Residential Contractor Software in 3 Steps for 2027
Key Takeaways
The category decision comes first: for an owner-run residential trade business, a field-service platform with published plan prices is the default, and a quote-based suite fits teams that already know they need one.
Residential contractor software is the job system that books work, sends estimates, dispatches crews and collects payment, and accounting, marketing and other tools connect to it.
Seat count drives the real monthly cost more than the entry plan does, so compare plans at the number of users you will actually run.
Automation access is the dividing line. Housecall Pro lists webhooks only on its MAX plan, and Workiz lists open API and Zapier access only on its Ultimate plan.
Three of the seven products here (Workiz, JobNimbus and ServiceTitan) publish no dollar prices for their main plans, so ask for a written quote that names users, plan and add-ons before you compare totals.
TL;DR: For most owner-operated residential trades, pick by team size, published price, and whether you need webhooks or an open API, then confirm those three points in writing before any demo.
Who this is for
This guide is for an owner or operations lead at a small construction business who is close to choosing a platform. Independent contractors: 79% of specialty trade establishments according to NAHB (2025), using 2022 Economic Census data, which also places at least 96% of specialty trade contractors under SBA small-business limits.
Choose this category if you run residential work in HVAC, plumbing, electrical, roofing, remodeling or a similar trade and want one place for scheduling, estimates, invoices and payments. The fit is strongest when you take bookings by phone, text or web form, send estimates that homeowners approve online, invoice after each job, and chase unpaid balances by hand.
Red flags: you cannot name one person to own setup and user permissions; your jobs depend on multi-stage change orders and selections that you have not confirmed the tool supports; or you need an accounting or payment connection you have not verified in writing with the vendor.
How we evaluated these tools
Everything in this guide comes from public vendor pages read on October 21, 2026, one SEC filing and one NAHB analysis. No product was run in a hands-on trial for this article, and every figure carries an inline citation or sits in a table that draws on the cited pages.
| Criterion | Weight | Evidence used |
|---|---|---|
| Core workflow: booking, dispatch, estimates, invoices | 25% | Plan feature lists |
| Published price and seat fit | 20% | Plan prices and user limits |
| Automation and API or webhook access | 20% | Automation counts, webhook and API tiers |
| Accounting and payment connections | 15% | QuickBooks sync listings by plan |
| Residential trade fit | 10% | Trade lists on pricing or filing pages |
| Setup and support signals | 10% | Onboarding and support statements |
Core workflow and price together carry 45% of the weight because they decide whether a product fits on day one and whether the monthly total is workable. Automation access carries 20% because a follow-up workflow is only possible when a product exposes events or an API. The weights are judgment calls, not vendor-supplied scores, and the feature matrix below shows the underlying facts so you can re-weight them for your own shop.
What each platform publishes
| Product | Published pricing | Entry plan users | Automation or API access | Accounting sync |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jobber | Yes, from Core for one user | 1 | Reminders on Connect; custom workflow automations on Grow | QuickBooks Online on Connect |
| Housecall Pro | Yes: Basic, Essentials, MAX | 1 | Webhooks and open API on MAX | QuickBooks Online sync on Essentials |
| Contractor Foreman | Yes: Basic through Unlimited | 1 | Not listed on pricing page | Not itemized on pricing page |
| Projul | Yes: Starter through Pro | 3 | Not listed on pricing page | QuickBooks Online on Core+; QuickBooks Desktop on Pro |
| Workiz | Request pricing | Not stated | 5, 10 or 30 automations by plan; Open API and Zapier on Ultimate | Not listed on pricing page |
| JobNimbus | Request pricing | 3 on Essentials | 10, 30, 100 or unlimited automations by tier | Integration counts by tier |
| ServiceTitan | Quote-based | Per technician | Not listed on pricing page | Not listed on pricing page |
"Not listed" means the public pricing page did not say, not that the product lacks the feature. Confirm those cells with the vendor before you decide. The one limitation of this kind that a pricing page states outright is Contractor Foreman's: its Basic and Standard plans do not include local material database pricing.
Published prices and yearly totals
Pricing checked October 21, 2026. Only prices printed on each vendor's own pricing page appear below, and where a vendor prints none, the cell says Quote-based.
Jobber's Core plan for one user has a base price of $49 per month, and Connect for five users has a base price of $199 per month, with extra users at $29 per month each; annual billing for Connect at five users lists $149 per month after its introductory rate, according to Jobber (2026).
