Skip to content
AI & Automation

Vet practice invoicing system: 7 clear steps for 2026

Oct 15, 2026

The choice in one line

A vet practice invoicing system is the place a small clinic turns a visit into a bill and takes payment, and the practical pick is the product that builds that bill from the medical record and prints a price you can read before a sales call. Six products still sold for that job are ezyVet, Digitail, Shepherd, DaySmart Vet, Provet Cloud, and NaVetor. Two of them print a simple monthly start, one prints a user ladder, one prints a platform fee plus a per-vet line, and two leave the dollar amount for a sales conversation. That split matters more than a feature slogan, because this reader is close to choosing. A wider pass over clinic billing tools sits in billing and invoicing software for veterinary clinics, and a narrower pass over the invoice itself sits in invoicing software for veterinary clinics. This page stays on the checkout decision.

TL;DR: choose the system whose public price matches how the vendor counts people, confirm the invoice is created from the visit, and treat a missing dollar figure as quote-based. Skipped or declined care: 52% of owners according to Gallup (2025), in a survey of 2,498 U.S. dog and cat owners, among whom 71% of those who skipped or declined cited cost, 23% had ever been offered a payment plan, and 66% said they could pay $1,000 or less for lifesaving treatment. The invoice is where that cost conversation becomes a number the client can accept, split, or refuse. Corporate share of primary care: 25% according to AAHA (2026), which reports a 2025 Frontiers in Veterinary Science study also putting corporate and private-equity ownership at 75% of specialty and emergency practices and at 50% of nationwide veterinary revenues. Independent clinics are still most of primary care, and they are the buyer this comparison is written for.

Key Takeaways

  • The buying choice is which system creates the client bill from the visit and shows a price on its own page, not which brand has the longest feature list.

  • ezyVet, DaySmart Vet, NaVetor, and Provet Cloud print dollar figures. Digitail and Shepherd are quote-based on the pages reviewed here.

  • Provet Cloud prints two Core lines, a platform fee and a per-vet amount. Do not add them into a total the page does not print.

  • NaVetor can be $0 a month only on the Patterson Pay path, and that path depends on transaction volume.

  • A handoff that changes a balance needs a person in the loop. An export or a read API is a prerequisite, not a nice extra.

  • Payment-plan offers are uneven in the Gallup surveys above, so the invoice screen should make the offer easy to see before the client leaves.

Who this is for

This comparison is for an owner or an operations lead at a small veterinary business who is about to pick the system that invoices the visit. You already know you need scheduling, a record, and a bill. You are deciding whether those live in one product, what the public price actually covers, and what has to be true before any outside workflow touches a balance. It also fits a bookkeeper who receives a file after checkout and needs the invoice, the client, and the payment to match.

Red flags: you need a brand-new medical record system but cannot export invoices or grant a read-only connection; you will not let a person approve an exception before it changes what a client owes; you already finish the invoice, the card payment, and the reminder inside one screen and only wanted a second look at price.

If the red-flag line is you, stay in the product you have and use the seven steps at the end only as a checklist for the renewal conversation. If you are comparing cloud practice systems in another clinical field, the same shape of question shows up in cloud dental practice systems. Veterinary wellness plans are a closer cousin to recurring in-house plans than they are to a generic accounting file, which is why the dental membership note in in-house plan platforms is useful as a contrast, not as a substitute.

How we evaluated these six systems

The weights below are the job this buyer is hiring the software to do. They are not a lab score, and no vendor receives a made-up grade. A point of weight means the public page had to answer that question before the product could be compared on the same day. Charge capture is heaviest because a line that never leaves the record never reaches the client. A readable price is next because a quote-only page cannot be put beside a printed start without a phone call. The export question matters because the bookkeeper, the accountant, or a later handoff has to read the invoice without retyping it. Staff pricing matters because a per-vet fee and a per-user fee are different bills. A printed move-in window matters because a clinic that is open six days a week cannot treat "we will be in touch" as a schedule.

CriterionWeightPoints of 100Why this weight
Charge capture from the visit25%25The bill should come from the record
Payment at checkout20%20Card, online pay, or a plan offer in the same system
A price a stranger can read20%20A posted dollar figure can be compared today
Export or API for the books15%15Someone outside the exam room must read the invoice
Staff priced in public10%10Per-vet, per-user, or a flat start, stated on the page
Move-in window stated10%10Weeks or an onboarding period the vendor prints

Anything the vendor does not print stays "Not stated" or "Quote-based" in the tables. Review-site prices were not used. A feature is listed only when the vendor's own page, opened for this comparison, names it.

