Best Catering Contract Software: 4 Steps to Pick in 2027
Key Takeaways
Catering-specific software earns its cost when banquet event orders, menus and pack lists are daily work. A general proposal-and-contract tool is usually enough when you book a few events a month.
Six of the eight products below publish at least a starting figure on their own pages. Tripleseat and Flex Catering publish none, so you need a written quote from each.
Directory listings disagree with vendor pages on price. Use the vendor's own page, then confirm the number in writing.
Check contracts and e-signature before anything else. Caterease's and Event Temple's pricing pages do not list contracts or e-signature as built-in features.
Deposits and kitchen handoffs are where manual copying piles up, so that is the first place to test automation.
The short answer: match the software to how you book
Catering contract software is a booking tool that builds a proposal and a contract from one event record, collects an e-signature and a deposit, and passes the approved details to production.
For most small restaurants, the best catering contract software is the one that moves an inquiry to a signed contract and a paid deposit without retyping the same event details. If you produce banquet event orders (BEOs) every week, start with the catering-specific systems in this guide. A BEO is the internal sheet that tells the kitchen and floor staff what to make, when, and for how many guests. If you book a handful of events a month and mostly need signatures and payments, a general proposal-and-contract tool may be enough, and a larger platform will mostly add cost.
TL;DR: Choose by booking volume and production needs, confirm the contract, signature and deposit steps in writing, and run one real event through the tool before you commit.
Four steps to choose your catering contract tool
Count your handoffs. List each point where event details move between the inquiry, proposal, contract, deposit and kitchen sheet. Every handoff is a place where a headcount or an allergy note gets copied wrong.
Decide whether you need production documents. If BEOs, recipe costing or pack lists are part of the work, shortlist the catering-specific tools first. If they are not, a general tool with proposals and invoices may do the job.
Confirm the signing path. Ask whether the client signs the contract and pays the deposit in the same flow, and whether the signed date and amount are stored on the event record.
Get the all-in price in writing. Start with the list price, then ask about users, add-ons, launch or onboarding fees and card processing. Per-room pricing shows why: Per-room rate on Pxier: $10/month with $75 minimum according to Pxier (2026). A venue with only a few rooms pays the minimum, so the headline rate understates the bill.
How we evaluated these tools
This is an informed buyer's guide built from public vendor pages and directory listings. We have not used these products, and nothing in this article reports a hands-on trial. The weights below reflect what a small restaurant needs before an event goes on the calendar. Where a vendor's public page does not show a feature, we mark it as not stated rather than assume it exists.
Table 1: Evaluation criteria and weights
| Criterion | Weight | Why it matters for a restaurant |
|---|---|---|
| Proposal-to-contract workflow | 25% | One event record should feed both the proposal and the contract |
| E-signature and client acceptance | 15% | A signed contract is what holds the date |
| Deposits and invoicing | 15% | Cash should be collected before the kitchen commits |
| Production documents (BEOs, menus, pack lists) | 15% | Separates catering-specific tools from general ones |
| Published pricing transparency | 15% | Lets a small team compare before a sales call |
| Integrations and data export | 10% | Keeps bookings reconcilable with accounting |
| Setup and support | 5% | Matters, but less than the paperwork path |
The weights favor the paperwork path because that is where a booking is either held or lost. If your events are mostly corporate drop-off orders, shift 10 points from proposal workflow to production documents and re-rank the list.
