Skip to content
AI & Automation

Token Pass vs Netlify: which fits a small business

Oct 18, 2026

Token Pass and Netlify solve different problems

Vercel launched Token Pass on October 15, 2026, as an early-access subscription for Pro teams. The launch post gives the price and credit: Token Pass launch: $80 monthly credit according to Vercel (2026), covering GLM 5.3 and Kimi K3 for $30 per month.

The category decision comes before any feature comparison. Token Pass is not a hosting product. It is a prepaid-style model credit bundle that runs through Vercel's AI Gateway. Netlify is a deploy and hosting platform, and its AI Gateway is one metered feature drawn from the same credit pool that pays for deploys and bandwidth. If your question is where a website or app runs, Token Pass does not answer it. If your question is how to fix the monthly bill for model usage in coding agents, the real comparison is Token Pass against Netlify's AI Gateway, not Token Pass against Netlify as a whole.

A model credit bundle is a monthly subscription that pre-pays usage of named AI models, so the bill stays fixed until the credit runs out.

Checked October 17, 2026: the Token Pass fee, credit, featured models and eligibility were re-read against Vercel's Token Pass docs on that date.

TL;DR: Choose Token Pass if your team is on Vercel Pro or will move there, and your agents will use GLM 5.3 or Kimi K3. Choose Netlify if you need hosting first and want AI access to several providers on one metered credit pool.

Key Takeaways

  • Token Pass sells a fixed monthly credit for two featured models through AI Gateway. It does not host or deploy anything.

  • The fee is $30 per team per month, added to a Pro subscription, and the $80 credit expires at the end of each billing period.

  • Requests stop when the credit runs out, and there is no automatic overage, so production traffic needs a fallback key.

  • Netlify meters AI usage at 180 credits per $1, and its AI Gateway draws on the same credits as hosting and deploys.

  • Token Pass has zero data retention on by default. The Netlify AI pricing page reviewed for this guide does not address data retention.

  • Token Pass is in early access, and Vercel may change its featured models and providers at any time.

Who this is for

Token Pass fits a team that already runs on Vercel or can move to it, uses coding agents that connect to AI Gateway with an API key, and mainly needs GLM 5.3 or Kimi K3. Netlify fits a team that needs a hosting platform first, wants AI access to several providers on one meter, and can track a monthly credit balance.

Red flags: Token Pass is the wrong pick for Enterprise teams, which cannot subscribe, for Hobby teams that will not upgrade to Pro, and for production traffic that cannot stop when credit runs out. Netlify is the wrong pick if you need a fixed monthly price for two named models.

Your situationBetter fitWhy
You need a place to host the site or appNetlifyToken Pass does not host or deploy anything
You already pay for Vercel Pro and run coding agentsToken PassA fixed add-on covers two featured models
You want one budget across hosting and several AI providersNetlifyCredits cover deploys, bandwidth and AI at 180 credits per $1
Agents must keep working after the monthly budget endsNetlify with auto recharge, or Token Pass with a regular-key fallbackToken Pass requests fail at exhaustion; Netlify's Pro plan has an auto recharge option
You hold an Enterprise contractQuote-based talks with the vendorEnterprise teams cannot subscribe to Token Pass

What changes for a team already using AI Gateway

Before this launch, a team using AI Gateway with a regular API key paid AI Gateway credits at each provider's rate. Token Pass adds a second balance. The Token Pass docs say its credit has a separate balance and applies only to featured models served by a Token Pass provider. Everything else still bills to regular AI Gateway credits.

So the change is a fixed budget for two models, plus a switching step. When the Token Pass credit runs out, the agent has to move to a regular AI Gateway key and remove the token-pass routing. The docs also say that a provider order alone does not switch keys, so failover needs the application to catch the failed request and retry it with the regular key.

For Netlify, nothing new launched in the sources reviewed. What changed recently is model pricing inside the AI Gateway, covered in the signal section below.

How we evaluated these tools

This guide weights seven criteria by how much each one changes a small team's decision. The weights are editorial judgment, not a vendor metric. Where a vendor page is silent on a criterion, the matrix says so instead of scoring it.

