Skip to content
AI & Automation

7 Best Construction Payroll Software for Contractors in 2027

Oct 25, 2026

Start with the category decision, not a product. A contractor needs a payroll system of record that calculates wages, withholding and employer taxes, and that produces certified payroll when the work requires it. Scheduling, job tracking and reminders should feed that system, not replace it. If your crews work on public or federally assisted projects, the list narrows quickly, because some payroll products include certified payroll and others offer it only as an add-on or not at all. This guide compares seven payroll options a construction firm can realistically buy, separates vendor-published facts from our analysis, and names who should choose each one. US Tech Automations sits above the payroll layer as a workflow tool, so it is not ranked against payroll vendors.

TL;DR: For public or federally assisted work, shortlist only vendors that can show a sample certified payroll report. For standard crews, compare annual cost at your headcount rather than the base fee. Add a workflow layer only after the payroll system of record is settled.

Key Takeaways

  • Certified payroll is the first filter for covered work. Projul's 2024 roundup says Gusto and QuickBooks Payroll have no native certified payroll reporting, while it says Foundation Software has it built in.

  • Published prices are sparse. Patriot and Intuit show base and per-worker fees on their own pages; Paychex, ADP, Foundation and Netchex are quote-only or show no prices.

  • Per-worker fees drive most of the annual cost. At 25 workers on Patriot Basic Payroll's list price, the per-worker fee is $1,200 of a $1,404 annual total.

  • Vendor-authored rankings and 2024 roundups are useful for building a shortlist, but not for confirming current prices or features.

  • A workflow layer such as US Tech Automations can route exceptions and track deadlines above payroll. Any payroll-adjacent design needs a confirmed integration, named owners and human approval before anything touches payroll.

Who this is for

This guide is for owners, controllers and office managers at specialty and general contractors who run weekly or biweekly crew payroll, track hours by job or classification, and need payroll output they can defend to a bonding agent, an auditor or a public owner. The labor pressure behind this decision is real. Craft openings hard to fill: 94% of firms with openings according to Engineering News-Record reporting the Associated General Contractors of America and Arcoro 2024 workforce survey (2024). The survey covered nearly 1,500 AGC members, and the 94% is a share of firms that had openings, not of all construction firms. It is workforce context, not evidence of software return on investment.

Red flags: you bid public or federally assisted work and nobody in the office owns certified payroll output; you plan to skip a weekly review of exception reports; or your current provider already produces the reports you need and the only gap is one manual export.

How we scored the options

The weights below are our analysis for a contractor that may bid prevailing-wage work. They are not vendor data. A firm with no public work should move the certified payroll weight to zero and raise total cost.

CriterionWeightWhy it matters
Certified payroll (WH-347) and prevailing wage output25%Covered federal and federally assisted work requires weekly submission
Labor by job, phase and classification20%Labor cost lands in job cost; wrong codes distort margins and reports
Total annual cost at your headcount20%Per-worker fees dominate at crew sizes; compare the full bundle
Implementation and data migration effort15%Setup and cutover risk fall on the office, usually during a busy season
Accounting and time-system integration10%Duplicate entry creates reconciliation work every pay cycle
Pricing transparency and renewal terms10%Quote-only pricing hides add-ons, and promotions end

Certified payroll software for small contractors

Certified payroll matters when your contract carries federal prevailing wage rules. Davis-Bacon coverage: contracts over $2,000 according to the U.S. Department of Labor's Wage and Hour Division (2023). The same DOL fact sheet says covered contractors must pay workers weekly and submit weekly certified payroll records to the contracting agency. A size-based exemption does not replace that duty, so a small firm that crosses the threshold on one job needs the same report as a large one.

The vendor claims are uneven. Projul's roundup says Foundation Software builds WH-347 generation in and says ADP treats certified payroll and prevailing wage as add-ons. Netchex's article says Netchex supports Davis-Bacon and state public works reporting, but Netchex wrote that article itself. For small contractors, the practical test is a sample. Ask each vendor to produce a report for a job with two classifications and one fringe benefit, and confirm the output includes the signed Statement of Compliance the DOL requires.

Normalized feature matrix

The matrix uses the same four questions for each vendor. "Not reported" means we found no statement either way in the sources we checked.

