Vetspire vs Covetrus Pulse: Which Fits Your Clinic in 2027
Vetspire or Covetrus Pulse: the category decision
Practice management software, often called PIMS, is the system that holds a clinic's medical records, appointment book, client messages and billing in one place. Vetspire and Covetrus Pulse both sell cloud versions of that system, so the real decision is which one documents more of what a small practice needs and what its written quote will actually include.
Check the product name first. Covetrus presents Pulse as the successor to its eVetPractice system. The January 2022 launch article described Pulse as "an innovative cloud-based veterinary operating system (vOS)" that builds on "an industry-leading cloud-based PIMS product" (according to Feed and Additive (2022)). The Pulse login link on Covetrus's own product page still points to a login.evetpractice.com address, and at least one comparison site still lists eVetPractice as a separate product. Ask in writing which product name and version a quote covers.
TL;DR: Neither vendor publishes a plan price on the pages we opened, so this guide does not rank them on cost. Vetspire documents more of its product and its API in public, and it announced an ownership change in 2026. Covetrus Pulse has less public feature detail in the pages we could read, and Covetrus itself changed hands in 2022. Shortlist Vetspire if documented API access and AI charting matter most. Shortlist Pulse only if its written quote covers the medical records, scheduling and payments you need.
Key Takeaways
Neither vendor publishes a plan price on the pages we opened, so every cost comparison has to come from a written quote.
Vetspire's API help article documents one GraphQL endpoint and states that every request needs an API token. We found no public Pulse API reference.
Vetspire's product pages describe medical records, scheduling, client messaging, automated reminders, online booking and AI documentation. Payments and inventory are not described on those pages.
Covetrus's 2022 Pulse launch described prescriptions, client communication, dashboards and third-party app connections. It did not describe scheduling or medical records.
Vetspire announced a 2026 growth investment and says it will operate as a standalone company. Covetrus's 2022 take-private leaves its current owners unconfirmed in the sources we could open.
For most small clinics, the deciding document is the written quote: billing unit, payments terms, data export and onboarding.
How we evaluated these tools
We built this comparison from public sources only. We opened each vendor's product and pricing pages, Vetspire's API help article, the 2022 Pulse launch article, a 2022 report on the Covetrus take-private, a 2026 Vetspire investment announcement and an independent review site. Review platforms such as Capterra, G2 and Software Advice blocked our page reads, so this guide does not use star ratings.
The weights below are our judgment about what a small practice decides on. They are analysis, not vendor data, and they total 100%.
| Criterion | Weight | Why it matters to a small clinic |
|---|---|---|
| Published pricing and quote scope | 20% | Without a published price, the quote's line items are the only comparison |
| Core clinical and front-desk modules | 20% | Records, scheduling, reminders and booking drive daily use |
| Documented API and data export | 20% | Any reporting or workflow you add later depends on it |
| Payments and billing coverage | 15% | Gaps force a second tool and manual reconciliation |
| Implementation and support materials | 10% | Shows how go-live is run and who answers when something breaks |
| Ownership stability | 10% | An owner change can change product direction and pricing |
| Independent third-party signal | 5% | Weighted low because the review platforms we could not open limit this signal |
What each vendor publicly documents
The matrix uses one rule. "Not described" means the pages we opened do not describe the capability. It does not mean the product lacks it. Confirm every gap in writing before you sign.
| Capability | Vetspire | Covetrus Pulse |
|---|---|---|
| Medical records | Described on product page | Not named on pages opened |
| Scheduling | Described, with drag-and-drop rescheduling | Not named on pages opened |
| Client messaging and reminders | Described, by email and text | Client communication described in 2022 launch |
| Online booking | Described | Not named on pages opened |
| AI documentation | AI Scribe and AI Summary described | Not described on pages opened |
| Prescriptions | Not named on pages opened | Described in 2022 launch |
| Payments | Not described on pages opened | Not described as a Pulse feature |
| Inventory | Not described on pages opened | Not named on pages opened |
| Documented API | GraphQL endpoint, token required | No public reference found |
| Go-live materials | Not described on pages opened | Data conversion guide, go-live checklist, webinars |
Vetspire's product claims come from its own site, and we did not verify them independently. Its API help article lists 1 GraphQL endpoint, api.vetspire.com/graphql, and says "All API requests require an API token. Contact Vetspire Support if assistance is needed with token setup." (according to Vetspire Support).
The checkable facts below come from the same pages, and each count is the number we could confirm.
| Checkable fact | Vetspire | Covetrus Pulse |
|---|---|---|
| Demo length stated | 1 hour | Not confirmed |
| Ownership changes in the sources we opened | 1 announced in 2026 | 0 found since 2022 |
| Support channels listed | Not listed on pages opened | Live chat, phone, email, webinars |
Covetrus's Pulse page lists a data conversion guide, a go-live checklist, webinars, live chat and phone support. It states that after-hours help is limited to emergencies, handled through the Pulse chat feature (according to Covetrus).