The invoice screen, side by side

Read this grid as a record of what each vendor prints, not as a ranking. "Listed" means the page names the capability. "Not stated" means that page did not name it. A blank is not a no.

CapabilityezyVetDigitailShepherdDaySmart VetProvet CloudNaVetor
Client bill named on the pageInvoicing listedInvoicing listedInvoice listedPayments listedClient invoicing listedCharge capture and payments listed
Card or online paymentNot stated on the pricing pageListedShepherd Pay listedIntegrated payments listedListed, Provet Pay at $0 monthlyPayment integrations listed
Charge capture from the recordNot stated on the pricing pageVoice-to-invoice on the Growth AI planListedNot stated on the pricing pageAuto-charge capture listedListed
Public invoice API or open APIBilling spec publishedOpen API listedNot stated on the page reviewedNot stated on the pricing pageOpen REST API listedNot stated on the pricing page
Wellness or health planNot stated on the pricing pageWellness plans listedNot stated on the page reviewedNot stated on the pricing pageHealth plans listedNot stated on the pricing page
Dollar amount on the vendor pagePrinted startQuote-basedQuote-basedPrinted startPrinted platform and per-vet linesPrinted ladder, plus a conditional $0 path

ezyVet's pricing page says every practice size gets all features and the latest updates, with more pricing, including corporate groups, available on request. Digitail splits Mobile, Growth, Growth AI, and Enterprise. Growth AI is the plan that names voice-to-invoice. Shepherd's general-practice page ties the SOAP note to the estimate, the treatment plan, and the invoice, and it includes Shepherd Pay, two-way texting, reminders, a client portal, and digital forms. ShepherdAI is optional. DaySmart Vet's pricing page bundles payments, reminders, records, and the PetCare app, and it treats Daisy Voice as an add-on. Provet Cloud lists client invoicing, auto-charge capture, and an open REST API on Core, Pro, and Enterprise. NaVetor says every paid band includes every feature, including treatment plans and charge capture.

The analysis, kept separate from that grid: a small clinic that loses lines between the exam and the front desk should favor the rows where charge capture is listed, which on these pages means Shepherd, Provet Cloud, NaVetor, and Digitail's Growth AI plan. A clinic that must show a finance person the invoice the same day should favor a printed API, which on these pages means ezyVet, Digitail, and Provet Cloud. A clinic that will not book a sales meeting before it sees a dollar should drop Digitail and Shepherd from the first pass and keep them for a second pass only if the feature fit is otherwise strong.

Plain words for the front desk

Invoice: the client bill for a visit, a product, or a plan. Estimate: a price quoted before the work is finished. Charge capture: the step that copies a service from the record onto that bill. Consult: the visit record the bill should point back to. Platform fee: a base subscription that may already include one veterinarian. Per-vet line: an added amount for each veterinarian, printed separately from the platform fee. Wellness plan: a bundle of preventive care billed on a schedule. Quote-based: the vendor's own pricing page does not print a dollar amount.

Those words are the whole argument. If the estimate, the consult, and the invoice are three piles of paper, the clinic will miss lines and will also struggle to explain cost before the client decides. Gallup's owner survey, cited above, is the demand side of that problem. The systems on this page are the supply side.

List price against a 12-month multiple

Pricing checked October 15, 2026. The next table copies dollar amounts from each vendor's own pricing page. Quote-based means that page did not print a dollar amount. The 12-month column is 12 times the monthly figure. It is arithmetic on the printed number. It leaves out card fees, taxes, add-ons, and any amount a sales conversation adds later. Provet Cloud's per-vet lines and the Clinical Agent add-on are not full practice subscriptions. NaVetor's $0 path is conditional.

VendorPlanMonthly listMonths multiplied12-month list
ezyVetPublished start$260.5012$3,126
DaySmart VetPublished start$12312$1,476
NaVetorSolo Practice$20012$2,400
NaVetorGrowing Practice$30012$3,600
NaVetorMid-Size Clinic$35012$4,200
NaVetorLarge Practice$40012$4,800
NaVetorEnterprise start$55012$6,600
NaVetorPatterson Pay path$012$0
Provet CloudCore platform fee$24912$2,988
Provet CloudCore per-vet line$9912$1,188
Provet CloudPro platform fee$29912$3,588
Provet CloudPro per-vet line$12912$1,548
Provet CloudClinical Agent add-on, per seat$4012$480
DigitailNot itemizedQuote-basedn/aQuote-based
ShepherdNot itemizedQuote-basedn/aQuote-based

The gap table uses only full published starts and Provet Cloud's platform fees. DaySmart Vet's 12-month start is the baseline because it is the lowest unconditional monthly start in the first table. A gap of $0 is that baseline. A Provet Cloud gap is the platform fee alone. The page also prints a per-vet line, so a multi-vet Provet Cloud bill is not the platform fee by itself.

