Smith.ai vs Ruby for Law Firms: Which Fits in 2027
Smith.ai and Ruby split on how your calls get answered
For most small firms, the real choice between these two is not a feature checklist. It is whether you want an AI-first intake line with a human fallback, or a live receptionist on most calls. Smith.ai sells AI-first, Hybrid and human-first options, and its human-first plans bill per call. Ruby is built around live virtual receptionists, bills by the minute, and its plans page says optional AI enhancements come at no extra cost. The cheaper option depends mostly on how many calls you take and how long they run, which the worked example below walks through.
On ownership, neither name points to a product that has been renamed, merged or discontinued in the pages I could read. Oregon Business reported on Ruby's 2015 sale this way: Ruby majority sale: $38.8 million according to Oregon Business (2015), with Updata Partners of Washington, D.C., buying most of the company's shares. I could not confirm Ruby's current parent company from a primary source, and aggregator profiles describe later transactions I could not verify. Smith.ai's about page returned a not-found error when I opened it, so I could not confirm its current owner either. Ask both vendors for their ownership in writing before you sign.
A virtual receptionist, in this context, is a remote person or AI system that answers a firm's calls, screens callers, and books or routes the consults worth taking.
TL;DR: Pick Ruby if you want a person on most calls and can accept minute-based billing with no published overage rate. Pick Smith.ai if you want per-call pricing you can read, an AI-first option, and a written Hybrid quote before you commit.
Key Takeaways
Smith.ai bills per call and Ruby bills per minute, so call length matters as much as call count when you forecast cost.
Smith.ai publishes prices for its human-first tiers and marks its Enterprise tier as quote-based. Its Hybrid tier has no published rate card.
Ruby publishes four minute-based plans, does not publish an overage rate on its plans page, and makes anything above its top published tier quote-based.
Smith.ai offers a money-back guarantee for new clients. Ruby's plans page lists no guarantee and no free trial.
Both vendors list Clio among their practice-management connections, so verify exactly what syncs (calls, contacts or matters) before you buy.
Reviews are thin. CloudTalk review score: 3.8 out of 5 for Smith.ai according to CloudTalk (2026), and CloudTalk sells a competing AI voice product.
How we evaluated these tools
We weighted six criteria by how much each one changes a small firm's monthly cost and intake quality. The weights are our judgment for this buyer, not a rating published by either vendor or a third party. Every factual point below comes from a public page we opened in this session.
| Criterion | Weight | Why it carries that weight |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing transparency | 20% | A price you can read before a sales call keeps the shortlist honest |
| Cost at your call volume | 20% | The bill should be forecastable when calls run long or stack up |
| Legal intake fit | 20% | Conflict checks, practice-area intake and consult booking decide whether calls become clients |
| Answering model | 15% | Human, AI or hybrid answering changes who handles escalations |
| Practice-management connection | 15% | Native links to Clio, MyCase or Lawmatics reduce re-keying |
| Contract and refund terms | 10% | Month-to-month terms and refund limits set what it costs to leave |
Feature matrix for intake
The matrix compares the features that show up in intake decisions. Cells say "not stated" where the pages I read were silent, which is different from saying a feature is missing.
| Feature | Smith.ai | Ruby |
|---|---|---|
| Default answering model | Human-first plans, plus AI-first and Hybrid options | Live virtual receptionists, with AI enhancements described as optional |
| Published overage rate | Yes, per extra call on each published plan | No, not on the plans page |
| Top-tier pricing | Enterprise is quote-based | Plans above the top published tier are quote-based |
| Hybrid or AI-first pricing | Hybrid is quote-based; AI-first figures not visible in my read | Not applicable |
| Conflict checks | Listed as a feature; add-on billed per call | Not stated on pages I read |
| Clio connection | Listed among native integrations | Described as a native integration |
| MyCase connection | Listed among native integrations | Listed as 8am MyCase |
| Zapier route | Listed as an integration route | Listed as Zapier-powered integrations |
| Call recording | Add-on billed per call; no retention period on its legal page | Not stated on pages I read |
| Money-back guarantee | Offered to new clients, with refund limits | None listed |
| Free trial | None listed | None listed |
| Contract terms | Not stated on pages I read; 10% discount for 12-month terms | Not stated on pages I read |
Our analysis: the matrix favors Smith.ai on disclosure, because more of its add-ons and refund terms appear on public pages. Ruby's integrations page is more specific about named connections, including Salesforce, HubSpot and Zoho, but it gives a buyer fewer public numbers to plan with.
