Skip to content
AI & Automation

5 Vetspire Alternatives for Solo Veterinarians (2027)

Oct 27, 2026

Key Takeaways

  • For a solo practice, the first test is whether a vendor shows a price before a sales call. Of the six products checked, only Shepherd and ezyVet publish a starting price on their own pricing pages.

  • Shepherd publishes the fullest single-doctor price list we found, and its one-time data migration fee sits outside the monthly price.

  • ezyVet's page advertises "as little as" a monthly figure, but it does not state setup, training or data-conversion fees, or contract length.

  • Vetspire, Covetrus Pulse, AVImark and Digitail show no dollar price on the pages we opened, so their real numbers will come only from written quotes.

  • Before you sign, get the first-year total, a sample export file, the first billing date, and what happens to your price if the vendor changes owners.

Start with the decision, not the brand

A veterinary practice management system (PIMS) is the software that holds a clinic's medical records, appointments, invoices and inventory in one place. For a solo veterinarian, choosing one is less about feature count than about three questions: can you see the price before a sales call, can you get your records out in a usable format, and can you leave the contract without a dispute?

Vetspire is the reference point here because the search that brought you here names it. The real category decision is whether you want a system with a published monthly price you can budget against, or a sales-led quote you negotiate after a demo. Both kinds exist in this group, and the cost of the second kind is mostly your time.

The price question matters more when visits are soft. Vetsource's analysis of more than 6,500 practices reported Vetsource data: more than 6,500 practices and found that revenue and visits have been trending down since September 2023, according to Vetsource (2024). Pet owners who had visited a veterinarian in the past year stood at 69.1% overall, according to Today's Veterinary Business (2025). When each visit brings in less, a software fee that looks small on a sales page is a bigger share of the month.

TL;DR: For a solo doctor who wants a number before a call, start with Shepherd and ezyVet, then ask Vetspire, Covetrus Pulse, AVImark and Digitail for written quotes. Vetspire's page leads with AI documentation features, so it deserves a demo if AI is the reason you are switching. Everything else is a conversation until the quote arrives.

How we evaluated these tools

This is a desk review of public material: vendor pricing and product pages, a vendor help-center article, company announcements, and trade or industry coverage. We did not run demos, trials or sample exports, so nothing here describes how any product performs day to day. We did not use review-site ratings, because the review pages we tried would not load. The weights reflect what a one-doctor practice can check before buying, with price and exit terms weighted highest because they are the hardest to fix after signing.

CriterionWeightHow a score is assigned (1 to 5)
Published price and billing terms25%5 when a dollar price and billing period appear on the vendor page; 1 when none does
Setup, migration and data-export terms20%5 when fees and an export path are stated; 1 when neither is stated
Solo-practice workflow coverage20%5 when records, scheduling, invoicing and reminders are all listed; 1 when fewer than two are
Integration and API documentation15%5 when a documented API or developer hub is published; 1 when none is found
Ownership and change risk10%5 when ownership is stated and stable; 1 when a recent change or undisclosed owner applies
Onboarding and support model10%5 when onboarding and support are both stated; 1 when neither is stated

We use the weights to organize the facts rather than to produce a single winner. Each profile says where a fact is missing.

What each vendor publishes about price

Pricing checked October 25, 2026. Only figures printed on a vendor's own pricing page appear in this guide, and every cost the page leaves out is marked as not stated.

Shepherd is the only vendor here with a detailed single-doctor price list. Shepherd single-doctor plan: $299/month according to Shepherd (2026), with Shepherd Pay; without it the same plan is $349 per month. Doctors two and three add $99 each, each doctor after that adds $49, relief vets are $99 per month, and the one-time data migration is $2,475 paid in full or $230 per month for 12 months, according to Shepherd (2026). Unlimited users, onboarding and support are standard, and the page lists no setup fee for onboarding. It does not state a contract length.

Vetspire's site shows no dollar figure, and its pricing URL redirects to the home page. Its main call to action is a demo request, and it says nothing about setup or contract terms. Covetrus Pulse and AVImark have demo forms and no prices. Digitail's pricing page names four plans but shows no dollar amounts. The table below records what each page says.

VendorPlan structure on pagePublished priceOne-time or setup feesPricing page
VetspireNot listedQuote-basedNot statedNo pricing page found (URL redirects to home page)
ShepherdSingle-location, per doctor$299/month with Shepherd Pay; $349 without$2,475 data migration, one timeShepherd pricing
ezyVetOne offering, all featuresFrom $260.50/monthNot statedezyVet pricing
Covetrus PulseNot listedQuote-basedNot statedCovetrus Pulse
AVImarkNot listedQuote-basedNot statedCovetrus AVImark
DigitailMobile, Growth, Growth AI, EnterpriseQuote-based (no dollar amounts shown)Data migration listed; fee not statedDigitail pricing

Feature matrix from vendor pages

This matrix records what each vendor's own pages state. "Not listed" means the page we opened did not say it, not that the product lacks it. Treat every "Not listed" cell as a question for the demo.