VendorPlan12-month listGap versus $1,476
ezyVetPublished start$3,126$1,650
DaySmart VetPublished start$1,476$0
NaVetorSolo Practice$2,400$924
NaVetorGrowing Practice$3,600$2,124
NaVetorMid-Size Clinic$4,200$2,724
NaVetorLarge Practice$4,800$3,324
Provet CloudCore platform fee, includes 1 vet$2,988$1,512
Provet CloudPro platform fee, includes 1 vet$3,588$2,112

Start price: $260.50 per month according to ezyVet (2026), and the same page says the product includes 100+ integrations, with further pricing on request. Listed start: $123 per month according to DaySmart Vet (2026), and the same page says the product is trusted by 2,500+ veterinary practices. Solo list price: $200 per month according to NaVetor (2026), and the same page lists $300, $350, $400, and a $550 start for larger bands, plus a $0 software fee when Patterson Pay volume qualifies. Core platform fee: $249 per month according to Provet (2026), and that page also lists $99 per vet per month on Core, a Pro platform fee of $299 per month that includes 1 vet, $129 per vet per month on Pro, a Clinical Agent add-on at $40 per seat per month, 3,000+ practices, and 150+ integrations.

The price table does not include the handoff after the invoice exists. When an invoice is marked approved in the practice system, a proposed configurable workflow from US Tech Automations can take that approval as the trigger, pull the invoice through a scheduled export or a read connection, and write an exception list of lines that do not match the treatment record. The output is a review queue. A person accepts or rejects each line before any adjustment goes back. Prerequisites are a credential or a file export, a written map of fields, and that human review. This is a design you could configure. It is not a claim that a clinic is running it, and it does not promise recovered revenue.

Where each system fits

ezyVet fits a clinic that wants one cloud system for the record, inventory, invoicing, and diagnostic ordering, and that is willing to start from a single printed figure while the rest of the quote stays with the vendor. The pricing page ties support and in-house or reference-lab diagnostics to IDEXX. The limit is the missing public ladder: a growing team cannot see, on that page, how the $260.50 start changes with headcount. Training cost and data-conversion cost are questions on the page, not answers. Move-in detail is not printed there. Choose ezyVet when IDEXX diagnostics are already the lab path and a sales quote is acceptable for everything past the start. Skip it for a first-pass budget if you need every seat priced in public. The billing specification is the public evidence that invoices can be read by an outside tool, which is a separate fact from the monthly start.

Digitail fits a clinic that wants records, scheduling, inventory, invoicing, payments, wellness plans, and a pet-parent app discussed as one suite, with an open API on the plans page. Mobile is the lighter plan, Growth adds the hospital tools, Growth AI adds the assistant features including voice-to-invoice, and Enterprise is the multi-site conversation. In-house data migration, one-to-one onboarding, and 24/7 support are listed for the plans. The limit is price: the plans page does not print a dollar amount, so Digitail is quote-based. Texting is marked as an add-on on the comparison, and some payment options say usage fees apply without printing those fees. Choose Digitail when the suite fit is the priority and you will take a quote. Skip it when you refuse to talk to sales before you see a number. Digitail's plans page is the primary evidence for the plan names and for the absence of a printed price.

Shepherd fits a general practice that wants the invoice to follow the SOAP note and wants texting, a portal, forms, and Shepherd Pay included rather than bolted on. Charges on the invoice: 96.2% according to Shepherd (2026), and the same page puts historical-record migration at 8 to 10 weeks, or 4 to 6 weeks when history is not moved. Pricing is discussed in a sales conversation, so Shepherd is quote-based. ShepherdAI costs extra. A public invoice API was not on the page reviewed. Choose Shepherd when charge capture and a stated migration window matter more than a printed subscription. Skip it if you need a dollar figure this week, or if an 8 to 10 week history move is longer than you can run two systems. The general-practice page is the primary evidence.