Pricing and what the quote must include
Pricing checked October 25, 2026. Neither vendor publishes a plan price in the pages we opened, so both are quote-based. Vetspire's site lists no plan names, no prices and no billing units, and it directs buyers to a 1-hour demo request. Covetrus's Pulse page lists 0 prices and sends buyers to its support channels (according to Covetrus). The independent review site CostBench describes Pulse as a cloud system "with custom pricing" (according to CostBench (2026)).
We do not print third-party price estimates in this guide. The aggregator figures we found for both products disagree with each other and with the vendors' silence on price, so treat any number you find online as unverified until a written quote confirms it.
| Quote line | Vetspire | Covetrus Pulse |
|---|---|---|
| Published plan price | None | None |
| Billing unit | Quote-based | Quote-based |
| Free trial | Not mentioned on pages opened | Not stated on pages opened |
| Demo | 1-hour demo, requested by form | Not confirmed |
| Onboarding or data conversion | Quote-based | Quote-based, data conversion guide listed |
| Payment processing | Quote-based, not described on pages opened | Quote-based, not described as a Pulse feature |
Ask both vendors for the same written list: the billing unit for locations, DVMs and front-desk seats; renewal price-change terms; payments terms; data export format; onboarding fees; and who owns your records after cancellation. If billing is your main question, our separate guide to veterinary billing and invoicing software covers that decision.
Worked example: a two-location group
Take an illustrative group with 2 locations, 3 DVMs and 4 front-desk staff. If one quote bills per location, it counts 2 units. If another bills per DVM, it counts 3 units. If the per-DVM quote also bills the 4 front-desk staff, it counts 7 seats (3 plus 4). Multiply each count by that quote's own unit price, then compare the totals before discounts, onboarding or seat charges; the unit counts alone are not comparable. Ask whether API access, which Vetspire documents at api.vetspire.com/graphql, is included in the quote or billed separately.
Ownership and timeline
| Event | Date | Detail |
|---|---|---|
| Covetrus take-private agreed | May 25, 2022 | $21 per share in cash |
| Covetrus Pulse launch article | January 14, 2022 | Release says Pulse "will be available on April 1" |
| Vetspire growth investment | August 13, 2026 | Financial terms not disclosed |
Clayton, Dubilier & Rice and TPG Capital agreed in May 2022 to take Covetrus private. Covetrus take-private price: $21 per share according to Private Equity International (2022). Covetrus take-private total: about $4 billion according to Private Equity International (2022). The report does not say whether that total is enterprise value or equity value. We found no 2025 or 2026 source we could open that confirms who owns Covetrus today, so ask Covetrus to name its current owner during contract review.
Vetspire's ownership is more recent. Vetspire growth investment: August 13, 2026 according to Pulse 2.0 (2026). The announcement says Battery Ventures made the investment, healthcare software executive Zachary Seely joined as CEO, and Vetspire "will operate as a standalone company." It also says Thrive Pet Healthcare "will no longer hold an ownership interest in the company" while remaining a customer. An older deal-database listing names a different owner, and the sources we opened do not reconcile it with the 2026 announcement. Ask Vetspire to confirm its equity holders in writing before you sign a multi-year contract.
Vendor profiles
Vetspire
Best fit: Practices that want charting, scheduling, reminders and online booking in one cloud system, plus a documented API for reporting later. The product pages highlight live charting, role-based dashboards and the AI Scribe and AI Summary tools.
Limitations: Plan prices are not published, payments and inventory are not described on the pages we opened, and ownership changed in 2026. The product claims on its own site are unverified by any independent source we could open.
Implementation: The API requires a token that Vetspire Support sets up. Its help article gives one example query that returns clients with id, name and email. Any other objects or fields must be confirmed in the vendor's schema before you design around them.
Proposed workflow (configurable, not live): US Tech Automations could configure a nightly read through the endpoint above. The trigger is the schedule. The action is a read-only query for clients returning id, name and email. The output is a list of client records with a blank email, placed in a shared sheet for the front desk to review. Prerequisites are a token limited to the access your team approves, field names confirmed in Vetspire's schema, and a named owner for the sheet. The human review point is a staff member checking each record before any client message goes out, because a blank email is often a data-entry problem rather than a real gap.
Primary evidence: the vendor site and API help article cited in the sections above.
Covetrus Pulse
Best fit: Clinics that want a cloud veterinary operating system with published go-live materials, and that already work with Covetrus in other areas. The Pulse page lists a data conversion guide, a go-live checklist and webinars, which gives a buyer something concrete to ask for during onboarding.
