Skip to content
AI & Automation

Risk Adjustment Coding Software: 3 Steps to Choose in 2027

Oct 30, 2026

Key Takeaways

  • Most small practices should start with a coding reference or a chart-review workflow, not a payer-scale suite.

  • Five of the eight products publish prices on pages we opened. Navina, RAAPID and Cotiviti are quote-based.

  • Three seats on the plans in our cost table cost $1,545 to $2,250 a year before add-ons.

  • Evidence is the biggest gap. Few pages say whether each suggested HCC links to note text, which model year it uses, or who approved it.

  • A workflow layer can route and log work around a coding tool, but only after you confirm how signed notes leave your EHR.

Category first, then brand

Risk adjustment coding software helps a practice find diagnoses that a medical record supports, document the evidence and carry the resulting hierarchical condition categories (HCCs) into the risk scores that Medicare Advantage payments depend on. Pick the category before the brand. A payer-scale retrieval suite will not fit a three-coder office, and a lookup tool, as its pages describe it, does not point to the note behind a diagnosis.

The stakes are rising. MA payments above traditional Medicare: $76 billion in 2026 according to KFF (2026). The same KFF summary of MedPAC estimates puts uncorrected coding intensity at about 4% in 2026, down from 10% in 2023, according to KFF (2026).

The tools here fall into three groups. Coder reference tools (HCC Buddy, HCC Coder, AAPC Codify, Find-A-Code and Optum EncoderPro) look up codes, calculate risk scores and explain coding rules, and their pages do not describe reading charts or running a review queue. Chart-review AI (Navina and RAAPID) connects to clinical notes and surfaces suspected conditions with supporting text. Payer-scale suites (Cotiviti) run retrieval, review and submission programs for health plans.

TL;DR: A reference tool is the honest starting point for a practice that needs HCC lookups, a risk calculator and trained coders. A chart-review platform makes sense once record volume is steady and an EHR feed is confirmed. Payer suites rarely fit a small practice.

US Tech Automations is not a risk adjustment coding vendor. Its public site describes a managed model in which the company maps a process, designs and builds the workflow, then supports it, so it sits in the workflow layer around these tools rather than replacing them. If your real problem is closing quality care gaps rather than HCC capture, that is a separate decision from the one in this guide.

How we evaluated these tools

We applied six weighted criteria to eight products. The weights reflect a small practice buyer's priorities. They are our judgment, not vendor or market data, and every price or figure in this guide comes from a public page cited where it appears.

CriterionWeightPoints of 100Rationale
Fit for a small team's size and volume25%25Payer suites add cost and setup a small team may not absorb
Model and evidence coverage20%20A suggested HCC is only useful if the note behind it is visible
Audit trail and human review20%20Defensibility matters more than raw code volume
Published pricing and billing terms15%15Buyers can budget only when prices or quote paths are clear
Integration and data prerequisites10%10Each EHR or export step adds setup work
Security and compliance statements10%10Protected health information needs documented controls

We included products a buyer can find on a public vendor page or in an independent source today. We set aside CodaMetrix, whose page targets hospitals and health systems, and Vatica Health, which pairs software with clinical staff and publishes no pricing.

Feature matrix: what each page says

"Not stated" means the page we opened does not say so. It does not mean the product lacks the feature, and a sales conversation may settle it.

ProductV28 model namedEvidence tied to note textEHR integration statedAudit trail statedPublic price
HCC BuddyYesNot stated; EvidenceCheck appears in navigation onlyNot statedNot statedYes
HCC CoderNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedYes
AAPC CodifyNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedYes
Find-A-CodeNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedYes
Optum EncoderProNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedYes
NavinaNot statedYes, per site claimsYes: athenahealth, Epic, VeradigmAudit readiness claimedNo
RAAPIDNot statedYes, per company claimsNot statedNot statedNo
CotivitiNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNo

Navina and RAAPID describe evidence tied to the note, and both do so in vendor-written copy. HCC Buddy's EvidenceCheck tool appears only in site navigation, so we cannot confirm it is part of the Pro plan. RAAPID's page calls its out-of-the-box accuracy independently validated but names no validator.

