Vetstoria Alternatives for Small Clinics in 2027: 7 Systems
Pick the category before the brand
For a small clinic, the first decision is the category. A practice management system (PIMS) holds the medical record, scheduling and invoicing, while a booking and messaging layer handles online appointments, reminders and texts. On the pages we opened, Vetstoria sits in the second group: its pricing page lists real-time online booking, secure online payments, reporting and 24/7 support, and it does not describe a medical record or invoicing.
TL;DR: all seven alternatives below are full practice systems, so switching to any of them means replacing your records system, not adding a booking layer. This list is for clinics ready to replace the records system and Vetstoria together. Table 2a shows that Shepherd, DaySmart Vet, ezyVet, Covetrus Pulse and Digitail state online client booking on their own pages, IDEXX Neo offers it through the Vetstoria integration, and Vetspire names it only in a section heading. A clinic that keeps its current records system should ask that system what booking and reminders it already offers, because this post does not cover booking layers that sit on top of one. If you need one system for records, scheduling, invoices and online client booking, shortlist these practice systems. Shepherd publishes the most detail, DaySmart Vet and ezyVet publish a starting figure, and the other four alternatives need a sales conversation before you see a number.
One US detail changes the search. Vetstoria's pricing page says that in the United States it operates as PetDesk. The PetDesk products page we opened publishes no figures, only a demo request, so a US buyer needs PetDesk's terms before comparing. We do not list PetDesk as a separate alternative. For the messaging side of this choice, see our PetDesk vs Vetstoria client communication comparison.
The market is crowded. Veterinary practices: 34,000 in 2022 according to dvm360 (2025), a count the article attributes to the AVMA's 2025 economic report. It is a 2022 count, so read it as background rather than a current total.
Key Takeaways
Vetstoria's own pricing page sets per-location prices in euros, pounds, and Australian and New Zealand dollars, and says it operates as PetDesk in the US.
Three alternatives publish a starting figure: Shepherd, DaySmart Vet, and ezyVet. IDEXX Neo, Covetrus Pulse, Digitail, and Vetspire publish none on the pages we opened.
Shepherd's pricing page is the most complete: it names US dollars, prices per doctor, and lists migration and texting fees.
A booking and messaging tool fits only when a practice system already holds the medical record.
Shepherd, DaySmart Vet, ezyVet, Covetrus Pulse and Digitail each state online client booking on their own pages; IDEXX Neo points to the Vetstoria integration and Vetspire names it only in a heading.
Get migration cost, export terms on exit, and API access in writing before any demo.
Our scores check what each page states. They are not a verdict on the product.
Who this is for
This guide is for an owner or operations lead at a small veterinary business who has a shortlist and needs a fair comparison before a sales call. It is not written for a multi-location group with an IT team building custom integrations, although the API notes below will help that team too.
Red flags: you expect a free trial from every vendor, nobody on your team can own a data migration, or you plan a custom integration with no developer available.
How we evaluated these tools
This is a desk review of public pages. We opened each vendor's pricing or product page, checked help or developer documentation where it was public, and used trade press for market context. We did not test any product. Where a vendor did not publish a figure, we label it "Quote-based" rather than estimate one, and we left out third-party price listings because they disagreed with the vendor pages.
The weights in Table 1 reflect buyer risk. Pricing and migration carry 40 of the 100 points because switching costs drive the real total, and a tool that cannot export your records is a cost you only discover at exit.
Table 1: Evaluation criteria
| Criterion | Weight (%) | Checks made (count) | Why it matters |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pricing and currency | 20 | 2 | Shows whether a budget is possible before a demo |
| Trial and billing terms | 15 | 2 | Shows when billing starts and how to cancel |
| Migration and exit | 20 | 2 | Switching cost is usually the largest one-time expense |
| Records and billing scope | 15 | 1 | Separates booking tools from full practice systems |
| Reminders and texting | 15 | 1 | Ties directly to missed visits and front-desk time |
| API documentation | 15 | 1 | Needed for any workflow outside the vendor's own app |
Weights sum to 100. The checks column counts the items in Table 2 that feed each criterion, nine in total.