What the published prices cover
Pricing checked October 25, 2026. Only figures printed on each vendor's pricing page appear in the table below.
| Vendor | Plan | Monthly price | Included volume | Extra-volume rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Smith.ai | Starter | $300 | 30 calls | $11.50 per extra call |
| Smith.ai | Basic | $810 | 90 calls | $10.50 per extra call |
| Smith.ai | Pro | $2,100 | 300 calls | $8.50 per extra call |
| Smith.ai | Enterprise | Quote-based | Custom | Custom |
| Smith.ai | Hybrid | Quote-based | Not published | Not published |
| Ruby | 50-minute plan | $250 | 50 minutes | Not published |
| Ruby | 100-minute plan | $395 | 100 minutes | Not published |
| Ruby | 200-minute plan | $720 | 200 minutes | Not published |
| Ruby | 500-minute plan | $1,725 | 500 minutes | Not published |
| Ruby | Above 500 minutes | Quote-based | Custom | Custom |
Smith.ai's pricing page, according to Smith.ai, lists conflict checks at $0.50 per call, call recording and transcription at $0.25 per call, a 10% discount for 12-month terms, and a money-back guarantee for new clients that refunds the plan and add-ons up to $1,000 but not overage.
Ruby's plans page, according to Ruby, says adding chat to a receptionist plan saves 20% on chat pricing, and that there are no additional or hidden fees for activation, onboarding or setup.
The AI-first and Hybrid tabs on Smith.ai's pricing page did not show figures in my read, so I have no AI-first price to report. The Hybrid "quote-based" label rests on the CloudTalk review cited in the takeaways.
Worked example: 40 calls a month
Take a firm that handles 40 calls a month, averaging 3 minutes each, or 120 minutes in total. On Smith.ai's Starter plan, the 30 included calls cost $300, the 10 extra calls at $11.50 each add $115, and conflict checks on all 40 calls at $0.50 each add $20, for $435 in total, according to Smith.ai. On Ruby, 120 minutes fits the 200-minute plan at $720, which leaves 80 minutes unused, while the 100-minute plan at $395 would push 20 minutes into overage that Ruby does not publish, according to Ruby. If the average call runs 6 minutes instead, the same 40 calls total 240 minutes, which breaks the 200-minute plan and leaves the overage cost unknown. On the intake side, a booked consult becomes a Clio matter through POST /api/v4/matters.json, which requires a client and a description, and Clio records open_date when the matter status changes to open, according to Clio.
| Vendor | Plan | Included volume | Your volume | Monthly cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Smith.ai | Starter with conflict checks | 30 calls | 40 calls | $435 |
| Ruby | 100-minute plan | 100 minutes | 120 minutes | $395 plus overage on 20 minutes (rate not published) |
| Ruby | 200-minute plan | 200 minutes | 120 minutes | $720 |
| Ruby | 200-minute plan at 6-minute calls | 200 minutes | 240 minutes | $720 plus overage on 40 minutes (rate not published) |
The table restates the example above. Ruby's 100-minute plan looks cheaper on paper, but the overage on its 20 extra minutes is unknown, so the true total is not known. Smith.ai's total is fixed by the published per-call rates you choose, which makes it easier to budget at this volume.
Vendor profiles
Smith.ai
Best fit: Firms that want an AI intake layer with a human escalation path, use Clio, MyCase or Lawmatics, and want conflict checks as a per-call add-on they can budget. Its legal page describes practice-specific legal intake, lists conflict checks as a feature, and names native integrations with MyCase, Clio, Lawmatics and Zapier.
Limitations: Per-call billing grows with volume, and add-ons stack up: conflict checks and call recording and transcription each carry their own charge. The Hybrid price is quote-based, AI-first figures were not visible in my read, and the legal page gives no retention period for call recordings.
Implementation: Start with the integration your practice-management system uses, then get the add-on list, Hybrid pricing and recording retention in writing. The worked example only holds if you quote the add-ons you actually plan to use.
Evidence: The pricing and legal pages cited above, plus the CloudTalk review, which concludes that Smith.ai is "worth it for a specific shape of business and expensive for everyone else."
Ruby
Best fit: Firms that want a live person on most calls, can estimate minutes from their phone logs, and want Clio treated as a native connection. Ruby's integrations page describes Clio and Grasshopper as native integrations, names 8am MyCase, and lists Zapier-powered integrations for other tools.
Limitations: Minute-based billing rises with call length, and the pricing page does not publish an overage rate. The plans page lists no trial or guarantee. The only independent rating I could open is thin: Clutch rating: 4.6 out of 5 from 7 reviews according to Clutch (2017–2020), and those reviews are several years old.
Implementation: Measure average call minutes for a full month before choosing a bundle. Ask for the overage rate in writing. Confirm whether the Clio sync creates contacts, notes or matters, since Ruby's integrations page describes sync in general terms.