CriterionWeightWhy it carries that weight
Job fit: hosting versus model access25%Decides whether the tool solves the problem at all
Monthly cost at a stated baseline20%Fixed fees are easier to budget than metered credits
Model coverage15%Token Pass covers two featured models; Netlify's AI page lists more
Data handling15%Retention and training rules matter for client code and data
Behavior when credit runs out10%Decides whether production traffic keeps running
Seat and member rules10%Per-seat fees can outrun the plan price
Maturity and change risk5%Early access and provider changes raise planning risk

Side-by-side feature matrix

FeatureToken Pass on VercelNetlify
Primary jobFixed credit for featured models through AI GatewayHosting and deploys, with AI Gateway metered in the same credits
Models named in sourcesmoonshotai/kimi-k3 and zai/glm-5.3Examples on Netlify's AI page: claude-sonnet-4-6, gpt-5.5, gemini-2.5-flash
Monthly fee$30 per team, added to Pro$0, $9, or from $20, by plan
Allowance$80 credit per billing period300, 1,000 or 3,000 credits by plan
Usage unitDollars of featured-model usage180 credits per $1 of AI usage
Data retentionZero data retention on by default; prompts not used for trainingThe AI pricing page does not address data retention
Unused allowanceExpires at end of billing period; no rolloverThe 15,000-credit Pro option includes rollover credits; other plans not stated on the page reviewed
Out-of-credit behaviorRequests fail until next period; no overage chargesPlan credits continue; add-on credit packs exist, prices not on the page reviewed
EligibilityPro teams only; Enterprise cannot subscribeAll plans, Enterprise on custom terms
SeatsDeveloper seat listed at $20 per month on Vercel's pricing pagePro includes unlimited team owners and members
MaturityEarly access, limited spots, featured list may changeCredit-based plans page last updated September 1, 2026

The matrix uses only what the vendor pages and docs state. Netlify's model names are examples from its AI pricing page, not a full catalog. Per-token rates for Token Pass models are not stated in the pages reviewed.

Pricing and total cost of ownership

Token Pass add-on: $30 per team monthly according to Vercel (2026), and the docs state that the fee is added to the Pro subscription. The same docs say Enterprise teams cannot subscribe.

Netlify credit rate: 180 credits per $1 according to Netlify (2026), and the same page applies that rate to both Agent Runners and AI Gateway. The plan prices sit on Netlify's pricing page: Netlify Personal plan: $9 monthly according to Netlify (2026), with the Pro plan starting at $20 per month.

VendorPlanMonthly priceIncluded allowanceSeat or member ruleSource
VercelPro team plan$20 per month$20 usage creditDeveloper seat row lists $20 per monthVercel pricing
VercelToken Pass add-on$30 per team per month$80 credit per billing periodShared across the teamToken Pass docs
VercelEnterpriseQuote-basedToken Pass not availableQuote-basedVercel pricing
NetlifyFree$0 per month300 credits per month1 team ownerNetlify pricing
NetlifyPersonal$9 per month1,000 credits per month1 team ownerNetlify pricing
NetlifyProStarts at $20 per month3,000 credits per month, auto recharge optionUnlimited team owners and membersCredit-based plans
NetlifyPro, 15,000-credit option$95 per month15,000 credits per monthSame as ProCredit-based plans
NetlifyEnterpriseQuote-basedQuote-basedQuote-basedNetlify pricing

Vercel's pricing page lists the Pro plan at $20 per month and a Developer seat at $20 per month, but it does not spell out how the two combine on a team bill. The real total therefore depends on seat count, and it should be checked on an invoice preview before buying. Netlify's Pro plan includes unlimited members, so seats are not a separate line there. Bandwidth and compute draw down the same credits on Netlify, which is why the credit allowance is not the same as the amount of model usage you get.

A worked example at $80 of monthly model usage

Take a team that wants $80 of monthly model usage for coding agents, with GLM 5.3 as the main model. On Token Pass, the team pays $30 per team each month on top of its Pro subscription and gets $80 of credit for zai/glm-5.3 and Kimi K3. If the team uses only $40 of the $80, it has paid $30 for $40 of usage, which is $0.75 per dollar, and the rest expires at the end of the period. On Netlify, the same $80 of model usage costs 14,400 credits, because $80 × 180 = 14,400. That is more than the 3,000 credits in the plan that starts at $20 per month, so the team would need the 15,000-credit option at $95 per month. That option yields 15,000 ÷ 180 = $83.33 of AI usage, and the same credits also pay for deploys, bandwidth and compute. Netlify's AI pricing page does list z-ai/glm-5.3 and moonshotai/kimi-k3 through OpenRouter at its own per-token rates, and Token Pass per-token rates are not stated, so this compares dollars of usage, not identical pricing. The Vercel side still needs the seat check described in the pricing section. For how token use differs between model generations, see GPT-6 Astra vs 5 Sol token efficiency.