Normalized feature matrix
Each cell is 1 when the vendor's own page, or a developer page we opened, states the item, and 0 when it does not. A 0 means the page is silent, not that the product lacks the feature. Covetrus Pulse's page is support content, so its low total says little about the software. We do not score our own product in this table.
Table 2: Normalized matrix (1 = stated on a page we opened, 0 = not stated)
| Vendor | Price on page | Currency named | Free trial stated | Billing or contract terms | Migration described | Export on exit | Records and billing named | Reminders or texting | API docs opened | Total of 9 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Shepherd | 1 | 1 | 0 | 1 | 1 | 1 | 1 | 1 | 1 | 8 |
| DaySmart Vet | 1 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 5 |
| ezyVet | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 | 1 | 4 |
| IDEXX Neo | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 |
| Covetrus Pulse | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Digitail | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 3 |
| Vetspire | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 | 2 |
| Vetstoria (reference) | 1 | 1 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 3 |
Shepherd's total is highest because its public pages state the most. That reflects disclosure, not a ranking of software quality. A 0 in the records and billing column means the page does not name them, not that the vendor is a booking tool: all seven alternatives are practice systems.
Online client booking is the one job a Vetstoria replacement must do, so Table 2a records it separately and does not add it to the totals above. Most pages describe requests that staff review rather than instant bookings, so ask each vendor how a booking reaches the schedule.
Table 2a: Online client booking, as stated on a page we opened
| Vendor | Online client booking stated | What the page says | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Shepherd | Stated | Pet portal lets clients request appointments and refills online; integrations page lists PetDesk Direct Booking for booking, rescheduling and cancelling | dvm360 on the pet portal and Shepherd integrations |
| DaySmart Vet | Stated (requests) | Pet owners get 24/7 access to request appointments online | DaySmart scheduling page |
| ezyVet | Stated | Online booking is available to all ezyVet customers, with dates and times set by the clinic | ezyVet blog |
| IDEXX Neo | Via Vetstoria | Features page cites the Neo Patient Portal for client requests; IDEXX says Vetstoria integrates with Neo to offer online booking | IDEXX Neo features and IDEXX on Vetstoria |
| Covetrus Pulse | Stated | Offers real-time online scheduling to clients | Covetrus Pulse platform page |
| Digitail | Stated (requests) | Clients pick a slot and submit a request; the clinic confirms | Digitail help article |
| Vetspire | Heading only | A section is titled "Integrated Reminders & Online Booking"; the client flow is not described | Vetspire home page |
| Vetstoria (reference) | Stated | Pricing page lists real-time online booking | Vetstoria pricing |
Pricing, checked against each vendor's own page
Pricing checked October 25, 2026. Figures below come only from pages we opened, and each figure in the prose is cited where it appears.
Shepherd one-doctor price: $299 a month according to Shepherd (2026). Without the Shepherd Pay option the single-doctor price is $349; three doctors come to $497 on the Shepherd Pay option, texting is $99 per 5,000 messages, and data migration is a $2,475 one-time fee.
DaySmart Vet's pricing page says plans start at $123 a month but does not name the currency, according to DaySmart (2026). ezyVet's pricing page says you can get started for as little as $260.50 per month, according to ezyVet (2026). Vetstoria's pricing page sets per-location prices in euros, pounds, and Australian and New Zealand dollars, and describes a 30-day full refund, according to Vetstoria (2026).