VendorCertified payroll (WH-347)Prevailing wagePublished list priceEvidence basis
GustoNone reported (2024)Not reportedNot verified; Gusto's page did not loadProjul roundup, June 12, 2024
QuickBooks PayrollNo native reporting; third-party add-ons (2024)Not on Intuit's pageYes, $6.50 to $10 per employeeIntuit pricing page; Projul
Patriot SoftwareNot mentioned on pricing pageNot mentionedYes, $17 and $37 basePatriot pricing page
Paychex FlexSupport available per Projul (2024); details unclearNot verifiedQuote onlyProjul; Netchex
ADP Workforce NowAdd-on (2024); flagged with an undefined ⚠ by NetchexAdd-on (2024)Quote onlyProjul; Netchex
Foundation SoftwareBuilt in per Projul (2024)Not reportedQuote onlyProjul
NetchexClaimed for Davis-Bacon and state public worksClaimedNone listedNetchex article, July 23, 2026

Cheap payroll software for a small construction company

Pricing checked October 20, 2026. Patriot and Intuit show base prices on their own pages. Projul's June 12, 2024 roundup is the only source we found with figures for Gusto, Paychex, ADP and Foundation, so treat those as historical. Gusto's pricing page did not load during our check, so we print no Gusto figure; confirm it on Gusto's site before you decide.

Basic Payroll: $17 per month plus $4 per worker according to Patriot Software (2026). Patriot's page advertises 50% off for three months, with no certified payroll mentioned. Model the renewal price, not the promotion.

Gusto certified payroll: none reported according to Projul (2024). Projul's roundup also lists Gusto prices, but we do not reprint them because Gusto's own page did not load.

ADP, reported by contractors: $15 to $30 per employee per month according to Projul (2024). Projul's roundup describes this as what contractors report paying, not an ADP list price.

Intuit's page now shows Workforce Payroll tiers. Its listed prices are $88 for Simple Start, $125 for Essentials and $203 for Premium plus Plus, with $6.50 per employee on the first two and $10 on the top tier. Core and Elite names from the 2024 roundup no longer appear as current plans. The Simple Start page shows $44 per month under a 50%-off promotion with no end date.

Illustrative annual cost for 25 workers is base times 12 plus the per-worker fee times 25 times 12, at list prices, before add-ons and taxes.

Vendor and planBase per monthPer employee or workerDate basis25-worker annual at list
Patriot Basic Payroll$17$4Patriot page, modified Oct 12, 2026$1,404
Patriot Full Service Payroll$37$5Same page$1,944
QuickBooks Workforce Payroll + Simple Start$88 list$6.50Intuit page; no effective date shown$3,006
QuickBooks Workforce Payroll + Essentials$125 list$6.50Same page$3,450
QuickBooks Workforce Premium + Plus$203 list$10Same page$5,436
Gusto (2024)Not verifiedNot verifiedProjul roundup, June 12, 2024; Gusto page did not loadContact vendor
Gusto, higher tier (2024)Not verifiedNot verifiedProjul roundup, June 12, 2024; Gusto page did not loadContact vendor
ADP Workforce NowCustom quote$15 to $30 reportedProjul roundup, 2024$4,500 to $9,000
Paychex FlexQuote onlyQuote onlyNot verifiedContact vendor
Foundation SoftwareQuote onlyNot publishedProjul (2024): several thousand dollars upfront plus maintenanceContact vendor
NetchexNone listedNone listedNetchex article, July 23, 2026Contact vendor
Adjacent workflow layer, Growth plan (not payroll)$447Not applicableProvider pricing page, checked Oct 20, 2026$5,364

Gusto vs QuickBooks payroll for contractors

The choice between these two usually comes down to where your books already live and whether you need certified payroll. Gusto has no certified payroll reporting according to Projul's 2024 roundup, and that is a disqualifier for covered work. Its current price is unverified because Gusto's page did not load, so we cannot rank it against QuickBooks on cost. QuickBooks Payroll fits firms already on QuickBooks Online, but its pricing page does not mention certified payroll, and Projul says certified payroll needs a third-party add-on.

For 25 workers, Intuit's current Simple Start list price works out to about $250.50 per month. We print no Gusto equivalent because we could not verify Gusto's price. Compare feature sets as well as price, because the plans include different things.

Vendor profiles: best fit, limits and evidence

Gusto

Best fit: owner-run crews with standard wage work and no certified payroll requirement, where the owner wants a simple interface and a fixed plan. Limitations: Projul's 2024 roundup says Gusto offers no certified payroll reporting, and Gusto's own pricing page did not load in our check, so current prices are unverified. Implementation: plan a data import of employee records, pay rates and worker classifications, and confirm how any job or cost-code tags export into your job-cost workbook. Evidence: Projul roundup (2024) and Gusto's pricing page, which we could not load.

QuickBooks Payroll

Best fit: firms that already keep books in QuickBooks Online and run standard payroll with no prevailing-wage reporting. Limitations: Intuit's current pricing page does not mention certified payroll, and Projul's 2024 roundup says it requires third-party add-ons. The top bundle lists at $203 per month before per-employee fees, so bundle choice matters. Implementation: Intuit's FAQ says time tracking is included with Premium and Elite, so confirm which current bundle includes the time tracking your crews need. Evidence: Intuit QuickBooks Payroll pricing, checked October 20, 2026.

