused firm?
Onvio is the stronger fit when your returns are prepared in UltraTax CS, because Thomson Reuters documents client, project-status and invoice sync between the two. Canopy is the stronger fit when you want published pricing and one platform across tax, bookkeeping and advisory work, and you are not committed to Thomson Reuters tax software.
How much does Onvio cost compared with Canopy?
Onvio is Quote-based, with an annual base fee that includes one user plus yearly per-user fees, while Canopy publishes $74, $109 and $149 per user per month billed annually. Because Onvio shows no list price, a fair comparison requires a written quote for the same seat count.
Does Canopy have an API for automation?
Yes, Canopy offers a key-based developer API with 37 endpoints across CRM, files, invoicing, tasks, client notes and user lookup, but the support article is inconsistent about whether it needs the Plus tier or Premium. Webhooks are not mentioned in the article, so plan on polling.
Does Onvio have a public API?
No public Onvio API documentation appeared on the Thomson Reuters pages reviewed for this guide. Ask your Thomson Reuters representative whether API or partner access exists for your tier before you design an integration.
Is Onvio being renamed or discontinued?
No rename or discontinuation notice appeared in the sources reviewed, and Thomson Reuters still sells Onvio Firm Management under that name. Check the current product page and your contract language, because product packaging can change between renewals.
Can I migrate from CS Professional Suite tools into Onvio?
Yes, Thomson Reuters publishes migration help for FileCabinet CS, NetClient CS, UltraTax CS 2021 and many third-party tax applications. It recommends migrating one product at a time and starting with the product that holds the most accurate client data.
When should a firm skip US Tech Automations?
Skip an orchestration layer when a native feature already does the job. If Canopy's built-in recurring workflows cover your reminders, if your firm sends fewer exceptions than one person can track in a spreadsheet, or if you have a technical partner who already maintains Zapier, Make or n8n flows with run histories and an owner, a simpler existing tool wins. A configured design earns its cost only when work crosses systems and needs approvals and an audit trail.
Conclusion: pick by tax stack, then pilot
Pick Onvio if UltraTax CS is staying, your staff already lives in Thomson Reuters products, and you can accept quote-based pricing and a thinner public review record. Pick Canopy if you want a published price, one platform for CRM, workflow, documents, billing and payments, and the option to automate through an API. Walk away from either one if the integration you assumed with your tax engine is not confirmed in writing.
Whichever you choose, the work after go-live is the glue: exceptions, reminders and approvals. To see how that glue can be scoped for your stack, see how US Tech Automations configures this as a proposed design with named prerequisites and review points, then pilot it on a handful of real clients before the next busy season.
About the Author

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.