Evidence: Ruby's plans and integrations pages, plus the Clutch reviews cited above.
Who this is for
Smith.ai fits a firm that wants per-call pricing it can budget, an AI-first option with a human fallback, and conflict checks as a line item. Red flags: the Hybrid price stays unpublished when you ask for it, your call volume makes per-call overage the largest line on the bill, or you cannot get call-recording retention in writing before go-live.
Ruby fits a firm that wants live receptionists on most calls and has measured its monthly minutes. Red flags: your calls regularly run past the plan you choose, with no published overage rate to plan around; you need a trial or guarantee in writing before you pay; or you cannot get a clear description of what the Clio sync writes before you buy.
A decision checklist before you sign
Pull the last full month of call counts and average call minutes from your phone system.
Price both options at that volume using the tables above, adding only the add-ons you will actually use.
Ask Ruby for its overage rate in writing, and ask Smith.ai for its Hybrid price in writing.
Confirm what the Clio or MyCase connection writes, whether contacts, notes or matters, on a test account before you go live.
Ask both vendors for their current owner and their call-recording retention period.
Check your state's rules on outsourced intake before any caller data flows to a third party.
Where automation fits beside a receptionist
The do-it-yourself route is stitching this together in Zapier, Make or n8n, or building it in-house. Those tools can keep run histories, retry failed steps, branch on errors and leave audit records when you configure them. The buyer still has to design and own idempotency so a retried call does not create two matters, escalation to a named person, access controls on client data, and maintenance whenever Clio or the phone vendor changes a field. A proposed US Tech Automations design would configure those same pieces differently, with a documented retry and escalation spec, scoped access, and an audit trail on each step, and with the prerequisites and review points named in the two workflows below.
A proposed US Tech Automations workflow for the intake handoff would work like this. The trigger is a receptionist-side export or webhook that marks a call as qualified with a practice area. The action creates a draft matter in Clio through POST /api/v4/matters.json, which requires a client object and a description, and places the draft in a conflict-check step. The output is a draft matter and a task for the responsible attorney, and Clio records open_date when someone moves the status to open. The prerequisites are a Clio API connection with write access to matters, and a receptionist-side export or Zapier connection that carries the caller's name, practice area and call summary. The human review points are a staff member who runs the conflict check before any draft is created, and an attorney who decides when the status moves to open.
A second proposed workflow handles calls that do not book. The trigger is a call the receptionist service records as unbooked or unresolved. The action queues a follow-up text or email but holds it for approval instead of sending it. The output is a logged task with a due date in the practice-management system. The prerequisites are a call-level export from the receptionist vendor and a Zapier or API connection on the firm's side, which both vendors name as a route. The human review point is an intake lead who approves each outbound message, because outreach to prospective clients carries professional-conduct limits that your state sets.
When NOT to use US Tech Automations
Skip a workflow build if a plain receptionist plan already covers what you need. A firm that only wants after-hours answering and a booking link gets that from the vendor's own plan without custom work. Skip it also if your practice-management system offers no API or export access, because there is nothing for a workflow to read or write. And skip it if you take only a handful of calls a month, where a single Zapier step covers the handoff and a custom build costs more than it saves.
Questions buyers ask before signing
Is Smith.ai cheaper than Ruby for a small firm?
Neither is cheaper in general; the answer depends on your call count and call length, and the two vendors bill in different units. The worked example shows the same month can favor either one depending on how long calls run.
Does Ruby integrate with Clio?
Yes, Ruby's integrations page describes Clio as a native integration. Confirm whether the sync creates contacts, notes or matters, because the page does not spell that out.
Does Smith.ai offer a free trial?
Not on its pricing page, which lists a money-back guarantee for new clients instead. Ask for the refund terms in writing before you sign.
Does Ruby offer a trial or guarantee?
Its plans page lists neither, so ask for the terms in writing before you commit.
Do I still need attorney supervision if I use an outside answering service?
Yes, supervising lawyers remain responsible for nonlawyer assistance under ABA Model Rule 5.3, and your state's version controls. I could not open the rule text in this session, so check the current wording before you rely on this.
Which one should I pick if most of my calls are short?
Compare Smith.ai's per-call plans against the smallest Ruby bundle that covers your average minutes, using your own call log. Short, predictable calls usually make per-call pricing easier to forecast.
The bottom line
Pick Ruby when a live person on most calls matters more than predictable pricing, and get its overage rate in writing first. Pick Smith.ai when you want per-call pricing you can read, an AI-first option, and a written Hybrid quote before you commit. Whichever you choose, the intake handoff into your case system is where most of the work sits, and see how US Tech Automations configures this for a Clio-based firm.
About the Author

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.