Patriot Software

Best fit: small firms that want the lowest published base fee and can accept a simpler product. Limitations: Patriot's pricing page does not mention certified payroll, so ask for it in writing before you assume it. The 50% promotion lasts three months, so model the renewal price. Implementation: confirm how the product records job-level labor detail, since the pricing page does not describe it. Evidence: Patriot Software pricing, modified October 12, 2026.

Paychex Flex

Best fit: mid-size firms that want a national provider and will negotiate a quote that includes add-ons. Limitations: Projul's 2024 roundup says construction-specific features cost more and lists certified payroll support without detail. A reviewer quoted in the Netchex article says Paychex Flex pricing tends to rise after signing. That is a reviewer claim, not a published term. Implementation: get written renewal caps and a list of add-on modules before you sign. Evidence: Projul roundup (2024); Netchex article (2026).

ADP Workforce Now

Best fit: larger firms with multi-state or union-rate complexity. We did not test that fit, so treat it as a hypothesis for the demo. Limitations: Projul's 2024 roundup says certified payroll and prevailing wage features are add-ons, and Netchex marks ADP with a ⚠ symbol in its certified payroll column without defining it. Implementation: expect a module-by-module quote, and ask for each add-on priced separately. Evidence: Projul roundup (2024).

Foundation Software

Best fit: contractors who want a construction-focused back office and can fund a larger implementation. Limitations: pricing is custom. Projul's 2024 roundup says to plan for several thousand dollars upfront plus annual maintenance, and it says certified payroll (WH-347) generation is built in. We could not verify that claim on Foundation's own site during this review. Implementation: our judgment is that a full back-office rollout takes longer than a payroll-only tool, so plan migration and training time accordingly. Evidence: Projul roundup (2024).

Netchex

Best fit: contractors who want a payroll and HR suite with claimed Davis-Bacon and state public works reporting, and who will test that claim in a demo. Limitations: the certified payroll claim appears in Netchex's own article, which ranks Netchex first, and the article lists no prices. Implementation: ask for a demo built on one of your real prevailing-wage jobs, including a sample report and the signed Statement of Compliance. Evidence: Netchex article, July 23, 2026.

Construction payroll with job costing

Job costing means labor cost lands on the job, phase and cost code where the work happened. Payroll software does not always do this on its own. Projul's roundup describes its own product as not payroll software and says its time data can help organize certified payroll inputs. That is a seller's description, so treat it as a lead rather than a finding. Sage 300 Construction and Real Estate, which Projul also covers, is an enterprise option that Projul describes as enterprise-priced, so it sits outside the seven options here.

The useful test is an export. Ask each vendor to show labor by worker, job, classification and pay type in a file your bookkeeper can import, and check whether overtime and fringe amounts appear as separate lines. If the export cannot carry job and classification fields, someone will rebuild job costing by hand every week, and that is where errors creep in.

Where workflow automation fits above payroll

Payroll problems start before the payroll run. Hours go missing, workers land in the wrong classification, and approvals and deadlines surround every cycle. US Tech Automations publishes finance and admin workflows that chase overdue invoices and track deadlines, and it describes finance and accounting agents on its site. Its pricing page does not name payroll, certified payroll or any accounting integration other than Gmail, so any payroll-adjacent workflow needs its integration confirmed in discovery before anyone plans around it.

Here is a hypothetical design, not a result. Take a 25-person framing contractor that runs weekly payroll with 3 prevailing-wage jobs, and that logs time in QuickBooks Online. A proposed workflow would read TimeActivity records and use MetaData.LastUpdatedTime to pick up only lines changed since the last run. Suppose one week produces 212 time lines and 18 of them lack a classification code. The workflow would hold those 18 lines, send a review item to the payroll admin with the worker, job and missing field, and release nothing to the payroll system until a person approves the correction. The admin clears the items, the payroll provider generates the weekly certified payroll, and the workflow logs each hold and release. Prerequisites: confirm the time data really lives in QuickBooks Online, confirm the access scope, and agree on classification codes before any go-live.

The no-code alternative

Most contractors comparing a workflow layer are really choosing between it and stitching the process together in Zapier, Make or n8n, or writing a script in-house. Those tools can keep run histories, retries, error branches and audit records when they are configured. What they do not do by default is design the controls for you. Whichever route you take, you own observability (who sees failed runs and how fast), idempotency (so a retried run cannot post a duplicate correction), escalation paths, access controls, data retention and maintenance when a payroll provider changes its interface. A US Tech Automations design could configure the same pieces differently, with named prerequisites, a stated owner for each review queue and a human approval before anything touches payroll. Test that against your own systems before relying on it.