Essentials plan on Housecall Pro: $149 per month according to Housecall Pro (2026), billed annually for up to five users; the MAX plan on Housecall Pro costs $299 per month billed annually for up to eight users, with $35 per month for each additional MAX user.
The Plus plan on Contractor Foreman is $166 per month billed annually for up to eight users, and its Basic plan is $49 per month billed annually for one user, according to Contractor Foreman (2026).
Projul's Starter plan is $199 per month billed annually, or $2,388 a year for up to three users, and its Core plan is $399 per month billed annually, or $4,788 a year for up to 10 users, according to Projul (2026).
Workiz publishes no dollar prices for its Standard, Pro and Ultimate plans, which carry 5, 10 and 30 automations respectively, according to Workiz (2026). JobNimbus also publishes no dollar amounts, listing Essentials through Enterprise tiers with 10, 30 and 100 automations on the first three, according to JobNimbus (2026). ServiceTitan's pricing page names Starter, Essentials and The Works packages and marks per-technician pricing as quote-based, according to ServiceTitan (2026).
| Product | Plan | Users included | Published price | Yearly at listed rate |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jobber | Core | 1 | $49 per month base | $588 |
| Jobber | Connect | 5 | $199 per month base | $2,388 |
| Housecall Pro | Essentials | 5 | $149 per month, billed annually | $1,788 |
| Housecall Pro | MAX | 8 | $299 per month, billed annually | $3,588 |
| Contractor Foreman | Plus | Up to 8 | $166 per month, billed annually | $1,992 |
| Projul | Starter | Up to 3 | $199 per month, billed annually | $2,388 |
| Projul | Core | Up to 10 | $399 per month, billed annually | $4,788 |
| Workiz | Standard, Pro, Ultimate | Not stated | Request pricing | Quote-based |
| JobNimbus | Essentials to Enterprise | 3 to 20+ | Request pricing | Quote-based |
| ServiceTitan | Starter, Essentials, The Works | Per technician | Quote-based | Quote-based |
Yearly figures are the monthly price times twelve, or the page's own annual total for Projul. They exclude payment processing, add-ons and introductory promotions, so treat Jobber's base-price row as a ceiling and check the current promotion on the day you buy. Quote-based rows are not estimated here. For those three vendors, the only honest number is the one on a written proposal that names your seat count and add-ons.
Vendor profiles: where each product fits
Jobber
Best fit: owner-run service businesses that want booking, quotes, invoicing and online payments first, then automated reminders and QuickBooks Online sync as the team grows. Core is the one-user entry point. For two or more users the pricing page routes buyers to sales, so most teams should expect a conversation rather than a self-serve checkout.
Limitations: Core does not include automated client reminders, automatic payment collection or QuickBooks sync, which begin on Connect. Custom workflow automations sit on Grow, so a follow-up process with custom rules pushes you to a higher tier. The pricing page does not list multi-location support.
Implementation: the pricing page does not describe onboarding steps or timelines. Plan a pilot with one crew, clean your customer list before importing it, and name one owner for templates and the price book.
Primary evidence: Jobber pricing plans.
Housecall Pro
Best fit: solo operators and small teams that want scheduling, estimates, invoices and financing in one app, with a clear path to a higher tier. Essentials is the plan most second-person shops will need, because Basic is limited to one user.
Limitations: the help center says webhooks are available only on the MAX plan, so any automation that listens for events requires the top tier. Additional MAX users are charged per seat, so the total rises with headcount, and open API access also sits on MAX.
Implementation: the webhook setup has four steps: turn on the Webhooks app, enter a receiving URL, save to receive a signing secret, and choose the events to enable. Your side needs a secured endpoint that verifies that signature before it acts on any event. The help article gives no setup timeline, so ask for one if you plan to build the receiver yourself.
Primary evidence: Housecall Pro pricing and Housecall Pro webhook setup.
Contractor Foreman
Best fit: buyers who want flat published plans that scale by user count and who value a longer money-back window on annual plans than on monthly ones. Per-user pricing is visible on the page, which makes budgeting easier than with a quote-based suite.
Limitations: Basic is offered only on annual billing. The page says Basic and Standard plans exclude local material database pricing. The pricing page does not itemize every feature per plan in text form, so confirm feature by feature before you buy.
Implementation: the page says the top two tiers include free setup and implementation. Ask whether that covers importing your existing jobs and customers, since the page does not spell it out.
