Rentvine vs DoorLoop 2026: Accounting vs Ease of Use
Rentvine or DoorLoop: the decision in one screen
Property management software is the system of record that holds your leases, owner and tenant ledgers, work orders and trust-account balances, and the choice between these two comes down to a trade. Rentvine is built around accounting depth and an open API, and it prices per active unit. DoorLoop is built around ease of use, a published three-plan price ladder and a mobile app.
TL;DR: if trust accounting, owner reporting and programmatic access sit at the top of your list, start with Rentvine. If fast onboarding, a native mobile app and a price you can read off a web page matter more, start with DoorLoop. Both vendors sell mainly through a sales conversation once you pass a few hundred units, so treat every public number below as a starting point for your own quote.
Before comparing anything, here is the status check on both products. I found no rename, merger or discontinuation for either product in the pages I opened. Rentvine announced the purchase of RentFinder.ai on October 15, 2025, according to Mainsail Partners, and said it plans to embed rent recommendations during lease creation and renewal. DoorLoop closed a Series B in November 2024, and the round is the most recent financing I found for it.
DoorLoop Series B: $100 million led by JMI Equity according to Pulse 2.0 (2024)
Funding news does not tell you which product fits your portfolio, but it does tell you both vendors are still investing in the product. That matters for a system you will live in for years.
Key Takeaways
Rentvine publishes one figure and one model: "as low as $1.50 per unit," with a custom quote for the rest, so budget from a written quote, not the web page.
DoorLoop publishes three plans, and the API, Zapier integration and audit logs sit on the top plan only, which matters if you plan to automate around it.
DoorLoop has far more public reviews than Rentvine, but a larger review pool is not the same as better accounting.
Rentvine's own help center describes native webhooks and role-limited API keys. I found no official DoorLoop webhook documentation, so confirm webhook support before you design around it.
Several of the sharpest claims about Rentvine come from DoorLoop's own comparison page, so verify the $199 monthly minimum and the mobile app claim with Rentvine directly.
Neither system removes the cross-system work: bill checks, owner approvals and exception routing still need an owner, whether that is staff, a no-code scenario or a custom workflow.
Who this is for
This guide is for a manager running roughly 100 to 500 doors who is already shortlisting these two products and wants a buyer's view built from public pages. It assumes you care about trust accounting, owner statements, maintenance flow and how much it costs to run the portfolio per month.
Red flags: you need a vendor that publishes a full price list with no sales call (Rentvine does not, and DoorLoop sends portfolios over 300 units to a demo); you cannot accept a system with only a few published reviews on some review sites; you require a verified, documented webhook feed from day one and cannot get written confirmation from the vendor.
How we evaluated Rentvine and DoorLoop
This guide applies a weighted scorecard to public information only: vendor pricing pages, API documentation, vendor help pages, funding and acquisition announcements, and an aggregated review comparison. Nothing here comes from hands-on testing, and no customer deployment is described. Weights reflect what a 100 to 500 unit manager typically decides on, and you should change them to match your own portfolio.
The "points at a 4 of 5 score" column shows how the weights convert to points if a product scored 4 out of 5 on every criterion, which is a scale illustration and not a score for either vendor.
| Criterion | Weight (%) | Points at a 4/5 score | Why it carries this weight |
|---|---|---|---|
| Accounting and trust handling | 25 | 20 | Errors here create owner disputes and audit exposure |
| Price transparency and total cost | 20 | 16 | The sticker price rarely equals the bill once fees apply |
| API, integration and automation access | 20 | 16 | Decides how much manual work stays in your office |
| Mobile and portal experience | 15 | 12 | Field staff, owners and tenants all touch it daily |
| Onboarding and support | 10 | 8 | Migration quality drives the first 90 days |
| Market proof and vendor stability | 10 | 8 | Review volume and funding reduce selection risk |
Factual vendor data and analysis are kept apart in this guide. Sentences with a citation report what a vendor or reviewer published. Sentences without one are analysis from this guide and should be tested in a demo.