Table 3: Pricing and terms as published
| Vendor | Figure on vendor page | What the figure covers | Migration or add-on | Trial or refund | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Shepherd | $299 a month | One doctor, with the Shepherd Pay option | $2,475 one-time, or $230 a month for 12 months | No free trial mentioned | Shepherd pricing |
| DaySmart Vet | $123 a month | "Plans starting at," tiers not named | Data migration described as free | No free trial mentioned | DaySmart pricing |
| ezyVet | $260.50 a month | "As little as," a starting figure, not a fixed price | Not published | No free trial mentioned | ezyVet pricing |
| Vetstoria (reference) | Per-location tabs in €, £, A$ and NZ$ | Per location, tiered by clinician count | One-time setup, no fee stated | 30-day full refund | Vetstoria pricing |
| IDEXX Neo | Quote-based | Canadian plans page, no figures | Data conversion described, no fee stated | Free demo, no trial | IDEXX Neo plans |
| Covetrus Pulse | Quote-based | Page opened is support content | Not stated | Demo request only | Covetrus Pulse |
| Digitail | Quote-based | Tiers: Mobile, Growth, Growth AI, Enterprise | In-house migration in every plan | Trial text beside some AI items, plan unclear | Digitail pricing |
| Vetspire | Quote-based | Demo-led page, no figures | Not stated | Not stated | Vetspire product page |
The IDEXX page we opened is Canadian, and we did not find a US plans page. Vetstoria's currency tabs make its figures hard to compare with the US-dollar figures above, so ask for a US quote rather than converting one.
Seven alternatives, profiled
Shepherd
Best fit: a practice that wants records, scheduling, invoicing and inventory in one connected system, priced per doctor. The page says pricing is in US dollars and that users are unlimited with no per-seat fees. Limitations: texting is a metered add-on, data migration is a separate fee, and the page mentions no free trial. Implementation: onboarding is listed with no fee, and the page offers complimentary data exports on leaving. Online client booking: stated; the pet portal takes appointment requests, and a PetDesk Direct Booking integration is listed, so ask whether that add-on is billed separately. Evidence: Shepherd pricing.
For an integration, the appointments reference lists POST /pav2/open-api-appointments for search and asks that page * rpp stay at or below 10,000, according to Shepherd (2026). Requests carry X-Integration-Public-Key, X-Integration-Private-Key and X-Clinic-Id, and the page does not mention webhooks or rate limits.
DaySmart Vet
Best fit: a practice that wants payments, client messaging and AI add-ons on a cloud subscription. The page states no term length, minimum commitment or cancellation fee, and says data can be exported at no cost when a practice leaves. Limitations: the currency and tiers are not named, add-ons such as Daisy Voice and SOAP note AI carry costs that are not listed, and the page does not name medical records or billing. We found no public developer documentation for DaySmart Vet; DaySmart's general appointments API is a separate page. Implementation: data migration is described as free, and onboarding and training are mentioned, but optional onboarding costs are not listed. Online client booking: stated as 24/7 online appointment requests from pet owners. Evidence: DaySmart Vet pricing.
ezyVet
Best fit: a practice that wants a published starting price, with clinical records, inventory, invoicing, reporting and client communications in one tool, plus unlimited 24/7 support. Limitations: the page gives no contract terms, data-conversion cost or free trial, because the FAQ answers on those points were not visible to us. Implementation: developer access is gated. The developer portal describes an application process, and its booking guide recommends /v4/calendar/booking for creating appointments with a linked consult record. The portal's token-lifetime text and its sample response disagree, so confirm that during onboarding. Online client booking: stated; ezyVet's blog says online booking is available to all customers, with dates and times set by the clinic. Evidence: ezyVet pricing and ezyVet booking guide.
IDEXX Neo
Best fit: a practice that wants a vendor demo and live support before committing. The Canadian page offers a free demo and live chat, email and phone support. Limitations: the plans page shows no price, no plan names, no user counts and no feature list beyond "Neo Software," and we did not locate a US plans page. Implementation: the page describes "easy data conversion and built-in training" without a fee, so ask for the conversion scope in writing. Online client booking: IDEXX says Vetstoria integrates with Neo to offer it, so a Neo clinic may keep paying for Vetstoria; the features page also cites the Neo Patient Portal for client requests. Evidence: IDEXX Neo plans page.
