Service Fusion vs Workiz: Which Fits Your Shop in 2027
The category decision comes first
If you are weighing service fusion vs workiz, the category decision comes before any feature list: Service Fusion is a field service platform that publishes its plan prices and fits contract-heavy or multi-trade crews, while Workiz is a phone- and lead-driven tool for on-demand trades that asks for a quote before it names a price.
Definition: Field service management (FSM) software runs a home service company's scheduling, dispatch, estimates, invoices, and payments from one system.
TL;DR: Choose Service Fusion if you want published prices, unlimited users, and room for maintenance agreements or multi-trade work. Choose Workiz if most of your revenue comes from one-off, phone-driven jobs and you can get a written quote before you commit. Whichever you pick, get the full first-year cost in writing, add-ons included, before you sign.
Key Takeaways
Service Fusion publishes its plan prices, while Workiz's pricing page asks for a quote on every plan.
Service Fusion includes unlimited users on every plan, so the cost per user falls as the crew grows.
Workiz offers a free trial with no credit card, but its FAQ says plans are billed annually at purchase, so the trial does not test the commitment.
Service Fusion's ownership traces to an EverCommerce acquisition notice, and its current status is not confirmed on a live EverCommerce page.
Third-party comparison pages disagree on prices and ratings, so treat their figures as leads to check, not facts.
Ownership and status checks
Neither product appears to have been renamed or discontinued in the public sources reviewed, but ownership is the first thing to confirm. The Service Fusion notice comes from its M&A advisor, Vista Point Advisors, which says EverCommerce acquired the company. Service Fusion customer base: over 4,000 across the US and Canada according to Vista Point Advisors (2020). That page gives no announcement date and carries a December 4, 2020 modified date, so treat its customer count as a 2020 snapshot, not a 2026 figure.
No 2026 acquisition of Workiz surfaced in public sources, and aggregator pages list conflicting funding totals, so this guide does not rely on them. Workiz's pricing also moved in 2026. A PricingSaaS change log says Pulse verified that Workiz briefly showed list prices for several plans after requiring a quote for all of them, according to PricingSaaS. The same log's history lists a later change that hid those prices again, which matches the "Request pricing" pages on the official site today.
How we evaluated these tools
This is an informed buyer's guide built from public pages, not a hands-on trial. The weights below rank what a small home services owner decides on. They are our analysis, not vendor or third-party data, and each carries a short reason. We read each product against each criterion using only facts we could open, and where the public record is thin, we say so instead of scoring it.
| Criterion | Weight | Why it matters for this reader |
|---|---|---|
| Price visibility and total cost | 20% | A published price lets you budget before a demo; a quote-only price does not. |
| Fit to job type (on-demand vs. contract or multi-trade) | 20% | Shops differ on whether recurring agreements or one-off calls drive revenue. |
| Seat cost and team growth | 15% | Per-seat pricing models raise cost as the crew grows; flat models do not. |
| Lead intake, calls, and scheduling | 15% | Phone and lead routing decide whether a job gets booked the same day. |
| Reporting, recurring billing, and job costing | 15% | Owners who run maintenance agreements need recurring billing and margin visibility. |
| Contract terms, support hours, and rollout | 15% | Commitment length and support hours shape the risk in the first year. |
Third-party ratings are a weak signal here. ITQlick user rating: 4.5 out of 5 for both products according to ITQlick (2026). That page lists no review count for either product, and its own pricing text contradicts its product cards, so a tie on rating tells you little about fit.
Feature matrix on the decisions that matter
The matrix uses only features the vendor pages reviewed state. Where a page is silent, the cell says so instead of guessing.
| Decision | Service Fusion | Workiz |
|---|---|---|
| Published plan prices | Yes, on every plan | No; "Request pricing" on every plan |
| User limits | Unlimited users on every plan | Included users not stated on the pricing page |
| Contract term | Month-to-month, no contract requirement | Plans billed annually at purchase |
| Free trial | Not confirmed on the pricing page | Free trial with no credit card required |
| Automation limits | Not stated | Tier-based; see the pricing section |
| Recurring maintenance billing | Recurring invoicing on Pro | Not described on the pages reviewed |
| Job costing and inventory | Job costing and inventory management on Plus and Pro | Not described on the pages reviewed |
| Open API | Open API Integration on Pro | Not described on the pages reviewed |
| QuickBooks | QuickBooks Integration on Starter | Not described on the pages reviewed |
| Phone and calls | Integrated Voice & Text on Plus; ServiceCall.ai add-on, price not shown | Genius Phone and Genius Answering sold separately, prices not listed |
| Support coverage | Weekday help center hours | Stated as 24/7 in the FAQ |
| Scheduling and dispatch | Included on every plan | Included on every plan |
Our read: The products differ most on price visibility and contract structure, which is where a first-year budget gets set. A cell that says "not described" means the pages reviewed do not say, not that the feature is absent, so put it on the demo list. US Tech Automations is not a column here because it is a workflow service layered on top of a tool, not a field service platform; the workflow section below covers what it would connect to. For the estimate stage, see estimating software for home service businesses.