Feature matrix: what each product publishes
The matrix below only records what the pages I opened stated. "Not stated" means the page I read did not say, not that the feature is missing.
| Capability | Rentvine | DoorLoop |
|---|---|---|
| Trust accounting | Listed as a core feature on its pricing page | Not stated on its pricing page; advanced multi-entity accounting listed on the Pro plan |
| Owner portal | Listed (owner and renter portals) | Not stated on its pricing page; tenant portal listed |
| Native mobile app | Disputed: DoorLoop says none, Rentvine's page does not say | Listed by DoorLoop on its own comparison page |
| Open API | Documented, HTTP Basic Auth, role-scoped keys | Included on the Premium plan only |
| Native webhooks | Described in its help center, with a signing key | Not found in official documentation |
| Zapier | Rentvine's blog describes a Zapier setup using an API token | Included on the Premium plan only |
| QuickBooks Online sync | Not stated | Listed on the Pro plan and above |
| AI features | Rentvine AI, Fixie AI maintenance and native MCP listed | AI Assistant and AI Inspections as a paid add-on on Pro and Premium |
| eSignatures | Unlimited digital signatures listed | Metered on lower plans, free on the top plan |
| Affordable housing (Section 8) reporting | Not stated | Listed on the Premium plan |
Details behind the table come from the Rentvine pricing page, the DoorLoop pricing page, Rentvine's help article on webhooks and Rentvine's blog post on its open API and Zapier. The mobile claim comes from DoorLoop's own comparison page, which also says Rentvine has a responsive web version with limited functionality and no push notifications. That is a competitor's statement, so ask Rentvine for a live mobile walkthrough.
Pricing and total cost of ownership
Rentvine and DoorLoop sit at opposite ends of price publishing. Rentvine shows a single starting rate and routes everything else to a quote. DoorLoop shows plan prices, caps the cheapest plan at ten units, and sends portfolios over 300 units to a demo.
Rentvine advertised rate: as low as $1.50 per unit according to Rentvine (2026)
Rentvine's pricing page adds that it charges a one-time setup fee covering migration and a dedicated onboarding specialist, that transaction and screening fees may apply on top of the subscription, and that it advertises a 45-day path to go live. The page lists no dollar amount for setup.
DoorLoop's plans are laid out below as the pricing page showed them. The page renders the Starter prices in a way I read as $99 monthly and $69 billed yearly, and an aggregated comparison on RFP.wiki gives the same ladder.
| Vendor | Plan | Monthly | Billed yearly (per month) | Published limit |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DoorLoop | Starter | $99 | $69 | Max 10 units |
| DoorLoop | Pro | $189 | $149 | Quote-based above 300 units |
| DoorLoop | Premium | $239 | $209 | Quote-based above 300 units |
| Rentvine | Single model | Quote-based | Quote-based | As low as $1.50 per unit |
Pricing checked October 12, 2026. The DoorLoop page also shows "Only $3/unit" beside each plan without explaining it, and its text says onboarding is "based on portfolio size." The page has a field to enter your number of units, but the text I read did not show how totals change, so a 250-unit total is Quote-based until DoorLoop confirms it in writing. DoorLoop's pricing page states that eSignatures cost $3 per document on Starter, $1 on Pro and are free on Premium, and that the AI add-on is extra on Pro and Premium.
The Rentvine minimum is the most important disputed number. DoorLoop's comparison page says Rentvine has a monthly minimum of $199, plus transaction and screening fees, according to DoorLoop. Rentvine's own pricing page that I read states no minimum, so treat $199 as a competitor's claim to verify. If it holds, the per-unit rate stops mattering below roughly 133 units, which is $199 divided by $1.50. The table below shows the monthly subscription floor only, before setup, transaction and screening fees.
| Units managed | Rentvine at $1.50 per unit | If a $199 minimum applies | Effective cost per unit |
|---|---|---|---|
| 100 | $150 | $199 | $1.99 |
| 133 | $199.50 | $199.50 | $1.50 |
| 250 | $375 | $375 | $1.50 |
| 500 | $750 | $750 | $1.50 |
The "as low as" wording means the rate you are quoted may be higher, so use $1.50 as a floor and not a forecast. The honest conclusion for a 100 to 500 unit buyer is that neither vendor gives a public total. Ask both for a written all-in monthly figure at your exact unit count, including onboarding, payments, screening, eSignature and AI fees.
