Service Lane Automation Software: 4 Steps to Pick in 2027
Short answer: choose the category before the vendor
Service lane automation software is the set of tools that handles service-drive tasks such as check-in, customer texts, repair-order status and payment, so advisors are not chasing each step by hand.
TL;DR: If your DMS can share appointments and repair orders, a dedicated service-lane platform is worth a proposal. If nobody can yet confirm that data path, start with reminders and a DMS export test before you sign anything. Of the seven tools below, only Kimoby publishes list prices on the pages we opened, so most of your comparison will be proposals rather than rate cards.
Customer preference points the same direction. Text-update preference: 68% of customers, versus 16% for calls according to Digital Dealer (2024), which reports J.D. Power's 2024 U.S. Customer Service Index. That is an industry survey figure, not a result any vendor here has shown for your store, so treat it as a reason to test texting first.
Key Takeaways
Confirm your DMS and the data path before you compare features, because the lane-messaging tools here depend on appointments and repair orders (Dealerware, a loaner and rental fleet tool, is the exception).
Start with texting and reminders; check-in, digital inspection and payment add scope, integration work and cost.
Kimoby is the only tool here with public list prices, so its first-year arithmetic appears in the pricing section.
Xtime is built around online booking and reminders, while myKaarma, Numa and Kimoby describe wider lane workflows.
Zapier, Make and n8n can run a DIY stack for less up front, but you own monitoring, retries, escalation and access control.
Ask every vendor for a written DMS plan and a named rollout owner before you compare prices.
Who this is for
This guide is for an owner or operations lead at a small auto dealership who is close to choosing. You likely have service advisors spending time on calls, texts and status updates, and you want to know whether a platform removes that work without breaking the DMS you already run.
A good fit has a named DMS, one person who can own the rollout, and a first workflow in mind, such as appointment reminders.
Red flags: nobody can confirm DMS access or an export path; the expectation is a live result within days with no advisor time; or the main gap is loaner fleet rather than lane messaging.
How we evaluated these tools
We read each vendor's public pages on October 16, 2026, plus trade-press and reprint coverage of two of them, and we kept published facts separate from our own analysis. The weights below are our analysis for a small store's decision, not vendor data. We did not compute a composite score, because most vendors publish no prices and no independent feature benchmarks.
| Criterion | Weight | Scale | What scores high |
|---|---|---|---|
| Service-lane workflow coverage (texts, check-in, repair-order status, payment) | 25% | 0–5 | Three or more of these steps are named on a public page |
| DMS fit you can verify | 25% | 0–5 | The page names DMS families or describes a read or write path |
| Price transparency and first-year cost | 20% | 0–5 | List prices are published, or a written quote path is named |
| Implementation and support load | 15% | 0–5 | Rollout steps and the party doing the work are stated |
| Fit with loaner, inspection or payment add-ons | 15% | 0–5 | The tool covers an add-on your store already uses |
Where a vendor page makes a claim, such as a rollout time or a DMS coverage percentage, we label it as that vendor's claim.
Feature matrix: what each page states
"Yes" means the vendor's public page names the feature. "Not described" means the page we opened does not describe it, which does not prove the product lacks it.
| Vendor | Customer texts | Check-in or lane tools | Digital inspection | Loaner or fleet | DMS named on page | Price on page |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| myKaarma | Yes | Mobile Check In | Yes, video MPI | Yes, ServiceDRIVE | Not named | Quote-based |
| Numa | Yes, calls and texts | Not described | Not described | Not described | Not named | Quote-based |
| Kimoby | Yes, two-way | Yes, check-in to payment | Yes, on Pro | Yes, Go add-on | CDK, Reynolds and Reynolds, Tekion | Published |
| Xtime | Yes, reminders | Not described | Not described | Not described | Dealertrack DMS | Quote-based |
| Vehlo (TCC, Dealer Pay) | Yes, described as automated | Not described | Not described | Not described | Not named | Quote-based |
| TEXT2DRIVE | Yes, templates and automated messages | Not described | Yes, T2D MPI+ | Not described | Not named | Quote-based |
| Dealerware | Not described | Not described | Not described | Yes, loaner and rental | Not named | Quote-based |
The clearest lane-specific signal concerns photos. Advisor satisfaction score: 911 with photos, 880 without according to Digital Dealer (2024). In that J.D. Power study, customer satisfaction with the advisor was higher when photos or videos of the inspection were shared, so video inspection is worth asking about. A tool that does not show it on its page is not disqualified; ask the vendor directly.