Pricing and cost comparison

Pricing checked October 26, 2026. We print only prices read on each vendor's own pricing page, and quote-based marks products that publish none.

  • Standard tier on HCC Coder: $515 per user a year according to HCC Coder (2026). The Pro tier on HCC Coder costs $750 per user a year, and its Enterprise price varies and requires contacting the vendor.

  • The Pro plan on HCC Buddy is $199.99 a year, or $19.99 a month at a founder rate for the first 500 users, according to HCC Buddy (2026). The page lists a 7-day trial with no card required and no per-seat terms for teams.

  • The Pro Fee plan on AAPC Codify is $44 a month for members and $57 a month for nonmembers, according to AAPC (2026). The Complete plan is $54 and $66. The page lists no annual prices and no price for its HCC Calculator add-on.

  • Professional tier on Find-A-Code: $450 a year or $45 a month according to Find-A-Code (2026). The page describes shared account access, so the per-seat cost is unclear.

  • The Standard Online tier on Optum's site lists at $299.95, the Professional Online tier at $549.95 and the Expert Online tier at $999.95, each per single user, according to Optum (2026). The page states no billing term, and its HCC content is a separate add-on.

  • Navina, RAAPID and Cotiviti are quote-based. Navina's only call to action is a strategy call, RAAPID's blog points to a demo and expert call, and Cotiviti's site directs visitors to a team contact.

ProductPlanPublished priceThree-seat annual cost
HCC BuddyPro$199.99 a yearNot computed; seat terms not stated
HCC CoderStandard$515 per user a year$1,545
HCC CoderPro$750 per user a year$2,250
AAPC CodifyPro Fee, nonmember$57 a month$2,052
Find-A-CodeProfessional$450 a year or $45 a monthNot computed; shared account access
Optum EncoderProProfessional Online$549.95 per user$1,649.85, assuming an annual license (the page states no billing term)

The three-seat column multiplies the per-seat price by three and excludes add-ons. We used the nonmember Codify price because no HCC add-on price is published. HCC Buddy and Find-A-Code are not multiplied because their pages do not state per-seat terms clearly.

Vendor profiles

HCC Buddy

Best fit: a solo or small coding team that needs unlimited ICD-10-CM lookups and a CMS-HCC V28 RAF calculator without an implementation project. Limitations: the Pro page does not mention EHR integration, audit trails or chart review. Implementation: no integration is documented, so your team keeps the evidence trail in its own chart review. Evidence: HCC Buddy pricing page.

HCC Coder

Best fit: a coding team that wants HCC and ICD-10 lookup, risk calculators and batch scoring under an annual per-user license. Limitations: the product page does not say which V24 or V28 versions its calculators support, and it is silent on chart review and audit trails. SSO and custom branding are listed without tier assignments. Implementation: seat count drives cost, so confirm the batch scoring input format before you buy. Evidence: HCC Coder products page.

AAPC Codify

Best fit: coders who want CPT, ICD-10 and HCC reference in one AAPC subscription. Limitations: the HCC Calculator is available only with Pro Fee or Complete, and its price is not shown. Member pricing applies only to AAPC members. Implementation: all four plans show a 14-day free trial. Evidence: AAPC Codify pricing page.

Find-A-Code

Best fit: a practice with mixed coding and billing questions that wants crosswalks, fee data and an E/M audit tool in one subscription. Limitations: the pricing page does not list an HCC risk calculator as a tier feature, though the site menu links one, so confirm it before buying. Its AI assistant, Aimee, is capped at 20 responses per user a month, shared across the account. Evidence: Find-A-Code subscription page.

Optum EncoderPro

Best fit: coders who want a long-running code reference with claim-review tools. The Expert tier adds over 130 ClaimsManager rules and a 24-month historical content database. Limitations: HCC content is a separate add-on whose contents the page does not describe, and no model-version or audit features are stated. Evidence: Optum online coding page.