Pricing and total cost
Service Fusion's Starter plan costs $245 per month or $208 per month billed annually, its Plus plan costs $382 or $325, and its Pro plan costs $627 or $533, with annual billing at a 15% discount, according to Service Fusion (2026). Every plan is month-to-month with no contract requirement, and every plan includes unlimited users. Its add-ons, ServiceCall.ai and GPS Fleet Tracking, show no price on that page.
Workiz free trial: 7 days, no credit card required according to Workiz (2026). The same page shows "Request pricing" on Standard, Pro, and Ultimate, and lists 5, 10, and 30 automations for those tiers. Its Genius Phone, Genius Answering, and Genius Marketing products are sold separately with no price listed.
Service Fusion publishes list prices and Workiz does not, so the Workiz side of any comparison is a quote, not a number. Checked October 18, 2026: we re-opened both vendors' official pricing pages for the plan prices, user limits, contract terms, automation counts and trial details in this section.
Table 3 applies Service Fusion's list prices to a crew of six and twelve users on one plan with no add-ons. The per-user columns are our arithmetic, not vendor figures.
| Vendor | Plan | Monthly list (per month) | Annual billing (per month) | Monthly cost per user at 6 users | Monthly cost per user at 12 users |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Service Fusion | Starter | $245 | $208 | $40.83 | $20.42 |
| Service Fusion | Plus | $382 | $325 | $63.67 | $31.83 |
| Service Fusion | Pro | $627 | $533 | $104.50 | $52.25 |
Table 4 shows what Workiz's official page does and does not publish.
| Vendor | Plan | Published price | Automations listed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Workiz | Standard | Request pricing | 5 |
| Workiz | Pro | Request pricing | 10 |
| Workiz | Ultimate | Request pricing | 30 |
The gap matters for total cost. A Workiz comparison has to start with a written quote that lists its phone, answering, and marketing products, and Service Fusion's add-on prices are also missing from its page. Our read: a published monthly rate is easier to budget, but only if you add each vendor's add-ons before comparing.
Worked example for a six-person crew
This is an illustrative calculation, not a customer. Suppose an owner is pricing Service Fusion's Plus plan for a crew of six and expects to add six technicians within a year. At the $382 monthly rate, the plan works out to $63.67 per user at six users and $31.83 per user at twelve, because the price stays flat while unlimited users are included. On annual billing at $325 per month, the year costs $3,900 instead of $4,584, a $684 difference. The owner's next question is whether finished jobs can reach a CRM. Because the Service Fusion and Workiz API reference pages did not open in this review, the identifier below comes from HubSpot's CRM API, a common CRM in this stack: a HubSpot deal carries its owner in hubspot_owner_id, according to HubSpot Developers. Before buying, the owner should confirm whether Service Fusion's Pro tier, the tier that lists Open API Integration, is required to export job data into that mapping, since the Plus page does not list it.
Service Fusion: best fit, limits, and rollout
Best fit: Shops with recurring maintenance work, multi-trade crews, or a need for job costing and inventory on the same record. Plus adds job costing and inventory management, and Pro adds Open API Integration and recurring invoicing, per the pricing page cited above.
Limitations: The support article lists weekday help center hours only, which matters if your dispatch runs longer than that. Support is Monday through Friday, 6:00 AM to 6:00 PM CST, according to Service Fusion Support (2026). Add-on pricing is not on the pricing page, so budget only the base plan until a quote arrives.
Implementation: Month-to-month terms lower the commitment, but the pricing page does not publish an onboarding timeline. Ask for a written migration plan that covers customer records, job history, and the QuickBooks sync, since the Starter tier lists a QuickBooks Integration without describing its sync direction.
Our read: Service Fusion is the stronger fit when your revenue mix is contract-based or multi-trade and a published rate matters for the budget decision.
Primary evidence: the Service Fusion pricing page and the support article cited above.
Workiz: best fit, limits, and rollout
Best fit: On-demand, phone- and lead-driven shops. A third-party comparison draws the same split and recommends Workiz for transactional shops under 10 technicians, according to Field Service Software (2026). That page's figures carry no cited sources, so use its framing, not its numbers.
Limitations: Pricing is quote-based, and the FAQ says plans are billed annually at purchase. The FAQ also says every plan includes a minimum of 30 invoices and estimates per month, according to Workiz FAQ (2026), while the pricing page describes unlimited invoices and estimates, so ask which limit applies to your plan. Add-ons are sold separately, and the pricing page does not state an included user count. The same third-party comparison says Workiz is weaker on contract-driven recurring work, which the pages reviewed do not confirm.
Implementation: Start with the free trial, then test lead intake using the lead sources you already buy. Ask Workiz to confirm in writing which lead sources connect natively and whether online booking is included. For the booking side, see home service online self-service booking options.
Our read: Workiz deserves a trial if your jobs are mostly one-off calls, but its price is known only after a quote, so the trial does not settle the cost question.