Rentvine profile
Best fit: managers who treat the ledger as the product, including operators handling trust funds for many owners. Rentvine's pricing page lists trust accounting, automated management fees, owner and renter portals, leasing with unlimited digital signatures, maintenance workflows, reporting and an open API as included capabilities. It also lists "unlimited support" with a "35-min avg" response time, which is a vendor claim.
Evidence of accounting strength: the aggregated RFP.wiki comparison scores Rentvine 4.9 on financial management, 4.8 on centralized property management and 4.8 on tenant and lease management, according to RFP.wiki. The same page scores Rentvine 3.5 on mobile accessibility and notes reviewers asking for a native mobile app and more flexible reporting. Those scores are an aggregator's weighting of public reviews, not an audit.
Limitations: the public review base is thin, and marketing and listing tools are described as thin by competitor-published material. Pricing needs a quote, the setup fee is not published, and transaction and screening fees sit outside the subscription. If a field team lives on phones all day, the mobile question needs a live test.
Implementation: Rentvine's page describes full-service migration with a dedicated onboarding specialist and a financial analyst, and a 45-day path to go live. Plan for the trust accounting reconciliation to be the slowest step, because opening balances for every owner and deposit have to tie out.
Automation access: Rentvine's API reference describes HTTP Basic Authentication with an access key and secret created under Settings, and role-based keys. It exposes export endpoints such as GET /leases/export and accounting endpoints for bills, accounts, ledgers and transactions. Its help center describes a Webhooks page where you pick an event, enter a Post URL and use a signing key to verify payloads. The help article does not list event names, so check the event dropdown in your own account.
Choose Rentvine if: your owners judge you on statements and trust-account cleanliness, you want first-party API access without upgrading a tier, and you can tolerate a sales-led price. Disqualifiers: a requirement for a published price list, or a field team that cannot work from a responsive web app.
DoorLoop profile
Best fit: managers who want to start fast, read the price off a page, and equip a field team with a mobile app. DoorLoop's plan pages list online rent payments, a tenant portal, maintenance management, two-way SMS, screening, lease management and reporting even on the cheapest plan. The Pro plan adds multi-entity accounting, live bank connect, QuickBooks Online sync, 1099s, budgeting and workflows. The Premium plan adds API access, Zapier, audit logs, unlimited users and bank accounts, CAM reconciliation and Section 8 reporting.
Evidence of traction: reviews are the strongest public asset.
DoorLoop Capterra rating: 4.8 from 705 reviews according to RFP.wiki (retrieved October 2026)
The same page scores DoorLoop 4.6 on mobile accessibility and 4.7 on tenant portal and online payments, but 4.3 on financial management and 4.2 on analytics, and it notes that advanced consolidations are less flexible than on finance-first platforms. It also reports some users citing friction reaching live support.
Limitations: the API, Zapier and audit logs sit on the highest plan, so automation access raises your tier. The pricing page does not explain how unit counts change totals, and portfolios over 300 units go through a demo. I found no official webhook documentation, and DoorLoop's API reference at api.doorloop.com lists endpoints such as post-leases-full, described as creating a complete lease in a single call. Treat polling as the default and confirm webhooks in writing.
Implementation: DoorLoop's own comparison page says it supports full migration from Rentvine including accounting and lease data and that most managers are up and running within days. That is marketing language, so ask for a migration plan with named steps and a date for the first owner distribution run.