What each product publishes
Table 2: Feature matrix from public pages
| Product | Proposals | Contracts | E-signature | Deposits and invoices | BEOs or production documents | Published price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Caterease | Not listed as built in | Not listed as built in | Via DocuSign add-on | Payments listed; invoices not mentioned | Recipe tracking and packing lists from Standard up | Yes |
| Tripleseat | Generated from event details | Generated from event details | Digital signatures | Deposits tracked in one place | BEOs generated | No, quotation based |
| HoneyBook | Yes | Yes | Clients sign in the same file | Invoices and payments | Not stated | Yes |
| Better Cater | Yes | Yes | Yes, with limits on Plus | Invoices; online payments coming soon | Not stated | Yes |
| Event Temple | E-proposals | Not listed | Not listed | Digital invoicing | Not stated | Yes, starting price |
| Pxier | Branded proposals | Contract management (Essentials) | eSign (Professional) | Billing and invoicing (Essentials) | BEOs (Essentials) | Yes, per room |
| NXCatering | Unlimited, e-signable | Not listed separately | E-signable proposals | Deposit and final invoices | One-click BEOs | Yes |
| Flex Catering | Through a personalised proposal | Not stated | Not stated | Card payments and auto-charging | Not stated | No, quote-based |
"Not stated" means the page we opened does not mention the feature. It does not prove the product lacks it, so treat each gap as a question for the demo. Caterease is the clearest example: its pricing page names payment processing but never mentions invoices, while its Standard tier and above add recipe tracking and automatic packing lists. HoneyBook and NXCatering each show the full paperwork path on one page, which makes them the quickest to compare on a first call. Event Temple and Flex Catering leave contracts or e-signature off the pages we read, so ask for both in writing.
Pricing and total cost
Pricing checked October 30, 2026. Published figures are the list prices on each vendor's own page. Add-ons, extra users, launch or onboarding fees and card processing are separate lines, so the 12-month base in Table 3 is a floor, not a budget. The base column is simple arithmetic on the published figures, and each row links to the page it came from.
Table 3: Published pricing and 12-month base cost, one unit
| Product | Plan | Published price | Billing | 12-month base | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Caterease | Express | $99/month | Annual | $1,188 | Caterease |
| Caterease | Standard | $149/month | Annual | $1,788 | Caterease |
| Caterease | Professional | $199/month | Annual | $2,388 | Caterease |
| HoneyBook | Starter | $29/month | Yearly | $348 | HoneyBook |
| HoneyBook | Essentials | $49/month | Yearly | $588 | HoneyBook |
| HoneyBook | Premium | $109/month | Yearly | $1,308 | HoneyBook |
| NXCatering | Catering Toolkit (only plan) | $79/month, or $790/year | Monthly or annual | $948 monthly; $790 annual | NXCatering |
| Better Cater | Plus | $83/month annual; $99 monthly | Annual ($996 a year) | $996 | Better Cater |
| Better Cater | Premium | $125/month annual; $149 monthly | Annual ($1,500 a year) | $1,500 | Better Cater |
| Event Temple | Plan not named | From $249/month | Annual, one-year minimum | $2,988 | Event Temple |
| Pxier | Essentials | $10 per event room/month, $75 minimum | Not stated | $900 for up to 7 rooms | Pxier |
| Tripleseat | Two packages | Quote-based | Not applicable | Quote-based | Tripleseat |
| Flex Catering | Subscription plans | Quote-based | Not stated | Quote-based | Flex Catering |
Starting price on Event Temple: $249/month according to Event Temple (2026). The page assumes annual payment with a one-year minimum and says data import fees vary. A directory lists the same product at $99 according to SourceForge (2026), so the vendor's own page should settle the number.
Caterease shows a similar gap. SourceForge lists Standard at $199 and Professional at $299 according to SourceForge (2026). Caterease's own tiers are lower, and its profile below sets them out.
Tripleseat and Flex Catering publish no figures. Ask both for a quote that covers the same items you asked the others about: users, add-ons, launch or onboarding fees and card processing. Flex's page says a one-time onboarding fee generally applies and that card fees are disclosed separately, so the quote is where the real cost usually shows up.
What a missed handoff costs: a worked example
Illustrative inputs, which you should replace with your own counts: suppose a restaurant books 20 catering events a month and retypes each event three times, once into the proposal, once into the contract and once into the kitchen sheet. At 15 minutes per retype, that is 20 × 3 × 15 = 900 minutes, or 15 hours a month of copying before anyone cooks. A configured workflow that writes the signed details to the kitchen sheet from the deposit event removes one of those copies, which saves 20 × 15 = 300 minutes, or 5 hours a month. The trigger in that design is Stripe's invoice.paid event, which Stripe's event reference describes as occurring "whenever an invoice payment attempt succeeds or an invoice is marked as paid out-of-band," so a check recorded as paid out of band starts the same path as a card payment.