VendorMedical recordsSchedulingInvoicing and inventoryReminders and messagingDocumented API
VetspireYes: encounter-based recordsYes: drag-and-drop schedulerNot listedYes: two-way messaging and admin triggersYes: api.vetspire.com/graphql
ShepherdYesYesYes: invoicing and inventoryYes: automated reminders; texting is an add-onNot listed on pricing page
ezyVetYes: clinical recordsNot listed on pricing pageYes: invoicing and inventoryNot listedYes: developer hub
Covetrus PulseNot listedNot listedNot listedNot listedNot listed; contact form asks about integrations
AVImarkNot listedNot listedNot listedNot listedNot listed
DigitailYes: SOAP medical recordsYesBilling and payments; inventory not listedAdd-on: SMS texting (not priced)Not listed

The matrix shows how thin the public record is for four of the six products. Shepherd and Digitail list the most solo-practice basics on their pricing pages, and Vetspire lists the most AI features. ezyVet is the only vendor here with a developer hub linked from its pricing page, though we did not verify its access terms.

Year-one cost math for a solo practice

The table uses only the figures in the pricing section. Each row multiplies the monthly price by 12 and adds one-time costs where the page states them.

ScenarioMonthly software12-month softwareOne-time migrationYear-one total
Shepherd, one doctor, with Shepherd Pay$299$3,588$2,475$6,063
Shepherd, one doctor, without Shepherd Pay$349$4,188$2,475$6,663
Shepherd, two doctors, with Shepherd Pay$398$4,776$2,475$7,251
ezyVet, starting price$260.50$3,126Not stated$3,126 plus unstated fees

Shepherd's billing rule can move the first-year figure. For single-location practices, billing begins 12 weeks after onboarding starts, even if you go live sooner, so the first invoice may arrive later than the go-live date. ezyVet's row is a floor, not a total, because its page does not state setup or conversion fees.

Worked example: a solo doctor chooses Shepherd's one-doctor plan with Shepherd Pay and pays the migration over 12 months. Twelve months at $299 is $3,588, and the migration at $230 per month is $2,760, so the first-year total is $6,348, using the Shepherd figures above. If the same doctor compares Vetspire, the cost side stays unknown until a quote arrives, but the technical side starts with api.vetspire.com/graphql, the GraphQL endpoint in Vetspire's help center, and every request needs a token from Vetspire Support. Ask for that token and a sample export before signing, not after.

Five alternatives and one baseline, profiled

Vetspire is the baseline. The five alternatives are Shepherd, ezyVet, Covetrus Pulse, AVImark and Digitail. Each profile separates what the vendor states from our read of it.

Vetspire (baseline)

Best fit. Practices that want AI documentation, client messaging and automated reminders built into the chart, and that will accept a quote-based process.

Vendor-stated facts. The page lists AI Scribe, AI Summary, two-way messaging with clients and referring veterinarians, and admin triggers that send automated messages for events such as pet birthdays or expiring wellness plans. It says its online booking and reminders replace third-party platforms, and it claims clinics can "save up to 90 minutes per day" with Vetspire AI and automated workflows.

Ownership. Battery Ventures made a growth investment, announced August 13, 2026, and the company said it "will operate as a standalone company" under newly named CEO Zachary Seely, according to Pulse2 (2026).

Implementation and API. The help center says every API request needs a token, which Vetspire Support helps set up, and it documents the endpoint as api.vetspire.com/graphql, according to Vetspire Support (2026).

Limitations. No dollar price appears on the site. The page names no third-party integrations, and the Developer API link in its footer leads to a page we did not retrieve. We could not confirm current API access terms, so ask in writing which records can be read and which can be written.

Our read. The quote is the main cost of this choice. Ask for the first-year total, including migration and onboarding, and ask how the price can change at renewal.

Shepherd

Best fit. A solo doctor who wants the price in writing before a call and does not need multi-location features.

Vendor-stated facts. Unlimited users, onboarding and support are standard. The plan includes a pet parent portal, automated reminders, records, scheduling, invoicing, inventory, cloud updates, AI tools and wellness plans. Relief vets and texting are add-ons, and the page says two complimentary data exports come with leaving the service.