Choose DoorLoop if: you want the lower public entry price, a native mobile app, and a large pool of user reviews, and your accounting needs fit a mid-market ledger. Disqualifiers: a need for deeper finance-first consolidation, or a plan to automate through the API while staying on a lower tier. For deeper context on DoorLoop against other systems, see the DoorLoop vs AppFolio comparison and the DoorLoop vs Buildium comparison. For Rentvine in the same frame, read the Rentvine vs AppFolio comparison.
What the review evidence can and cannot tell you
Public ratings are close, but the review volume is not. The table below reproduces the aggregated figures from RFP.wiki, which collected them from several review sites.
| Source | Rentvine rating | Rentvine reviews | DoorLoop rating | DoorLoop reviews |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| G2 | 4.7 | 63 | 4.8 | 250 |
| Capterra | 4.7 | 11 | 4.8 | 705 |
| Software Advice | 4.7 | 11 | 4.8 | 705 |
| RFP.wiki score (out of 5) | 4.4 | n/a | 4.6 | n/a |
Read this in two ways. First, both products rate well where reviews exist, so a rating gap is not a reason to rule either one out. Second, 11 reviews is a small base for a 100 to 500 unit decision, so a Rentvine evaluation should lean on reference calls with managers of similar size. The aggregator itself discloses lower confidence for Rentvine, at 78% against 80% for DoorLoop. Also keep in mind that user-submitted ratings tend to skew positive.
Automation above either system
Neither product removes work that spans systems: matching a vendor bill to a work order, getting an owner approval over a spending threshold, or keeping a reserve above a floor. This is where the buyer's real alternative appears, which is wiring it together in Zapier, Make or n8n, or building it in-house.
Here is an illustrative scenario with assumed numbers. A manager runs 250 units on Rentvine and receives about 90 vendor bills a month. Cross-checking each bill against its work order and owner approval limit by hand takes about 12 minutes, so the month costs 90 x 12 = 1,080 minutes, or 18 hours. A proposed configuration reads payables from the Rentvine API filtered on bill.dateDue, a field Rentvine's API reference lists for its payables search, and queues only the bills that lack a linked workOrderID or exceed the owner's limit. If a reviewer then spends 3 minutes on each of the 90 queued items, that is 270 minutes, or 4.5 hours, saving 13.5 hours. At an assumed loaded cost of $30 an hour, the saving is 13.5 x $30 = $405 a month, set against a subscription floor of 250 x $1.50 = $375. The 90 bills, the minute counts and the hourly rate are assumptions to replace with your own data, and the result describes a planning model, not a measured outcome.
US Tech Automations would configure that as a proposed workflow, not a live deployment. The trigger is a scheduled run, or a Rentvine webhook if you set one up under Settings. The action pulls bills and linked work orders through a role-scoped API key, applies your approval rules, and drafts a review item for each exception. The output is an approval queue with the bill, work order and owner limit side by side. Prerequisites are API access on your plan, a key limited to the roles the job needs, and written approval rules. A person approves every payment, and the job never posts a bill without that approval.
A second proposed workflow suits a DoorLoop portfolio. The trigger is a scheduled pull of leases and tenants through the DoorLoop API, which needs the Premium plan, and polling is the starting design because I found no official webhook documentation. The action compares lease end dates and recurring charges against a renewal rule set. The output is a renewal worksheet routed to the property manager, and a draft owner notice that a person reviews before it is sent. The export prerequisite is a documented lease endpoint, and a missing field means that rule is switched off rather than guessed. For payment-side detail, see the DoorLoop to Stripe walkthrough.
The fair comparison with DIY tooling is this. Zapier, Make and n8n can keep run histories, retries, error branches and audit evidence when they are configured to do so, and Rentvine's own blog describes Zapier triggers like new lease executed and payment received with a note to monitor run history. What the buyer must design and own is the observability, idempotency (so a retry never double-posts), escalation when a run fails, access controls on the API key, and ongoing maintenance when a field changes. A proposed US Tech Automations design could configure those pieces as a documented set: a duplicate-guard keyed on the bill ID, a named escalation contact for failures, a log that records who approved what, and a key scoped to the minimum role. That is a design option with prerequisites, and your team still has to own the approval rules and review the exception queue.