Pricing: what is public and what is quote-based
Essential tier list price: $700 a month according to Kimoby (checked 2026), with the Pro tier at $1,600 a month, the Voice add-on at $600 a month for unlimited minutes, the Grow add-on at $300 a month with 10,000 text segments, and virtual onboarding listed at $2,000. Kimoby's page also lists on-site onboarding at $6,000 and in-person payment terminals at $499 per counter device.
| Vendor | Plan or tier | Published list price | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kimoby | Essential | $700 a month | Base platform, shown for up to 500 work orders a month |
| Kimoby | Pro | $1,600 a month | Adds linked-video inspection and DMS write-back |
| myKaarma | Platform | Quote-based | Pricing URL returned a 404 in our check |
| Numa | Platform | Quote-based | Site offers a demo request |
| Xtime | Scheduling | Quote-based | Personalized quote form |
| Vehlo | TCC and Dealer Pay | Quote-based | No public price found |
| TEXT2DRIVE | Platform | Quote-based | Schedule Demo and Contact Us only |
| Dealerware | Dealerware+ | Quote-based | Request a demo |
Pricing checked October 16, 2026. Quote-based means no public price appeared on the vendor page we opened, not that the vendor is hiding a price.
The table below is arithmetic on Kimoby's list prices for one year, not a quote.
| Line item | Monthly list | Months | First-year total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pro base | $1,600 | 12 | $19,200 |
| Voice add-on | $600 | 12 | $7,200 |
| Grow add-on | $300 | 12 | $3,600 |
| Virtual onboarding | Not stated | — | $2,000 |
| Total | — | — | $32,000 |
The $32,000 total excludes the loaner add-on, payment hardware and on-site onboarding. Kimoby's page does not say whether onboarding recurs, and it does not state prices for tiers above 500 work orders a month, so get both in writing.
Vendor profiles: fit, limits and rollout
Each profile separates what the vendor publishes from our read. Links go to the pages we opened.
Kimoby
Published: Service Lane OS is the required base. The Pro tier adds linked-video multipoint inspections, pulls OP codes and parts data, and writes approved work back to the DMS. The page names CDK, Reynolds and Reynolds, and Tekion as supported systems.
Best fit: a store that wants one repair-order flow from check-in through payment and runs one of the named DMS families.
Limits: video inspection and DMS write-back sit in the higher tier, so the base price understates a Pro-level workflow. Onboarding is priced separately.
Evidence: Kimoby pricing
Numa
Published: Numa's service lane product answers calls and texts, books appointments, flags at-risk customers, follows up on open repair orders and drafts advisor replies. Its modules include Voice AI, Smart Inbox, LiveCSI and a Service Advisor Agent, and it connects to the DMS, scheduler and CRM. The page publishes no prices.
Implementation: Numa's homepage says most dealerships go live in 2–3 weeks, with a dedicated team handling DMS integration, phone configuration and team training (vendor claim).
Limits: the page names no DMS families, and its performance claims are the vendor's own.
Best fit: a store whose main problem is missed calls and advisor follow-up.
myKaarma
Published: the homepage lists Mobile Check In, communications with an inbound hub and ServiceConnect outbound outreach, video MPI and tech video, ServiceDRIVE loaner management, declined-service follow-up, and payment requests by text and email. The page does not name DMS vendors and links to API documentation.
Best fit: a lane that wants video inspection and loaner management from one vendor.