Limitations. The contract length is not stated. Billing timing is the main surprise, and data migration is the largest one-time cost. Multi-location groups are directed to talk with the team, and enterprise pricing is quote-based.

Implementation. Onboarding is included in the plan, but the page does not say how long it takes. Ask for the go-live date and the billing start date in the same email.

Our read. Shepherd's page is the only one here that lets you build a first-year number from public data, which is why it serves as the benchmark in the cost section. Read the billing rule before you assume the first invoice lines up with the first day of use.

ezyVet

Best fit. Practices that already use, or plan to use, IDEXX diagnostics, because IDEXX owns ezyVet.

Ownership and price. ezyVet starting price: $260.50/month according to ezyVet (2026), billed monthly. IDEXX announced its acquisition of ezyVet on June 2, 2021, and the release says IDEXX will keep offering ezyVet as one of its cloud PIMS options, according to IDEXX (2021).

Vendor-stated facts. The pricing page describes one offering with all features included. It lists cloud access, clinical records, inventory, invoicing and reporting, more than 100 software integrations including IDEXX diagnostic integrations, and 24/7 support.

Limitations. The page does not state implementation, training or data-conversion fees, or contract terms. "As little as" is a starting point, not a quote, and enterprise pricing is handled on request.

Implementation. The pricing page does not describe the onboarding process. Ask for the data-conversion scope and fee in writing, and ask whether the developer documentation at developers.ezyvet.com is available to a practice without an IT team.

Our read. The IDEXX relationship helps only if you buy diagnostics from IDEXX. Otherwise, treat the ownership as neutral and compare on price and exit terms.

Covetrus Pulse

Best fit. A practice already working with Covetrus that wants its PIMS and will request a quote.

Vendor-stated facts. The product page describes Pulse as a "Veterinary Operating System (vOS)" and links to a data conversion guide, a go-live checklist, hardware specifications and an integration-questions option on its contact form.

Ownership. Covetrus agreed in 2022 to be taken private by funds affiliated with Clayton, Dubilier & Rice and TPG Capital at $21 per share, an enterprise value of about $4 billion, according to FinancierWorldwide (2022).

Limitations. No price, plan name or free-trial statement appears on the pages we opened. The product page lists implementation resources but no feature list, so every feature claim needs a demo.

Our read. Expect to negotiate from a quote. The public material gives you the implementation guides, which is useful for checking scope, but not a number.

AVImark

Best fit. Practices that want a Covetrus clinic system and will ask for a demo before they compare it with Pulse.

Vendor-stated facts. The page describes clinic practice management software under the headline "Efficient clinic operations that keep the focus on patients," and offers a demo request form that says it is "for veterinary practices only."

Limitations. No prices, plan names or feature list appear on the page. Students are routed to Customer Support for access, which tells you the page is built for buyers at the clinic, not for self-service sign-up.

Implementation. The page gives no implementation detail. Ask for the data migration and training scope in writing.

Our read. Of the six, AVImark is the hardest to score from public material. Treat it as a demo-first option and compare it against Pulse in the same meeting.

Digitail

Best fit. Practices that expect to grow from one clinic to several, or that want a mobile or small-clinic plan with a path to AI features.

Vendor-stated facts. The pricing page names four plans: Mobile, Growth, Growth AI and Enterprise. Mobile lists SOAP medical records, scheduling, billing and payments, and a pet parent app. Growth adds an AI scribe, smart dental charts, a whiteboard, a boarding calendar, and anesthesia and vitals monitoring. Enterprise is for groups and is handled through sales.

Limitations. The page shows no dollar amounts. Add-ons such as VoIP and SMS texting carry prices that are not shown, and wellness plans and buy-now-pay-later carry usage fees. A "Free Trial for 1 Month" appears for several AI features without saying which plan includes it.

Implementation. The page says every plan includes in-house data migration and one-on-one onboarding, but it gives no timeline and no fee.

Our read. Ask which trial applies to which plan before the demo, and ask for add-on prices with the quote, because usage fees can change the total.

Who this is for

  • Shepherd: a solo doctor who wants a published monthly price and a stated onboarding promise.

  • ezyVet: a practice already in the IDEXX ecosystem, or one that expects to be.

  • Vetspire: a practice where AI documentation and automated client messages are the reason to switch, and that will take a quote-based process.

  • Covetrus Pulse and AVImark: a practice already buying from Covetrus, which should compare the two in one demo.

  • Digitail: a practice planning to grow from one site to several, or one that wants a mobile plan.

Red flags: the vendor will not put a first-year total in writing, the records cannot be exported in a format you can open without the vendor's help, or nobody in the practice owns the contract and its renewal date.