Decision checklist
Use this list before you sign with either vendor.
Get a written all-in monthly figure at your exact unit count, including setup, payments, screening, eSignature and AI.
Ask Rentvine to confirm in writing whether any monthly minimum applies, since the $199 figure comes from a competitor.
Ask DoorLoop which plan includes API, Zapier and audit logs at your size, and what the total is above 300 units.
Run your most complex owner statement and a trust reconciliation in a sandbox or a live demo.
Ask for two references at a similar unit count and ask what broke in the first 90 days.
Have your field staff use the mobile experience on their own phones.
Request the migration plan, including who moves opening balances and when the first owner distribution run happens.
Common mistakes
Comparing Rentvine's "as low as" rate against DoorLoop's plan prices as if they were the same kind of number. One is a floor per unit and the other is a flat monthly plan fee with an unexplained per-unit label.
Choosing a lower DoorLoop tier and then discovering the API and Zapier access sit on the Premium plan.
Treating a competitor's comparison page as neutral. Both vendors publish pages that flatter their own product.
Weighting review counts as if they measured accounting quality. A larger review pool measures reach, not ledger depth.
Assuming webhooks exist on both sides. Rentvine documents them in its help center, and I found no official DoorLoop webhook documentation.
Skipping the pilot reconciliation and finding out at the first owner distribution that opening balances did not tie out.
Frequently asked questions
Is Rentvine or DoorLoop cheaper for 250 units?
Rentvine's published floor is $375 a month for 250 units at $1.50 per unit, while DoorLoop's 250-unit total is Quote-based because its page does not explain how the unit count changes the plan price. Get both quotes in writing, with setup, payments and screening fees included, before comparing.
Which is better for trust accounting?
Rentvine is the stronger fit on the public evidence, since its pricing page lists trust accounting as a core feature and an aggregated comparison scores its financial management at 4.9 against 4.3 for DoorLoop. Confirm with a live reconciliation, because aggregator scores summarize reviews and are not an audit.
Does DoorLoop have an API?
Yes, DoorLoop lists API access on its Premium plan, and its reference is hosted at api.doorloop.com. Confirm webhook availability and any endpoint gaps with DoorLoop before you build, because I found no official webhook documentation.
Does Rentvine have a mobile app?
DoorLoop's comparison page says Rentvine has no native mobile app and only a responsive web version with limited functionality, but that is a competitor's claim. Ask Rentvine to show the mobile experience on a phone and confirm it with a reference customer.
Can I switch from Rentvine to DoorLoop or the other way round?
DoorLoop says it supports full migration from Rentvine including accounting and lease data, and Rentvine describes full-service migration with a dedicated onboarding specialist. The hard part is tying out trust balances, so require a written migration plan and a reconciliation sign-off date.
When NOT to use US Tech Automations?
Skip a custom automation layer if your needs are covered by built-in features: DoorLoop's Pro plan already offers workflows and QuickBooks Online sync, and Rentvine includes automated management fees. A simple single-trigger task, such as a payment-received alert, is also easier to build in Zapier with a run-history check than to design as a managed workflow. If you cannot name a person to review the exception queue, or your plan does not include API access, wait until those are in place.
The call for a 100 to 500 unit portfolio
Pick Rentvine when the ledger is the product: trust accounting, owner statements and an open, role-scoped API are the deciding factors, and you will accept a quote-based price. Pick DoorLoop when speed to launch, a native mobile app, a readable price ladder and a deep review pool matter more, and you budget for the Premium plan if you expect to automate. In both cases, get a written all-in figure, run a trust reconciliation in the demo, and decide who owns the exception queue between systems. If you want to see how the cross-system approval and renewal workflows above would be configured around either platform, see how US Tech Automations configures this for a portfolio your size. For a view of a third option, the Innago vs DoorLoop comparison covers a lower-cost alternative.
About the Author

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.