Best fit: provider groups that want HCC suggestions inside clinician workflows, with EHR integrations for athenahealth, Epic and Veradigm. Limitations: its site claims evidence-backed HCC suggestions and audit-readiness workflows but names no independent validation. One customer testimonial reports a RAF average improvement, which is a customer account rather than a verified result. Its pricing path returned a not-found error when we opened it. Implementation: confirm your EHR is on the supported list before scoping.

RAAPID

Best fit: provider or plan organizations running retrospective and prospective programs that want each HCC tied to record text. Company claim: Company-reported final accuracy: 98%+ after human review according to RAAPID (company-reported). Limitations: its out-of-the-box accuracy claim is labeled independently validated, but no validator is named, and pricing is not posted. The one trade roundup we opened says its RAAPID section relies on RAAPID-authored material, according to IT Supply Chain.

Cotiviti

Best fit: health plans that want one partner for retrospective review, medical record retrieval, coding and suspect analytics. Limitations: its site describes payer-program components and gives no pricing. For a small practice, that is usually more platform than the work requires. Implementation: expect enterprise contracting and data-feed work. Evidence: we opened only Cotiviti's home page, so no page-level link is given.

Who should choose which tool

ProductChoose it ifSkip it if
HCC BuddyYou need unlimited lookups and a V28 calculator for one or a few peopleYou need audit trails or chart review in the same tool
HCC CoderYour coders want HCC lookup, calculators and batch scoring per userYou need V24 or V28 detail stated in writing before buying
AAPC CodifyCoders want CPT, ICD-10 and HCC reference in one AAPC planYou only need HCC lookups
Find-A-CodeYou want crosswalks, fee data and an E/M audit tool with HCC contentYou need HCC calculators confirmed in your tier
Optum EncoderProYou want a long-running code reference and claim-review rulesYou need risk adjustment content in the base price
NavinaProvider groups want HCC suggestions inside clinician workflowsYou need a published price before a sales call
RAAPIDYou run retrospective or prospective programs and want evidence tied to each HCCYou need published pricing or a named validator
CotivitiHealth plans want a full retrieval and review partnerYou are a small practice

Who this is for

This guide suits an owner or operations lead at a small healthcare business who is close to choosing. A reference tool fits if one or two people need HCC and ICD-10 lookups and a risk calculator, and your team already reviews charts. A chart-review platform fits if record volume is steady, an EHR export is confirmed and a named clinician or coder owns each approval.

Red flags: nobody can name the person who signs off on each coded diagnosis; the EHR export or access route is unconfirmed; the buyer expects the tool to decide what a chart supports without clinician review.

Where a small practice's workflow leaks

The leaks usually sit in three places: pulling the right records, deciding which suspected diagnoses deserve a coder's time, and proving the evidence later. The two workflows below are proposed, configurable designs, not a description of a current deployment, and each needs a clinical owner before anything goes live.

Prerequisites come first. The EHR or practice management system must allow a scheduled export or API access, and the export must include signed note text with dates. The public site lists integrations with Gmail, Google Calendar, Google Sheets, HubSpot, QuickBooks and Stripe. It says nothing about an EHR connector, an API or an export format, so that connection must be scoped as its own item.

Proposed workflow one is intake and triage. The trigger is a newly signed encounter note that lands in a shared folder or arrives through a scheduled export. US Tech Automations could be configured to extract candidate diagnoses and the sentences that support them, then place each candidate in a coder approval queue with the note date and quoted text. The output is one queue item per candidate, which a coder approves, edits or rejects. Human review sits at that queue: no code is entered in the chart until a credentialed coder approves it.

Proposed workflow two is conflict routing. The trigger is a coder flagging a chart where one note documents a condition and a later note rules it out. The workflow would send the chart and both excerpts to a clinical lead, log the decision and write nothing back to the chart without that sign-off. The site's Customer Support example includes an escalation step to a lead, a similar pattern, though the site does not document a coding deployment.

Build it yourself in Zapier, Make or n8n?

Many buyers will compare these workflows with a no-code build in Zapier, Make or n8n. Those tools can keep run histories, retry failed steps, branch on errors and log what happened, when configured to do so, and a fair comparison gives them that credit.