Limits: no DMS is named on the page, and the pricing URL we tried returned a 404 in this check, so ask for terms directly. The Dealerware integration is described as planned rather than finished.
Evidence: myKaarma's Dealerware integration release
Xtime
Published: Xtime's scheduling page describes 24/7 online and mobile booking with real-time availability, service menus tied to pricing and promotions, technician-hour and shop-slot capacity tools, automatic text and email reminders, and photo or video upload at booking. It names Dealertrack DMS, VinSolutions CRM and Dealer.com, and says setup and training are handled on-site by its team.
Best fit: a store whose main gap is online booking and reminders on a Dealertrack or VinSolutions stack.
Limits: the schedule page does not describe check-in or digital inspection, and a self check-in option appears only in an add-on list. Pricing is quote-based.
Vehlo (Total Customer Connect and Dealer Pay)
Published: Vehlo's release, reprinted by 01net, describes Total Customer Connect as marketing, CRM and retention tools for the service lane, and Dealer Pay as a payment platform that captures transactions in the lane, with DMS integration for payment processing and reconciliation. Both were set for their first showing at the NADA Show, February 3–6, 2026, according to 01net (2026).
Best fit: a dealer group already on Vehlo's platform that wants payment and retention in one vendor.
Limits: Vehlo acquired both products in 2025 and first showed them in 2026. The sources we opened give no public price, no availability detail and no DMS names. Vehlo's own site lists Service Lane eAdvisor, TEXT2DRIVE and Dealerlogix in the same service-lane group, with no prices, and TEXT2DRIVE is a Vehlo product rather than a rival, so this is a suite decision.
TEXT2DRIVE
Published: TEXT2DRIVE's site describes customizable text templates and automated messages, service reminders, lease-expiration and recall notifications, video tools, multipoint inspections (T2D MPI+) and Speed Checkout mobile bill payment. It names no DMS, and its footer pricing item leads nowhere.
Best fit: a store that wants texting, reminders and mobile checkout in one tool, once the DMS question is answered in writing.
Limits: no DMS is named, no prices are published, and the messaging focus is general rather than lane-specific. We could open only the site's home page, so this is the thinnest profile here.
Dealerware
Published: Dealerware+ runs rental, courtesy (loaner), valet, test-drive and subscription programs, with add-ons for tolls, connected-car GPS and geofencing, a drive-protection bundle and a rental booking site. The site publishes no prices and invites demo requests. The integration with myKaarma was announced on January 28, 2026, according to Auto Remarketing (2026). It is described as offering real-time loaner availability when booking service appointments, streamlined customer payments and a single point of contact for messaging.
Best fit: a store with a loaner or rental program that needs fleet visibility and may pair it with a lane messaging tool.
Limits: it manages loaner and rental fleets rather than lane messaging, so a store without a loaner program gets little from it.
Where a DIY stack fits, and where a managed design differs
Zapier, Make and n8n are the usual DIY route, and the subscription line is the smallest part of the cost. Pro tier at 750 tasks: $19.99 a month, annual billing according to Zapier (checked 2026), and the same page lists a Free tier at 100 tasks. n8n lists its Starter plan at €20 a month billed annually with 2.5K executions, and its Business plan as self-hosted only, according to n8n (checked 2026). Make's pricing page names its plan tiers but shows no monthly prices in the content we opened, so we do not quote a number for it.
These tools can support run histories, retries, error branches and audit evidence when configured. The buyer still designs and owns observability, idempotency (so a retried step does not text the same customer twice), escalation paths, access controls and ongoing maintenance, and none of that appears on a subscription line. US Tech Automations describes a managed model in which its team first maps the business's process end to end, then builds and supports the workflows. Its homepage lists Gmail, Google Calendar, Google Sheets, HubSpot, QuickBooks and Stripe, plus "and more," and it does not name a DMS connector, so the DMS question stays open.