Where a workflow layer fits

Some of a solo practice's costs sit between systems rather than inside the records system: recall reminders, invoice checks and follow-up calls. US Tech Automations designs workflows of that kind. The two examples below are proposed configurations, not descriptions of a live customer or a measured result.

As a proposed design, US Tech Automations would configure a recall workflow that starts on a nightly trigger. The trigger pulls patients whose wellness-plan renewals fall within the next 30 days, from the practice system's API or a scheduled export. The action drafts a reminder and opens a task for the front desk. The output is a review queue where the office manager approves each message before it goes to a client, plus a run log of what was pulled and drafted. The prerequisites are an API token or export that includes client, patient and due-date fields, a record of which clients have opted in to text or email, and a named approver. Nothing reaches a client without that approval. If the chosen system already sends wellness-plan reminders on its own, as Vetspire's admin triggers do, this workflow adds little, and the practice should not pay for it.

As a second proposed design, US Tech Automations would configure a month-end check that runs on a monthly trigger. It would pull the invoice export from the practice system and the payout report from the payment processor, match totals by invoice ID, and output an exception list of invoices that do not reconcile. The owner signs off on each exception, and the workflow never edits ledger entries. The prerequisites are an invoice export that carries invoice IDs, a payout report in CSV or API form, and an agreed matching rule. Refunds and split payments can produce false exceptions, so the first runs need tuning.

Building it yourself in Zapier, Make or n8n

The alternative to a proposed workflow is stitching the same steps together in Zapier, Make or n8n. Those tools can keep run histories, retry failed steps, branch on errors and keep audit records when they are configured that way. The buyer still has to design and own what makes automation safe: idempotency, so a retried run does not send the same reminder twice; escalation to a named person; access controls for API keys; and maintenance when a PIMS API changes. A proposed US Tech Automations design would set up those pieces at the start, with run logs, retry rules, an escalation contact and role-limited access, but it needs the same prerequisites: API access or exports from the PIMS, a list of approvers, and an owner for maintenance. Whether either route is worth the effort depends on how often the workflow runs and who fixes it when it breaks.

Common mistakes

  • Comparing starting prices without the one-time migration fee, which sits outside the monthly price on Shepherd's page.

  • Reading "as little as" as a full price, as with ezyVet's wording.

  • Skipping the export test. Ask for a sample export of records before you sign, not after you move.

  • Letting an automated workflow send client messages without a human approval step.

  • Ignoring ownership changes. Vetspire's 2026 investment is a reason to ask about renewal pricing in writing.

Decision checklist

  • Write down the first-year total: software, migration, onboarding and add-ons.

  • Ask for a sample export file and confirm which fields it includes.

  • Confirm the contract term and the date billing starts.

  • Confirm whether you need an API, and who issues the token.

  • Name one approver for any automated client message.

Frequently asked questions

Vetspire is not on this list because it is the only option worth buying; it is on the list because the search names it. The practice that should skip a workflow layer is one whose PIMS already sends reminders and reports, one with no export or API path (fix the vendor first), or one where a single staff member can reconcile the month by hand in under an hour. A practice that wants one vendor to handle records and payments end to end should buy the PIMS and leave out the extra layer.

Is Vetspire cheaper than the alternatives?

Nobody can say from public pages, because Vetspire does not publish a price. Shepherd and ezyVet are the only two here with a stated starting figure, so compare those against Vetspire's written quote.

Which option has the clearest published price for one doctor?

Shepherd does, because its pricing page lists a single-doctor monthly price along with the add-on and migration costs. It still leaves the contract length unstated.

Do I need an API to switch or export?

No, but you need a documented export path, and an API is the cleanest one. Ask every vendor for a sample export file before you sign.

Is ezyVet still independent?

No. IDEXX acquired ezyVet in 2021 and says it will keep offering it as one of its cloud PIMS options.

Should I build my own workflows in Zapier, Make or n8n?

Yes, if you can own the design, testing and maintenance. Those tools can keep run histories and retries when configured, but idempotency, escalation and access control are your job.

Choosing the call to make first

If you are a solo doctor who needs a number before a call, call Shepherd and ezyVet first and ask both for the first-year total in writing. Keep Vetspire on the list if AI documentation is the reason you are switching, but expect to negotiate without a published price. Covetrus Pulse, AVImark and Digitail belong on the list if their demos show the features you need. Whatever you pick, get the export test and the first billing date in writing before you move a single record. To see how a recall or reconciliation workflow would be set up around the system you choose, see how this kind of workflow is configured.

About the Author

Garrett Mullins
Garrett Mullins
Workflow Specialist

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.