Primary evidence: Contractor Foreman pricing.
Projul
Best fit: contractors who need change orders, progress billing and job costing alongside estimating and invoicing. Those features sit on Core+, which also adds a client portal with messaging and Gantt charts. The Pro plan adds field tools such as daily logs and GPS and geofencing, plus QuickBooks Desktop integration.
Limitations: the FAQ says subcontractor management is not included on Starter. The comparison table appears to show a subcontractor figure for Starter that conflicts with the FAQ, so confirm the subcontractor limit in writing before you rely on either.
Implementation: the page says annual plans other than Starter include a premium support package. Plan setup around your change-order and job-costing templates before you import history.
Primary evidence: Projul pricing.
Workiz
Best fit: service businesses that want call handling, scheduling and automations sold as tiers, with a free trial to test the product before committing. Pro adds multi-location management and roles and permissions. Ultimate adds sales proposals, checklists, service plans, equipment tracking and Open API and Zapier integration.
Limitations: no dollar prices are published, and phone, answering and marketing add-ons are sold separately with no prices shown. Open API access is on Ultimate only, so a custom workflow means both the top tier and a quote.
Implementation: request a quote that includes add-ons and your user count. Decide whether your automation will run through Zapier or through a custom endpoint before you pick a tier, because that decision changes which plan you need.
Primary evidence: Workiz pricing.
ServiceTitan
Best fit: larger trade businesses running HVAC, plumbing, electrical, roofing, garage door or other residential service lines that expect to add many technicians. The pricing page lists those trades under a Residential section and prices per technician.
Limitations: pricing is quote-based. The company's filing describes serving both residences and commercial buildings, and it counts an active customer by annualized billings above a set threshold, which suggests a platform built for businesses well beyond a sole operator. Revenue for fiscal 2026: $961.0 million according to U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (2026), and the same filing reports approximately 10,800 Active Customers as of January 31, 2026.
Implementation: ask for a written scope that covers dispatch, pricebook and integration setup, and name the implementation contact before you sign. The pricing page does not publish an implementation timeline.
Primary evidence: ServiceTitan pricing and the SEC filing above.
JobNimbus
Best fit: teams that want tiered automation counts and project-board structure, with multi-location support on the higher tiers. Essentials is the entry point. Pro is the first tier that lists multi-location support.
Limitations: no dollar prices are published, and the page says pricing depends on plan, user count and add-ons. Essentials has no multi-location support and a low user cap, and integration counts rise by tier. Marketing and communications bundles are sold as add-ons without published prices.
Implementation: request pricing with a written seat count for each role, since the page separates admin, sales and field users in its pricing logic. Ask which integrations count against your tier before you sign.
Primary evidence: JobNimbus pricing.
Where a follow-up workflow fits
Payment follow-up is where a configurable workflow earns its place. Housecall Pro's help center lists 41 webhook events, including job.completed and invoice.paid, according to Housecall Pro Help Center (2026), and the same article limits webhooks to the MAX plan. A proposed design from US Tech Automations would be a configurable workflow, not a description of a customer system already in production: a job.completed event opens a follow-up task in a review queue, which names the job, the customer and the invoice that still needs payment, and the office manager sees it in a daily list.
The invoice.paid event closes the task when the matching invoice is settled, so a paid account never reaches the reminder stage. Prerequisites to confirm before any build are the MAX plan with webhooks enabled, a secured HTTPS endpoint that verifies the signing secret, a mapping from job records to invoice records, and a written escalation rule for failed deliveries. Human review points are the approval of every customer-facing reminder template, a weekly check for amounts that do not match between the job and the invoice, and a review of the event list whenever the vendor changes it.
The payment follow-up math
This scenario is illustrative, not a customer: a four-technician shop completes 40 jobs in a month, and 9 of those jobs still have an unpaid invoice at day 14, averaging $420 each. Checking every completed job by hand at 6 minutes each, which is an assumption rather than a measured figure, takes 40 × 6 = 240 minutes, or 4 hours, per month. Starting from job.completed and clearing items on invoice.paid means only the 9 open items need a person, which is 9 × 6 = 54 minutes, a difference of 186 minutes, or about 3.1 hours. The 9 open invoices total 9 × $420 = $3,780 in receivables that the owner should see every week. That arithmetic only holds if the webhook stays enabled on the MAX plan and the endpoint never misses an event, so the reconciliation check above is part of the real cost.