Where follow-up breaks, and where a custom workflow fits
Most small shops lose money between the job record and the next action: an estimate goes unanswered, or a maintenance date passes without a call. Neither product fixes that by default, so the choice between them does not settle it. US Tech Automations builds custom AI workflows as a managed service, mapping the process, building the workflow, and keeping it running. The two designs below are configurable proposals, not a live deployment for any customer.
Proposed workflow, lead to follow-up: The trigger is a new estimate or job record in the field service tool. The workflow reads that record through an API or scheduled export, creates or updates the matching deal in the CRM with the owner set in hubspot_owner_id, and places a follow-up draft in the owner's queue. The output is a drafted message awaiting approval, not a sent one. Prerequisites are API or export access from the field service tool, which Service Fusion's pricing page places on Pro for Open API Integration, while Workiz's API access is not described on the pages reviewed, so confirm it in writing; you also need a HubSpot account with owner IDs mapped. Human review points are a person approving or editing each outbound message, and a person resolving any record the workflow cannot match to a customer.
Proposed workflow, maintenance renewals: The trigger is a renewal date that falls inside a window the owner sets. The workflow pulls the customer's last job and invoice from the export, drafts a renewal reminder, and places it in the office queue with that history attached. The output is a reminder draft for approval. Prerequisites are a renewal date and agreement status the tool can export. Service Fusion lists Progress Billing & Recurring Invoicing on Pro, and Workiz's recurring features are not described on the pages reviewed. Human review points are office staff confirming pricing and customer status, with any change to the agreement left manual. For the reminder-specific angle, see renewal reminder software for home service businesses.
The do-it-yourself alternative: Many owners would stitch this together in Zapier, Make, or n8n, or build it in-house. Those tools can support run histories, retries, error branches, and audit evidence when configured. The buyer still has to design and own observability, idempotency so a retried run does not create a duplicate deal, escalation, access controls, and ongoing maintenance. A US Tech Automations design would configure the same flows with named approval points, escalation to a person, and a maintenance owner agreed in scoping, with the API prerequisites confirmed before any build. The difference is who carries the maintenance burden, not whether the logic is possible.
Who should choose which tool
Who this is for: Service Fusion suits owners of multi-trade shops, recurring maintenance books, or crews that need job costing and inventory on the same record. Workiz suits owners of on-demand, phone-led shops who want to test the product before committing and who can get a written quote.
Red flags: For Service Fusion, you need support outside weekday hours, you cannot budget add-ons without a price, or you need API access but will not pay for Pro.
Red flags: For Workiz, you need list prices before a demo, you need written confirmation of invoice and estimate limits, or you need recurring contract billing confirmed in writing.
When NOT to use US Tech Automations: A simpler tool wins in three cases. If you dispatch a few trucks and only need the field app's built-in reminders and invoices, use those. If your field service tool offers no API or export access and no one will review drafts, skip a custom workflow, because the approval points are the control. If you need a self-serve setup this week, a configured workflow needs scoping, prerequisites, and review time before it runs.
Checklist before you request demos
Decision checklist:
Write down the share of revenue from one-off calls versus recurring agreements, then read the feature matrix against that split.
Ask each vendor for a written first-year cost that includes add-ons, phone, and marketing products.
Confirm API or export access in writing, including the plan tier that unlocks it.
Match support hours to your dispatch hours, and ask which time zone the support team uses.
If your crews must track vendor insurance certificates, review the certificate renewal workflow guide before choosing.
Common mistakes:
Comparing Service Fusion's published monthly rate with a Workiz quote without adding each vendor's add-ons.
Assuming unlimited users means unlimited add-ons or unlimited automations.
Trusting a tied third-party rating that lists no review count.
Skipping the contract question, since Workiz's FAQ says plans are billed annually at purchase.
Frequently asked questions
Is Workiz cheaper than Service Fusion?
Public pricing cannot settle it, because Workiz does not publish plan prices, so only a written Workiz quote can be set against Service Fusion's published rate.
Does Service Fusion offer a free trial?
Its pricing page, as reviewed, does not confirm one, so ask the vendor directly before assuming there is one.
Is Service Fusion still owned by EverCommerce?
The only acquisition notice reviewed is the advisor notice in the ownership section, and it does not confirm the current parent, so verify ownership on a live page before you sign.
Can either tool connect to QuickBooks?
Service Fusion lists a QuickBooks Integration on its Starter tier, while the Workiz pages reviewed do not list a QuickBooks connection, so confirm it with Workiz in writing.
Which vendor covers evenings and weekends for support?
Workiz's FAQ describes 24/7 customer support, while Service Fusion's help center lists weekday hours, so test Workiz's weekend coverage during the trial.
Should I pick a tool before talking to sales?
Pick the job mix first, let the feature matrix point you to one vendor, then use demos to test the two or three questions the public pages leave open.
Bottom line
Service Fusion has the more complete public pricing and the clearer contract and multi-trade story, while Workiz is the better test for on-demand, phone-led shops, but its price is quote-based and its annual billing is a commitment to check before the trial ends. Whichever you choose, the follow-up layer between jobs, estimates, and renewals is a separate design task, and you can see how US Tech Automations configures this for a proposed workflow with its prerequisites and review points.
About the Author

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.