Where the handoffs break, and a proposed fix
The first break is the inquiry. A proposed, configurable design would start with a trigger in the restaurant's own intake, such as a new catering email that matches a rule or a new row on a Google Sheets intake form. US Tech Automations would extract the event date, headcount, location and menu choices, then fill a draft proposal in the caterer's proposal tool or document template. The output is a draft in an approval queue, not a document that goes out on its own. The prerequisites are Gmail and Google Sheets access for the intake address, and an export or API path from the proposal tool, which you must confirm with that vendor before any build. The review point is the owner, who approves price, allergen notes and sales tax before the draft leaves the queue.
The second break is the deposit. In the same proposed design, the trigger is Stripe's invoice.paid event for the event's invoice. The action matches that invoice to the event record, sets the status to deposit received, and creates a kitchen task listing headcount and pack list. The output is one updated record, one task and a copy of the signed contract attached to the event. The prerequisites are a Stripe webhook endpoint, a mapping from invoice ID to event ID, and a check on the Stripe event ID so a retried webhook does not create a second kitchen task. The review point is a manager who confirms the deposit matches the signed contract before the production calendar changes. Each run should log the trigger, the fields changed and the approver's name, so the owner can answer whether a contract went out months later.
Building it yourself in Zapier, Make or n8n
Zapier, Make and n8n can cover much of the same design. Each can keep run histories, retry steps and error branches once you configure them, and you can build an audit trail from those logs. What differs is who owns the operational work. You design the monitoring, the duplicate-run protection, the escalation path, the access controls and the maintenance, and you rebuild the flow when a proposal tool renames a field. For a restaurant that books one or two events a week, that trade is often worth it. For a team where one failed deposit sync leaves a booked event off the kitchen calendar, the escalation and monitoring work is the part that needs a named owner.
Table 4: Who owns each operational piece
| Piece | Self-built in Zapier, Make or n8n | Catering software with its own workflows |
|---|---|---|
| Run history and logs | Available when configured | Ask the vendor what it keeps |
| Retries and error branches | You design them | Ask the vendor what happens on failure |
| Alerts for failed runs | You build and watch them | Ask whether alerts go to a named person |
| Duplicate-run protection | You design it | Ask how repeated events are handled |
| Access controls | You set them per connection | Check roles in the vendor's admin settings |
| Maintenance when a field changes | You rebuild the flow | Ask whether the vendor updates it, and get that in writing |
A proposed US Tech Automations design could configure the escalation differently: an alert to a named manager when a webhook fails, an approval queue for drafts, and a written log of each run. Those are configurable choices, not something we have shown running for any customer, and the prerequisites above still apply.
Who this is for
An owner with a catering side who books a few events a month: start with a general proposal-and-contract tool or a low-cost catering platform. NXCatering: $79/month for the only plan according to NXCatering (2026). Its one plan lists unlimited proposals, deposit invoices and one-click BEOs, so a small team can run the full paperwork path without a sales call.
A team booking events every week that needs BEOs and packing lists: shortlist Caterease, Pxier and Tripleseat, and ask each one for a demo that uses your own BEO template.
A group or multi-location operator: expect quote-based pricing from Tripleseat and Flex Catering, and plan for a sales conversation before you see a number.
Red flags: you cannot name who approves a price change, your signed contracts live in a shared folder with no version history, or a vendor will not put its contract and e-signature path in writing before a demo.
Common mistakes when buying
Buying on the directory price. Use the vendor's page and a written quote. The Event Temple figures above show how far listings can drift.
Skipping the contract test. Send a real contract through the signing path before you pick a tool.
Ignoring the minimum. Per-room and per-user models look cheap until the minimum applies.