Build it in Zapier, Make or n8n instead?
Many buyers will try to stitch this together in Zapier, Make or n8n, and that is a fair alternative. Those tools can support run histories, retries, error branches and audit evidence when they are configured that way. The buyer still designs and owns observability, idempotency so a duplicate event does not create a second task, escalation, access controls and ongoing maintenance, and that work grows with every new workflow.
A proposed US Tech Automations design would configure those same pieces differently: one approval step before any customer message, an exception queue for failed or unmatched events, and an audit log the office manager can read without opening the automation tool. The prerequisites are the same either way: API or webhook access on the platform you chose, a named owner, and a written list of who can change the rules.
When NOT to use US Tech Automations: a one-person shop that needs only booking, quotes and invoices is better served by a base plan on Jobber or Housecall Pro with no custom workflow, because there is no event stream worth automating yet. If your only gap is proposal wording, a general writing tool such as the ones in our 2026 writing tool roundup or the SaaS-focused guide may be enough, since those tools do not need job data. If the platform you choose has no API, webhook or export path, there is nothing for a workflow to listen to, so a weekly manual report is the honest choice until that changes.
Three steps before you request quotes
The seat limits below come from the pricing pages cited in the previous sections.
Step 1 is to set your seat count by role. Use the table to find which plans list your number of users.
| Seats you run | Plans that list that seat count |
|---|---|
| 1 | Jobber Core; Housecall Pro Basic; Contractor Foreman Basic |
| 3 | Projul Starter; Contractor Foreman Standard; JobNimbus Essentials |
| 5 | Jobber Connect; Housecall Pro Essentials; Contractor Foreman Plus (up to 8) |
| 8 | Housecall Pro MAX (8 included); Contractor Foreman Plus (up to 8) |
| 10 | Projul Core (up to 10); JobNimbus Pro (up to 10) |
| 15 | Jobber Connect and Grow (15 each); JobNimbus Premium (up to 19); Projul Core+ (up to 20) |
Step 2 is to compare published prices at that seat count, using the yearly figures in the pricing table above. If a plan's price is not published, the comparison has to wait for a written quote.
Step 3 is to check API and webhook access, the accounting sync on the plan you would buy, and who owns setup. Webhooks are listed on Housecall Pro's MAX plan and open API on Workiz's Ultimate plan; confirm those for any other product in writing. Name one owner for setup, permissions and the monthly review before the trial starts.
Common mistakes
Comparing entry prices and ignoring the seat count your crew actually needs.
Buying a tier for its feature list without checking that the specific feature sits on that tier.
Treating a demo promise as contract scope. Get the setup scope and the seat count in writing.
Building a follow-up automation before job records and invoice records map cleanly to each other.
Skipping the duplicate-event check, so a retried webhook creates two reminders for one customer.
Questions buyers ask before signing
Which residential contractor software has the lowest published price?
Among the products here that print dollar amounts, Jobber's Core plan and Contractor Foreman's Basic plan are the two lowest one-user entries, but the yearly totals in the pricing table show how quickly the price rises once you add seats.
Do I need a quote for ServiceTitan, JobNimbus or Workiz?
Yes. Each of those pricing pages routes buyers to a quote rather than printing a dollar price, so budget from a written proposal that names your user count and add-ons.
Can residential contractor software track permits?
Permit tracking is a separate product category, and none of the pricing pages reviewed here list permit tracking as a feature. For that category, see our contractor permit tracking comparison.
Do these tools connect to QuickBooks Online?
Several do, but the plan matters: Jobber lists QuickBooks Online sync on Connect, Housecall Pro lists it from Essentials, and Projul lists it on Core+. Confirm the sync on the exact plan you intend to buy.
Do I need webhooks to get started?
No. For basic scheduling, estimates and invoicing inside the app, you do not need events or an API; you need them only when you want the platform to trigger work in another system.
How long does setup take?
The pricing pages reviewed here do not publish implementation timelines, so run a one-crew pilot and ask each vendor for a written setup scope before you commit.
Bottom line
For most owner-run residential trades, start with the platforms that publish prices, confirm seats and accounting sync on paper, and add a workflow layer only when the platform exposes events at the tier you buy. At this stage the category decision matters more than the brand: a platform with the right tier, a named owner and a clean invoice trail leaves you the most room later. To see how US Tech Automations configures this for payment follow-up, start with the events your platform actually exposes.
About the Author

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.