Netlify planCredits per monthCredits per 1 dollar of AI usageAI usage covered if all credits go to models (USD)
Free3001801.67
Personal1,0001805.56
Pro3,00018016.67
Pro, 15,000-credit option15,00018083.33

Vendor profiles: best fit, limits and setup

Token Pass on Vercel

Best fit: a team on Vercel Pro that runs coding agents against GLM 5.3 or Kimi K3 and wants a fixed monthly cap on that spend. Setup is short. A team owner subscribes from the Token Pass tab in AI Gateway, creates a Token Pass API key, connects the agent, and selects one of the two featured models. The docs say the Token Pass key works only with featured models, so every other model needs a regular AI Gateway key.

Limits: unused credit expires at the end of each billing period, requests fail when credit runs out, and there is no overage. Vercel can change the featured models and providers at any time, and it currently serves these models through Wafer, a non-Vercel service under Wafer's terms. The terms also let Vercel cancel the product, and remove unused credit without refund, if it believes the service is being misused. Enterprise teams cannot subscribe.

Proposed, configurable workflow for a credit alert, not a live deployment: the trigger is a daily check that compares Token Pass usage with the $80 credit and fires when usage passes an alert threshold your team sets, such as 75 percent. The action pulls usage from a source your team supplies, because the Token Pass docs describe the balance and expiry but do not describe a usage export, and then posts to a Slack channel with the percentage used and the agents sending Token Pass requests. The output is one alert per threshold crossing, plus the billing period end date. Prerequisites: a usage source you confirm with Vercel, a Slack channel with a named owner, and a list of which agents hold which keys. For the Slack side of the alert, see connecting monday.com to Slack.

The second configurable step handles exhaustion. When a Token Pass request fails because the credit is gone, the workflow records the failing agent and the error text, opens a ticket for the owner, and holds any change. The switch to a regular key stays manual by design. Human review sits there because a regular key bills AI Gateway credits at provider rates, so the owner has to confirm the account has enough credits before the switch. US Tech Automations could configure the alert and ticket steps, but the key change stays with the team that owns the code.

Netlify

Best fit: a team that needs hosting and deploys and wants AI access on the same platform account. Netlify's AI Gateway has no separate credit pool. It uses the credits in the team's plan plus any add-on credits, and each request is converted at 180 credits per $1 of model usage. The AI pricing page lists per-model rates for models such as claude-sonnet-4-6, gpt-5.5 and gemini-2.5-flash, and a public provider list is available as JSON from the Netlify API.

Limits: the AI Credit Usage Limit applies to Agent Runners on credit-based plans, not to AI Gateway, so a team that wants a hard stop on model spend cannot rely on that setting alone. The AI pricing page reviewed for this guide does not address data retention, so check Netlify's terms before sending client data. Model rates also change, as the signal section below shows.

Implementation: check the monthly credit allowance against expected token use before turning on AI Gateway, and review auto recharge only after estimating the credit cost of the heavier models. Because deploys, bandwidth and compute draw the same balance, the owner should review credit burn each month rather than only watching model spend.

Signal vs Speculation

Reported early-access cap: 500 Pro teams according to RuntimeWire (2026). RuntimeWire attributes this cap to a Vercel developer post on X, and says the changelog confirms the price and credit but does not list the cap.

Netlify repriced routed models: August 26, 2026 according to UsagePricing (2026). The tracker reports that several OpenRouter-routed models changed price while Netlify's plan prices stayed flat. It bases this on screenshots of Netlify's docs, not on a Netlify announcement.

Third-party guidance on Netlify is positive for small teams. Layer3Labs (last updated October 7, 2026) says "For most frontend developers and small teams, yes." That guide relies on documentation rather than hands-on testing, and it discloses that it is reader-supported and may earn affiliate commissions.

Signals stated by the vendors:

  • Launch on October 15, 2026, in early access for Pro teams, with inference in the US and EU and zero data retention on by default.

  • Token Pass credit covers only Kimi K3 and GLM 5.3, and Enterprise teams cannot subscribe.

  • Vercel may end Token Pass at any time with a pro-rata refund of that month's fee.