Automating a broken process. Fix the proposal template and the deposit schedule first, then automate the handoffs that remain.
Decision checklist
- Do we produce BEOs, menus or pack lists every week?
- Can the client sign the contract and pay the deposit in one flow?
- Does the vendor show a price, or only a quote, and is that in writing?
- Do we know which add-ons, user fees and launch or onboarding fees apply?
- Can we export our event and client records without opening a support ticket?
- Have we run one real event through the tool before signing?
Product profiles: fit, limits and evidence
Caterease
Best fit: a catering operation that wants event, menu and packing workflows in one catering-specific system. On Caterease's pricing page, the Express plan is $99 a month, Standard is $149 and Professional is $199, all billed annually, with $28 a month per extra user and a one-time $200 launch fee per user according to Caterease (2026).
Limitations: The page does not list proposals, contracts or invoices as built-in features, and e-signature runs through an optional DocuSign module.
Implementation: Budget time to enter your menu items and print templates before the first live event, since recipe tracking and packing lists depend on that data.
Evidence: Caterease pricing.
Tripleseat
Best fit: venues and caterers that run group bookings and want proposals, BEOs and contracts generated from one event record, with a branded client portal for review, signature and payment. Its catering page says it can "generate branded proposals, BEOs, and contracts automatically from your event details." It names two packages, TRIPLESEAT and TRIPLESEAT + DIRECT BOOK, behind a "Compare Packages" button, and shows no prices. The SpotSaaS listing describes pricing as quotation based, with the starting price not disclosed and no free trial, according to SpotSaaS (2026).
Limitations: The catering page does not mention menu costing. A SourceForge feature table marks contract management as not supported, which conflicts with the vendor's description, so confirm it in a demo. A 2018 user review on the SourceForge Tripleseat listing calls the card processing fee "a bit on the high side."
Implementation: Expect a quote conversation first. Bring your BEO template, deposit schedule and accounting setup, and ask for each to be shown in the demo.
Evidence: Tripleseat's catering page.
HoneyBook
Best fit: one or two people running a small catering side who want proposals, contracts, invoices and payments in one client file. On HoneyBook's pricing page, the entry plan is $29 a month billed yearly, the next tier is $49 billed yearly and Premium is $109 billed yearly, and the FAQ describes a 30-day free trial with no credit card needed, according to HoneyBook (2026).
Limitations: Its catering material centers on proposals and itemized invoices. It does not describe BEOs or pack lists, and scheduling and automations appear only in the higher tiers. The page also gives two different card-fee figures in different sections, so get the fee in writing.
Implementation: Build the proposal and contract templates first, then the deposit schedule, and send yourself one live invoice before a client sees one.
Evidence: HoneyBook pricing.
Better Cater
Best fit: a single-location caterer who wants branded proposals, contracts and invoices with e-signature in one client flow. Annual billing on Better Cater: $83/month according to Better Cater (2026). The same page lists Plus at $99 billed monthly, Premium at $125 billed annually or $149 billed monthly, a 30-day free trial with no credit card, and a 60-day money-back guarantee.
Limitations: Online payments are marked "Coming soon" on the page, and only Visa, Mastercard and American Express are accepted, with no PayPal, purchase orders or phone orders. Plus limits e-signatures, while Premium does not. The page does not mention BEOs.
Implementation: Start on the monthly plan if you want to test the flow first. The money-back guarantee covers both monthly and annual plans.
Evidence: Better Cater pricing.
Event Temple
Best fit: a sales-and-catering team that is comfortable with a quote, annual payment and a one-year minimum, and that wants e-proposals and digital invoicing.
Vendor data: The pricing page lists features called E-Proposals and Digital Invoicing. It does not list contracts or e-signature, it offers a free trial without length or terms, and it says extra fees may apply for setup and data import.
Limitations: The contract and signing path is not on the pricing page, so confirm it before the demo ends.
Implementation: Ask for setup and data import fees in writing, since the page says they vary.
Evidence: Event Temple pricing.