Covetrus Pulse
Best fit: a buyer who wants to see how the vendor describes the product, which its page calls a "Veterinary Operating System (vOS)," and who is willing to take a sales call first. Limitations: the page we opened is support content, with no pricing, plan names or free trial, and its "Get started" link leads to a demo request. Implementation: that demo request was the only path to a quote we could find. Online client booking: the Covetrus platform page says Pulse offers real-time online scheduling to clients. Evidence: Covetrus Pulse page.
Digitail
Best fit: a practice that wants a tiered path from Mobile into Growth and Growth AI, with in-house data migration and 1:1 onboarding in every plan. Limitations: no prices are published, SMS texting, VoIP and the white-label app are add-ons, some features carry usage fees, and the "Free Trial for 1 Month" line sits beside Tails AI items without a clear plan link. Implementation: every plan is listed with open API and integrations access, so ask whether the API documentation is public before you rely on it. Online client booking: stated in Digitail's help center, where clients pick a slot and submit a request that the clinic confirms. Evidence: according to Digitail (2026), the page lists Mobile, Growth, Growth AI and Enterprise tiers with no prices.
Vetspire
Best fit: a practice that wants reminders, with a GraphQL API that has documented appointment queries. The Vetspire page lists "Integrated Reminders" as a feature. Limitations: the product page publishes no prices and points to a demo, the API requires a token from Vetspire Support, and the appointment query filters on records that were updated, not created, so a reminder workflow has to handle both. Implementation: the appointment query takes locationId, updatedAtStart and updatedAtEnd, and the API runs on one GraphQL endpoint. Online client booking: the page names it only in the heading "Integrated Reminders & Online Booking", so ask how clients book. Evidence: Vetspire API overview and appointments query article.
Where missed reminders cost front-desk time
Pet parents who prefer text or chat: 77% according to Veterinary Practice News (2025), from a study of 1,000 North American pet parents by PetDesk and London Research, which also found 42% report not receiving appointment or vaccine reminders. Because Vetstoria operates as PetDesk in the US, treat this as vendor-run research and check it against your own visit records.
A US Tech Automations design for reminders would be a configurable proposal, not a live deployment. The trigger is a booking created or changed in the practice system, or a nightly export. The action schedules two reminders, for example one day and two hours before the visit, using templates the clinic has approved and the texting channel it already pays for. The output is a reminder log and a daily exceptions list for the front desk. Prerequisites are read access to appointments through the vendor's API or a CSV export, a named owner for templates, and consent records for texting. A staff member reviews each template and any change to reminder timing before it goes live.
A second proposed design handles appointments still unconfirmed at a cutoff the clinic sets. The trigger is an unconfirmed appointment at that time, and the action sends one follow-up text and adds the visit to a call list. The output is a list of unconfirmed visits with the reason each was flagged. Staff decide whether to keep, move or cancel the slot. The design never cancels an appointment on its own. For a Shepherd clinic, the read would embed appointmentPatients.patient so each reminder carries the patient name, which requires developer access and the clinic's API keys.
What three doctors would pay in year one
This is an illustrative calculation, not a customer result. Take a three-doctor practice at Shepherd's published rates. The pricing section above gives $497 a month for three doctors on the Shepherd Pay option, which is $299 for the first doctor plus $99 each for the second and third. Assume 12,000 reminder and recall texts a month, billed pro rata at $99 per 5,000 messages, which is 2.4 blocks or $237.60 a month. Over twelve months the subscription comes to $5,964 ($497 × 12) and texting to $2,851.20 ($237.60 × 12). Adding the one-time $2,475 migration gives a year-one total of $11,290.20. If Shepherd bills texting in three full blocks instead, texting is $297 a month and the year-one total is $12,003, so ask which method applies. An integration that pulls upcoming visits would also need a developer to embed appointmentPatients.patient in the appointments call, and that work is not in these figures.