DaySmart Vet fits a small clinic that wants a cloud start with a printed entry price, payments, reminders, and a client app, and that wants data migration described as free and an exit export described as free. The pricing page does not itemize the higher bands, so a larger team still has to ask. Daisy Voice is an add-on, not part of the start. The page does not state a charge-capture promise in the same plain way Shepherd and Provet Cloud do. Since 2011 is the history the page claims, beside the 2,500+ practice figure in the citation above. Choose DaySmart Vet when the printed start and the free-migration sentence are the decision. Skip it if you need the full ladder on a web page before you will talk, or if charge capture from the record is the feature you will not compromise. The pricing page is the primary evidence.

Provet Cloud fits a clinic that will budget a platform fee plus veterinarians, and that wants non-veterinarian staff included at no extra software fee on the Core description. Core is the single-site set. Pro adds the referral portal, multi-location management, a triage board, and a named customer-success contact. Enterprise is custom, with single sign-on and a service-level agreement named on the page. Open REST API, auto-charge capture, and health plans are on the paid tiers. Provet Pay is listed at $0 a month plus a share of revenue. The Clinical Agent dictation add-on is $40 per seat per month, not a substitute for the platform fee. The limit is the two-line price: confirm in writing how the platform fee and the per-vet line combine before you sign. Choose Provet Cloud when you want the API and the invoicing module on a page that also shows dollars. Skip it if you wanted one flat number for the whole team with no per-vet line. The pricing page is the primary evidence.

NaVetor fits a clinic that wants every feature in every band and a price that steps up with user count, from the solo band through the large band, with enterprise custom from the printed start. The page says there is no contract, and it includes free data conversion, free training, and 90-day onboarding support. The $0 path is real on the page and also conditional: Patterson Pay volume has to qualify, and the page tells you to ask a Patterson representative. Above 30 users the number is no longer a fixed band. A public invoice API was not on the pricing page. Choose NaVetor when a user-band price and a short onboarding promise are what you can hold the vendor to. Skip the $0 story until someone confirms your card volume in writing. The pricing page is the primary evidence.

Cost limit on care: 94% of veterinarians according to Gallup (2026), from a survey of 933 U.S. companion-animal veterinarians fielded from September 9 to October 5, 2025, of whom 19% said they always offer a payment plan and 22% said they often do. Whichever system you pick, the invoice is the moment that offer either appears or does not. A system that can store a card and send a pay link still needs a person who decides when a plan is appropriate. That is a policy choice, not a software trophy.

Arithmetic for one published gap

An illustrative year for a one-veterinarian clinic, using only published list prices, sets ezyVet's start at $260.50 per month, or $3,126 over 12 months because $260.50 times 12 is $3,126, according to ezyVet (2026), against DaySmart Vet's start at $123 per month, or $1,476 over 12 months because $123 times 12 is $1,476, according to DaySmart Vet (2026), and the list gap is $1,650 because $3,126 minus $1,476 is $1,650. A proposed review, not a live deployment and not a measured result, reads the ezyVet invoice field contact_id from the billing specification, groups that day's open invoices by that client id, and writes a hold file a coordinator must accept before any balance changes. The $1,650 figure is the gap between two published starts. It is not money collected, and it is not a quote.

That same hold is the second place a configurable handoff earns its keep. The trigger is an invoice still open at the end of the day. The action drafts a statement list from the export or the read connection. The output waits. US Tech Automations would configure that wait so nothing is sent and nothing is written back until a coordinator marks the row. Prerequisites are the same credential or file, a map that includes the client id, and a named person on the review step. Write access, where the vendor even offers it, stays off until that person acts. No clinic is claimed as a current user of this design.

A connector you own versus one that is configured

The real alternative for many clinics is not another practice system. It is stitching the invoice to the books in Zapier, Make, or n8n, or building the same bridge in-house. Those tools can support run histories, retries, error branches, and audit evidence when someone configures them. They do not remove the design work. The buyer still has to own observability, idempotency so the same invoice is not posted twice, escalation when a run fails, access controls on who can read client balances, and maintenance when a vendor changes a field. A proposed US Tech Automations design can set the same handoff with a required human approval before any write-back, using the practice system's export or API as the prerequisite and keeping a log of who released each row. The clinic that picks Zapier, Make, or n8n owns that upkeep directly. The configured design puts the review points in the workflow on purpose. Neither version is a reason to skip the person at the end of the day.