Who should choose which vendor

Buyer situationStart withReasonDisqualifier to check
Public or federally assisted crewsFoundation Software or NetchexBoth claim certified payroll built in or supportedSample WH-347-style report and Statement of Compliance
Standard crews, no prevailing-wage workPatriot Basic Payroll or QuickBooks PayrollPublished base and per-worker pricesNeither page mentions certified payroll
Books already in QuickBooks OnlineQuickBooks PayrollSame ecosystem as your ledgerCertified payroll needs a third-party add-on
Multi-state or union-rate mid-size firmADP Workforce Now or Paychex FlexQuote-based suites with broader modulesAdd-on costs and renewal increases
Owner who wants a simple interface, no covered workGustoSimple plan; current price unverifiedNo certified payroll per Projul (2024)

Evidence ledger

FigureValueSourceDate
Contractors with openings reporting hard-to-fill openings94%AGC and Arcoro survey, reported by ENRAug 29, 2024
AGC members surveyedNearly 1,500SameJuly and August 2024
Davis-Bacon coverage thresholdOver $2,000DOL WHD Fact Sheet 66Oct 2023
Patriot Basic Payroll$17 per month plus $4 per workerPatriot pricing pageModified Oct 12, 2026
QuickBooks Simple Start$88 list; $6.50 per employeeIntuit pricing pageChecked Oct 20, 2026
Gusto pricingNot verified; page did not loadGusto pricing pageNot available
Netchex prices listedNoneNetchex articleJuly 23, 2026
Adjacent workflow layer, Growth plan$447 per month, 5 active workflowsProvider pricing pageChecked Oct 20, 2026

Glossary

  • Certified payroll: A weekly payroll report for covered public or federally assisted work, with a signed Statement of Compliance.

  • Davis-Bacon Act: The federal prevailing wage law for construction contracts above $2,000, as stated in DOL Fact Sheet 66.

  • Prevailing wage: The minimum wage and fringe rates set for a classification on a covered project.

  • Fringe benefits: Employer-paid benefit amounts that prevailing wage rules can require alongside wages.

  • Job costing: Assigning labor cost to a specific job, phase or cost code.

  • System of record: The one system the team trusts for a given data field, here the payroll record.

  • Statement of Compliance: The signed attestation that certified payrolls are accurate and complete.

Common mistakes

  • Buying on base price alone. At 25 workers on Patriot Basic Payroll's list price, the per-worker fee is $1,200 of the $1,404 annual total.

  • Treating a vendor's own ranking as independent. Netchex's article ranks Netchex first and lists no prices.

  • Assuming "certified payroll" means the same thing everywhere. It needs weekly submission and a signed Statement of Compliance.

  • Ignoring classification codes. Wrong codes break reports and job cost at the same time.

  • Forgetting promotions end. Patriot advertises 50% off for three months, so model the renewal price.

  • Skipping the sample report. A feature claim is not a deliverable until you see the output.

Frequently asked questions

Which payroll software handles certified payroll for a small contractor?

Based on the claims we could check, Foundation Software and Netchex claim certified payroll is built in or supported. ADP treats it as an add-on, and Projul reports Paychex offers certified payroll support with construction features costing more. Gusto and QuickBooks Payroll do not include it natively. Before you buy, request a sample report from a job with two classifications and a fringe benefit, and confirm the signed Statement of Compliance is produced.

Is Gusto or QuickBooks Payroll cheaper for contractors?

We could not verify Gusto's current price, so we cannot say which is cheaper. Intuit's current Simple Start list price works out to about $250.50 per month for 25 workers. Confirm Gusto's price on its own site, then compare feature sets, not only the headline number.

What is the cheapest option on published prices?

Patriot Basic Payroll has the lowest published base-plus-per-worker price in this comparison. At 25 workers, that is $117 per month at list, or $1,404 per year. Its pricing page does not mention certified payroll, so it is a poor fit for prevailing-wage work until the vendor confirms that in writing.

Does a workflow tool replace payroll software?

No. A workflow layer complements a payroll system of record and does not replace it. When NOT to use US Tech Automations: skip it if your payroll provider already produces the certified payroll and job-level labor reports you need and your only gap is one manual export. Skip it if you need the payroll run, tax deposits or year-end filings handled, because its published materials describe workflow automation, not payroll processing. Skip it if your crew is small, works in one state and has no prevailing-wage jobs, since a payroll product alone is simpler to run.

Do I need job costing inside payroll software?

Not always, but if you bid work against labor cost, you need labor by job and cost code somewhere, and the payroll export is usually the easiest place to get it. Ask each vendor to show that export with job and classification fields before you rely on it.

Next step

If you want to scope the layer that sits above payroll, such as exception routing for missing hours and deadline tracking for certified payroll, read about workflow automation for contractors and bring your payroll provider's written answer on certified payroll with you.

About the Author

Garrett Mullins
Garrett Mullins
Workflow Specialist

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.