Proposed US Tech Automations workflow 1, a configurable design and not a live deployment: the trigger is a new or changed appointment in Google Calendar, or a daily schedule export from the DMS placed in Google Sheets. The action drafts a reminder from an approved template, and a service advisor approves each batch before anything sends. The output is a HubSpot ticket that records the reminder and its status. Prerequisites are a confirmed DMS export or API path, written consent language for texts, an opt-out rule, and a named advisor who reviews batches.
Proposed US Tech Automations workflow 2, also a design to configure and test: the trigger is a repair order in the DMS export showing work authorized but not completed after a time the store sets. The action flags the open order to the advisor and drafts a follow-up for approval. The output is a HubSpot ticket with an escalation timestamp, and the service manager receives the item if nobody responds by the set time. The advisor still decides what to say, and the workflow does not approve estimates. The status field must appear in the export before this design works.
Four steps to pick a platform
Confirm the DMS and the data path. Ask each vendor which DMS it connects to, whether it reads appointments and repair orders, whether it writes back, and what your DMS provider must approve. Get those answers in writing from the five vendors whose pages name no DMS: myKaarma, Numa, Vehlo, TEXT2DRIVE and Dealerware.
Pick one workflow to prove first. Choose appointment reminders or lane status texts, the lowest-risk first step. Add check-in or payment only after the first workflow runs cleanly for a period the store sets; our service upsell automation piece covers the add-on side.
Price the first year, not the monthly line. Ask for onboarding, add-ons, text volume and payment hardware in one proposal, then compare it with the arithmetic in the pricing section.
Name the approver and the escalation owner. Write down who approves customer-facing messages and who receives an item that nobody answers, before you sign.
Worked example (illustrative, with assumed inputs, not a customer result): assume a store books 150 service appointments a week with a 10% no-show rate, so 15 slots go empty each week. Assume a reminder workflow recovers one in five of those visits, or 3 visits a week. At an assumed $200 average repair-order value, that is $600 a week, or $31,200 over 52 weeks. In HubSpot's ticket object, the hs_pipeline_stage property is where a tracking ticket would move from Reminded to Confirmed, according to HubSpot's ticket API reference. Your DMS would hold the authoritative appointment status, so the mapping between the two is a design task you must test.
Common mistakes buyers make
Comparing monthly list prices and ignoring onboarding, add-ons and text volume.
Accepting "DMS integration" without learning whether the tool reads, writes, or both.
Buying a loaner or payment module when the real gap is first contact after a missed call.
Turning on every workflow in week one, so no one can tell which change helped.
Sending automated texts before the consent language and opt-out rule are written.
Frequently asked questions
When NOT to use US Tech Automations: a store that only needs online booking and reminders from a scheduling tool such as Xtime should not commission a custom workflow for that alone. A store whose main gap is loaner availability is better served by a fleet tool such as Dealerware, which the proposed designs above would not replace. A store that wants a published rate card and a packaged lane suite should compare Kimoby first, because a managed design is scoped in a proposal rather than priced on a public page.
Do service lane tools need a DMS connection?
Yes, for appointment and repair-order data to stay current, so confirm which DMS each vendor supports before you compare features.
Which tool here publishes a price?
Kimoby is the only one of the seven that lists monthly prices on its public pricing page, and the other six are quote-based.
How long does rollout take?
Only Numa publishes a go-live claim, and the other six pages give no timeline, so ask each vendor for a dated plan that includes the DMS work.
Can a DIY stack replace a managed platform?
It can, for a team that owns the design, because Zapier, Make and n8n support run histories, retries and error branches when configured. Someone still has to own escalation, access controls and maintenance.
Should a store start with video inspection?
Not first. The J.D. Power figure above makes video worth pricing, but a reminder or status-text workflow is the lower-risk start.
Conclusion
A service lane platform makes sense when the DMS path is confirmed, one person owns message approvals, and the first workflow is clear. Start with reminders or status texts, price the first year in writing, and check each vendor's data plan before you sign. To see how an approval-gated workflow gets configured in practice, see how US Tech Automations configures this, and read the reminder workflow guide and the reminder comparison before you shortlist.
About the Author

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.