Limitations: Pricing is quote-based. The pages we opened do not describe scheduling, medical records, payments or inventory in detail, and after-hours help is limited to emergencies through the Pulse chat feature. Search summaries mention billing and reporting complaints, but the review pages were blocked from our reads, so treat those as questions to put to Covetrus rather than findings.
Implementation: Go-live is support-led. Ask for the scope of the data conversion guide in writing, the export format your records would arrive in, and a named go-live contact with a date.
Proposed workflow (configurable, not live): If Covetrus confirms a scheduled appointment export in writing, a configured flow could run each morning. US Tech Automations could set the trigger as the export file landing in a shared folder. The action would compare tomorrow's appointments against the reminder list. The output would be a list of appointments with no confirmation, for the front desk to call. Prerequisites are the export format, frequency and columns confirmed in writing, because we found no public Pulse API reference. The human review points are the practice manager approving any change to reminder rules before it goes live, and staff confirming each call.
Primary evidence: the Covetrus Pulse page and the 2022 launch article cited above.
Who this is for
Choose Vetspire if you want a documented API and AI documentation tools, and you can get written confirmation on payments and inventory before you sign.
Choose Covetrus Pulse if you want published go-live materials and already work with Covetrus, and a written quote confirms the medical records, scheduling and payments you need.
Red flags: a quote that will not separate per-location, per-DVM and front-desk billing; no written answer on payments terms or data export; a product name, version or owner you cannot confirm in writing.
Build it yourself or configure it
Zapier, Make and n8n can run scheduled reads, retries, error branches and run histories when they are configured. The buyer still designs and owns what those tools do not decide for you: idempotency, so a restarted run does not send the same message twice; escalation when the source data changes; access controls on the token; and maintenance when a vendor changes its API. A proposed US Tech Automations design would configure the same run history and error branch by default, route exceptions to a named front-desk queue, and keep a human review step before any client-facing message. The prerequisites are the same API or export access described above. No design removes the need for a quote that confirms that access.
When NOT to use US Tech Automations: if your clinic only needs the vendor's built-in reminders and online booking, a separate workflow adds a second system to run, and the built-in feature is the simpler choice. If nobody in the practice will own a token, an exception queue and a monthly check, a vendor report or a manual export is safer than a workflow you cannot maintain. If the only question is which of two prices is lower, get both written quotes first, because no workflow layer changes what a quote bills.
Common mistakes
Comparing an aggregator's estimate with a vendor's quote as if both were published prices.
Reading "not described" on a marketing page as "not available" without asking the vendor.
Signing before the product name, version and owner are confirmed in writing.
Skipping the API question because the clinic has no developer today. A token and an export still matter later.
Comparing totals without the billing unit, so a per-location quote and a per-DVM quote look equal when they are not.
Decision checklist
The written quote states the billing unit for locations, DVMs and front-desk seats.
Payments terms, processing responsibilities and any second-tool costs are in writing.
Data export and API access are confirmed, with the token owner named.
The product name, version and owner are confirmed in writing, including whether the quote covers Pulse or eVetPractice.
Onboarding includes a data conversion plan, a go-live date and a named support contact.
Frequently asked questions
Is Covetrus Pulse the same product as eVetPractice?
Covetrus presents Pulse as built on its eVetPractice system, so treat it as the successor and confirm which product and version a quote covers. The 2022 launch article says Pulse builds on eVetPractice, and the Pulse login still uses an eVetPractice domain.
Which vendor costs less?
Neither vendor publishes a plan price on the pages we opened, so no verified answer exists yet. Compare the written quotes line by line, with the billing unit stated for each.
Does either vendor offer a documented API?
Vetspire documents one GraphQL endpoint and requires an API token, while we found no public Pulse API reference in the pages we opened. Ask Covetrus for its integration documentation before you assume export or API access.
Who owns Vetspire now?
Vetspire announced a growth investment from Battery Ventures on August 13, 2026, and said it will operate as a standalone company. Older listings name a different owner, so confirm the equity holders directly.
Who owns Covetrus now?
Covetrus agreed in May 2022 to be taken private by Clayton, Dubilier & Rice and TPG Capital. We did not find a 2025 or 2026 source that we could open to confirm its current owners.
Do either of these include payments and inventory?
Neither product page we opened describes payments or inventory in detail, so treat both as items to confirm in writing before you sign.
Bottom line for a small practice
Let the written quote decide this comparison. Choose the product whose quote covers the modules, payments and data access your clinic needs, and confirm the product name and owner along the way. Shortlist Vetspire if documented API access and AI charting matter most and you can verify payments and inventory. Shortlist Covetrus Pulse if its quote confirms medical records, scheduling and payments, and the product name and owner are confirmed in writing. If you later want to automate exports or reminders, see how US Tech Automations configures this for a clinic's own data, and confirm the API or export access before you commit.
About the Author

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.