The buyer still owns the rest. Someone must design idempotency so a chart is not queued twice, set access controls for protected health information, name an escalation owner and maintain the flow when an EHR export format changes. Confirm a business associate agreement before patient data passes through any automation platform, including US Tech Automations. A DIY build costs less to start and gives full control, but it is slower to audit unless someone writes down the run log, retry rules and review steps.

Glossary

  • RAF score: the risk adjustment factor CMS uses to adjust Medicare Advantage payments based on a member's diagnoses.

  • HCC: hierarchical condition category, a grouping of diagnosis codes that drives part of the risk score.

  • MEAT: Monitor, Evaluate, Assess, Treat, a common checklist for whether a note supports a diagnosis.

  • RADV: Risk Adjustment Data Validation, CMS's audit of submitted diagnoses against medical records.

  • Suspect: a possible diagnosis that a tool flags for a coder to confirm or reject.

  • Two-way coding: adding supported diagnoses and deleting unsupported ones, a term RAAPID's blog uses.

  • Model year: the CMS-HCC version used for a payment year. CMS posts model software and ICD-10 mappings for each year, including 2026 and 2027, on its risk adjustment page.

A three-step decision checklist

  1. Match the category to your workload. A reference tool suits one to a few coders, a chart-review platform suits steady record volume with a confirmed EHR feed, and a payer suite suits plan-scale retrieval.

  2. Get the model and evidence answers in writing. Ask which CMS-HCC model year each HCC uses, request a sample output that shows the note excerpt behind each suspected diagnosis, and ask how the audit log records each approval. The pages we opened say little on these points, so this step usually decides the purchase.

  3. Price the seats and the prerequisites before signing. Get a quote where none is published, confirm billing terms, and list the EHR export or API access the workflow needs.

When NOT to use US Tech Automations: a simpler tool wins when you only need HCC lookups and a risk calculator, because a reference subscription covers that. It also wins when your EHR cannot export signed notes or nobody can approve changes to coded diagnoses. A third case is any workflow that must produce certified coding output end to end, since a workflow layer does not replace a credentialed coder. In each case, buy the reference tool or chart-review product first and hold the workflow layer until the prerequisites exist.

Worked example

Consider an illustrative three-coder practice that needs HCC lookups and a risk calculator, not a review platform. The Standard tier on HCC Coder costs $1,545 for three seats a year ($515 × 3), while the nonmember Pro Fee plan on AAPC Codify costs $2,052 a year ($57 × 12 months × 3), a $507 gap before add-ons. If the same practice later wants a workflow layer that starts from patient outreach records in HubSpot, the trigger could be a webhook subscription, and HubSpot's ASSOCIATION_ADDED action identifier fires when an association is created between objects, according to HubSpot. That event would still go to an approval step, and no record would update until a person approves it. These figures are illustrative and do not describe a customer.

Frequently asked questions

Is a coding reference enough for risk adjustment?

A coding reference is often enough for a small practice that needs HCC lookups and a risk calculator, but it does not read charts or track approvals. Keep a clear review step in your own chart process either way.

Do HCC Buddy or HCC Coder show the note behind each HCC?

Neither page we opened says it does, so ask each vendor for a sample output that shows the note excerpt before you buy.

Which products publish prices?

Five of the eight do: HCC Buddy, HCC Coder, AAPC Codify, Find-A-Code and Optum EncoderPro. The other three publish no price.

How much would three seats cost?

On the plans in our cost table, three seats cost $1,545 to $2,250 a year before add-ons.

Should a small practice choose a payer suite like Cotiviti?

Usually not. Cotiviti's site is built around payer programs and publishes no pricing, so a small practice would pay for scale it does not run.

Bottom line

Pick the category first, then buy the evidence and audit trail you can show a reviewer. For a small team, a reference tool keeps the cost in the low thousands of dollars a year on the published seat prices, and a chart-review platform only pays off once volume and EHR access are confirmed. If the next problem is routing suspected diagnoses to an approval queue and logging each decision, see how US Tech Automations configures this, then confirm the export prerequisites before you sign anything.

About the Author

Garrett Mullins
Garrett Mullins
Workflow Specialist

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.