Pxier
Best fit: venue and banquet operators who want contract management, BEO creation and invoicing in one tool and who can price by event room. The Essentials tier includes contract management, BEO creation and billing and invoicing. The Professional tier adds electronic signature, and the Enterprise tier adds customizable contracts and invoices.
Limitations: The page is written for banquet operations, so confirm that catering menus and pack lists fit your work. Per-room pricing means a small venue pays the minimum, as the step above shows.
Implementation: Count your rooms before you ask for a quote, because the room count decides whether the minimum or the per-room rate applies.
Evidence: Pxier banquet page.
NXCatering
Best fit: a caterer who wants one plan with unlimited proposals, deposit and final invoices, and BEOs in one product.
Vendor data: The page describes one plan with branded e-signable proposals, one-click BEOs, a customer portal, reports and two-way messaging. Customers pay through a connected Stripe account, standard Stripe card fees apply, and checks and cash can be recorded at no fee.
Limitations: The page does not list contracts as a separate feature and does not mention a free trial.
Implementation: Confirm the Stripe connection with your bank before the first deposit request goes out.
Evidence: NXCatering pricing.
Flex Catering
Best fit: corporate, drop-off and venue caterers who are willing to talk to sales and accept a personalised proposal before they see a price.
Vendor data: The pricing page gives no dollar figures. It describes "fixed subscription plans designed for different types of catering operations," sets pricing through a personalised proposal, and says a one-time onboarding fee generally applies. Card processing fees are disclosed separately, and the only no-cost option is a free consultation, according to Flex Catering (2026).
Limitations: Contracts, e-signature and a free trial are not on the pricing page.
Implementation: Ask for the proposal with the plan, optional modules and onboarding items spelled out, and compare it line by line with a second quote.
Evidence: Flex Catering pricing.
When NOT to use US Tech Automations
Skip a custom build if you book only a few events a year. HoneyBook's entry plan already covers proposals, contracts, invoices and payments, and a workflow project may take longer to set up than the copying it removes. Skip it if you need BEOs, recipe tracking and packing lists in one system, because Caterease's Standard tier and above include those without a build. Skip it too if your proposal tool already takes deposits and your bottleneck is the kitchen rather than the paperwork, since a workflow layer adds one more system to watch.
Frequently asked questions
Which is better for a restaurant with a catering side, Caterease or Tripleseat?
Caterease fits a catering-specific operation that needs menu recipes and packing lists, while Tripleseat fits group bookings built on proposals, BEOs and a client portal, and it publishes no prices.
What is the lowest published price in this guide?
HoneyBook's entry plan is the lowest flat headline price among the vendors that publish one, and it is billed yearly, so compare the monthly figure you would actually pay before deciding.
Are the prices on directory sites reliable?
No, not on their own. Directory pages disagreed with vendor pages for both Caterease and Event Temple, so use the vendor's page and get the all-in number in writing.
Do these tools handle deposits?
Six of the eight pages name invoices or deposits in some form. Caterease and Flex Catering name payment processing but not invoices, so ask both how deposits are requested and recorded.
Do I need an automation layer on top of catering software?
Usually not for a few events a month. It starts to pay off when someone copies deposit status or kitchen details by hand every week, and that is the point to compare a configured workflow, a self-built flow and the built-in features of the software you already use.
Can I build this myself in Zapier, Make or n8n instead?
Yes, if you are prepared to own monitoring, duplicate-run protection, access controls and maintenance yourself. Once configured, those tools can keep run histories and error branches, so the real decision is who watches them and who fixes them when a field changes.
Bottom line
For a small restaurant with a catering side, the best catering contract software is the one that matches your booking volume and production needs. The only fair comparison is a written all-in quote and one real contract run through the signing path. Start with the catering-specific tools if BEOs and pack lists are daily work, and start with a general proposal tool if events are occasional. If deposits and kitchen handoffs are where the time goes, see how US Tech Automations configures this for your own process before you commit to a build.
About the Author

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.