When NOT to use US Tech Automations: stay inside the practice system if the invoice, the payment, and the reminder already share one screen and a person checks them before close. Stay with a monthly spreadsheet export if you send statements once and the pile is small enough to read line by line. Stay with Zapier, Make, or n8n if you already have a scenario, a named owner, and a log you actually open. An extra layer helps when the break is between the record, the invoice, and the books. It does not help when the break is a missing price list or a team that will not review exceptions.

Mistakes that show up after go-live

  • Using a review-site price as if the vendor had printed it. If it is not on the vendor's pricing page, it is not in this comparison.

  • Adding Provet Cloud's platform fee and per-vet line into one total. The page prints them as separate lines.

  • Treating NaVetor's $0 path as the default. The page ties it to Patterson Pay volume.

  • Buying a scribe add-on and assuming the invoice is finished. Digitail's voice-to-invoice and Provet Cloud's Clinical Agent still sit on top of a bill someone should read.

  • Letting a connector write a balance with no person on the row. Retries without a review copy the same error twice.

  • Comparing a per-vet line with a flat start as if they counted the same people. The price table keeps those units in different rows for that reason.

  • Ignoring the move-in window. Shepherd prints 8 to 10 weeks when history comes along. The other pages are less specific, which means you ask before you announce a go-live date.

Seven steps before you sign

  1. Open the vendor's pricing page and write down the dollar figure, or write Quote-based. Do not fill the blank from memory.

  2. Find the sentence that says how a visit becomes an invoice. If that sentence is missing, ask for it in writing.

  3. Ask who pays the card fee, and whether a surcharge or a "share of revenue" sits beside the software fee. Provet Pay's $0 monthly fee is not a processing rate.

  4. Count people the way the vendor counts them. Users, veterinarians, and a flat start are different bills.

  5. Ask for the export or the API before you promise the bookkeeper a feed. ezyVet, Digitail, and Provet Cloud print an API path. The others need a direct answer.

  6. Name the person who reviews exceptions. Put in the contract that no outside tool changes a client balance without that review.

  7. Match the move-in to a printed window. Use Shepherd's 8 to 10 weeks when history is in scope. For the others, get the window in the quote before you stop the old system.

Questions to close before you switch

Is a vet practice invoicing system a separate product from the medical record?

No. On the six pages reviewed here, invoicing is part of the practice system, not a standalone bill-pay app. You are choosing the system that holds the visit and the bill together, then deciding what may read that bill from outside.

What do I do when the price is not on the page?

Mark it Quote-based and ask for the number in writing before you compare it with a printed start. Digitail and Shepherd are in that group on the pages opened for this guide. A verbal range is not a row in the price table.

Which published start is the lowest unconditional one for a very small team?

Use the lowest unconditional row in the price table, and treat the $0 path as conditional. The per-vet line and the per-seat add-on are not full practice subscriptions, so they are the wrong rows for that question.

Do these products bill wellness plans?

Digitail lists wellness plans, and Provet Cloud lists health plans, on the pages reviewed. The other four pages did not state a wellness or health plan. Recurring preventive bundles are a billing choice inside the system, distinct from a dental office's in-house membership stack.

Can the bookkeeper get the invoice without a second full login?

Only where an export or an API is real. ezyVet publishes a billing specification, and Digitail and Provet Cloud list an open API. Shepherd, DaySmart Vet, and NaVetor did not print an invoice API on the pages reviewed, so the bookkeeper's path is a question for the quote. DaySmart Vet does say the practice owns its data and that an exit export is coordinated at no cost.

What should stop an automated handoff?

A missing human approval. The proposed designs above draft a list and wait. They do not post a balance, send a statement, or offer a payment plan until a coordinator releases the row. A connector without that stop can repeat a bad write.

What to carry into the sales call

Carry the price table, the charge-capture row, and the seven steps. Ask each vendor to confirm the printed figure, the unit it counts, the move-in window, and the export. Leave quote-based vendors on the list only after the quote arrives on paper. Keep the invoice, the payment offer, and the review of exceptions as three separate checks, because the Gallup figures on this page say cost is why care is declined and why payment plans are offered less often than veterinarians think. For the handoff past the practice system, see how US Tech Automations configures this as a proposed workflow with a required review, an export or API prerequisite, and no claim of a live clinic or a measured return. The sales call is still about the practice system. The connector comes after that system can produce a clean invoice.

About the Author

Garrett Mullins
Garrett Mullins
Workflow Specialist

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.