When a simpler tool or a DIY build wins
Many buyers compare these products with a build in Zapier, Make or n8n. Those tools can support run histories, retries, error branches and audit evidence when configured that way. The buyer still has to design and own observability, idempotency (so a retried reminder is not sent twice), escalation, access controls and ongoing maintenance. A US Tech Automations build would configure the same reminder flow with those controls named up front: an approval step for templates, an exception queue, and a log of every send. It still depends on the vendor's API or export and on staff who work the queue.
When not to use US Tech Automations: if your practice system already sends reminders and texts natively, a settings change beats any added layer. If you need a medical record and invoicing and have no booking or messaging problem, buy one of the practice systems above instead of a workflow layer. If nobody on your team can approve templates and clear the exception queue each day, a workflow adds a dependency you will not maintain.
Decision checklist
Confirm where the medical record will live after the switch.
Ask for the migration cost and the export file format before signing.
Get the billing start date, cancellation terms and refund window in writing.
Confirm whether texting is metered and how it is billed.
Confirm who issues API credentials and whether a partner application is required.
Ask for the currency in writing, since two starting figures do not name one.
Ask for a demo that uses your own appointment types and reminder schedule.
Glossary
PIMS: practice management system, which holds the medical record, scheduling and invoicing.
Doctor license: a per-veterinarian charge. Shepherd says a license covers one veterinarian on staff.
Relief vet: a veterinarian who covers shifts for a practice on a temporary basis.
Data migration: moving existing records and client data into the new system.
Data export: a file of your records you can take if you leave.
GraphQL: a query language where one endpoint serves many request types, as in Vetspire's API.
Quote-based: no public price, so the figure comes only from a sales conversation.
Questions buyers ask
Is Vetstoria the same as PetDesk in the United States?
Vetstoria's own pricing page says that in the United States it operates as PetDesk, so a US buyer should request PetDesk's terms rather than Vetstoria's published tabs. The PetDesk page we opened lists modules, including Communications, Phones, Direct Booking and Scribe, but no prices.
Which alternatives show a starting price?
Shepherd, DaySmart Vet and ezyVet show one on their pricing pages. IDEXX Neo, Covetrus Pulse, Digitail and Vetspire show none on the pages we opened.
Does any alternative offer a free trial?
Not on the pages we opened. Digitail's feature table mentions a trial beside some AI items, but the page does not tie it to a plan, so ask the vendor directly.
What does switching cost?
It depends on the vendor. Shepherd publishes a one-time migration fee, DaySmart Vet describes migration as free, and Digitail includes in-house migration in every plan. ezyVet, IDEXX Neo, Covetrus Pulse and Vetspire publish no migration cost on the pages we opened.
Can a booking tool replace a practice system?
Only if a practice system already holds your medical record and invoices, because a booking and messaging layer assumes that record exists somewhere else.
Can I connect these tools to my own workflow?
Yes, if the vendor gives you API access. Shepherd and Vetspire publish API references, and ezyVet's developer portal describes an application process before access is granted.
Shortlist in two steps
Start with the category. All seven alternatives here are practice systems, and Table 2a shows how each one handles online client booking, so choosing one means replacing your records system and Vetstoria together. If your medical record stays where it is, this list is not your route: ask your current system what booking and reminders it already offers, and make the Vetstoria-to-PetDesk check your first call. If you need records, scheduling, invoices and online booking in one system, shortlist these practice systems. Then ask each remaining vendor for four things in writing: migration cost, export terms on exit, billing start and cancellation terms, and API access rules. Shepherd makes the most of that public, while the other six publish less, and their terms still need a sales call. To see how US Tech Automations configures this reminder and unconfirmed-visit workflow, see how US Tech Automations configures this.
About the Author

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.