  • Netlify's AI Credit Usage Limit does not cap AI Gateway usage on credit-based plans.

Not published by the vendor in the pages reviewed: per-token rates for Token Pass models, latency or throughput figures, uptime commitments for Token Pass, and the number of early-access spots.

Our read, which is opinion:

  • The $30 fee beats paying list price once the team uses more than $30 of the $80 credit, if the credit is valued at list rates. Spending $40 works out to $0.75 per dollar of usage, and the rest expires.

  • Token Pass is a budget tool for two models, not a platform decision. Choosing it does not change where your app is hosted.

  • Netlify's credits cover more models and services, but they are harder to forecast, because the same dollar of usage moves with model repricing and with deploy and bandwidth activity.

Common mistakes to avoid

  • Buying Token Pass to replace hosting. It is a model budget, not a platform.

  • Forgetting that unused credit expires at the end of the period. The $30 is spent whether or not the $80 is used.

  • Putting production traffic on a Token Pass key with no fallback, so requests fail the moment the credit runs out.

  • Comparing Netlify credits with dollars of model usage without counting deploys and bandwidth, which draw from the same balance.

  • Assuming Token Pass covers every agent model. It covers only the two featured models.

  • Treating early-access terms as stable. Featured models and providers can change.

Stitching it together in Zapier, Make, or n8n

Zapier, Make and n8n are the usual do-it-yourself route for a team that wants this kind of alert. When configured, each can keep run histories, retry failed steps, branch on errors and write audit evidence. A team that builds on them still owns the design: observability, idempotency so a retried step does not post the same alert twice, escalation when no one answers, access controls on the API keys, and maintenance when a model or endpoint changes. US Tech Automations would configure the same trigger, alert and review steps as a configurable flow, with prerequisites named up front: a usage source, Slack access, a named owner for each review point, and a rule for who may change a key. The honest trade-off is where the work sits, not whether it can be done. If your team already runs one of those tools well, keep it and add the two steps described above.

Questions buyers ask

US Tech Automations is the wrong choice in three cases. If the only question is a monthly number, a scheduled manual check of the billing view may be enough. If the team runs one agent on one model and no one needs an alert, the extra layer adds a system to maintain for little return. If the usage data is sensitive enough that an extra connection to Slack or a ticketing system is a problem, keep the check manual.

Does Token Pass replace Netlify?

No. Token Pass sells monthly credit for two featured models through AI Gateway, and the sources reviewed do not describe hosting, deploys or site builds, so it cannot replace Netlify's hosting role.

Can a Netlify-hosted app use a Token Pass key?

Possibly, but the docs do not cover it. They describe any agent or app that connects to AI Gateway with an API key, and they describe deployed apps on Vercel, so test it in a staging environment first and remember that the subscription itself requires a Vercel Pro team.

What happens when Token Pass credit runs out?

Requests made with the Token Pass key fail until the next billing period begins, and Vercel charges no automatic overage. Production traffic therefore needs a regular AI Gateway key as a fallback.

Does Netlify's AI Credit Usage Limit cap AI Gateway spend?

No. On credit-based plans, the AI Credit Usage Limit applies only to Agent Runners, and the docs say it does not affect AI Gateway usage; on Enterprise plans it also counts AI Gateway usage.

Is Token Pass data handled differently from Netlify's AI usage?

Token Pass has zero data retention on by default, and its prompts are not used for training. The Netlify AI pricing page reviewed for this guide does not address data retention, so check Netlify's terms before sending client data.

Which models does Netlify's AI Gateway list?

Netlify's AI pricing page lists models such as claude-sonnet-4-6, gpt-5.5 and gemini-2.5-flash, billed per token and converted at 180 credits per $1 of model usage.

Our conclusion for a small team

If you need a place to host, Netlify is the answer, and Token Pass is not an alternative to it. If you need a fixed monthly budget for GLM 5.3 or Kimi K3 in coding agents, Token Pass is the only one of the two that sells model usage as a fixed fee. It works only for a Vercel Pro team, covers two models, and expires unused credit. Before you buy, check the seat math on a Vercel invoice preview, write the fallback for credit exhaustion, and re-check Netlify's per-model rates before you set a budget. For another look at model costs, see GPT-5.6 Sol alternatives after the Astra launch. For a monitoring layer around either choice, see how our workflow monitoring approach configures this.

About the Author

Garrett Mullins
Garrett Mullins
Workflow Specialist

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.