6 Self Storage Management Software 2027 [Decision Guide]
The first decision is the category, not the brand. A self storage operator is choosing between an all-in-one facility platform that runs unit maps, rentals, tenant ledgers, payments, gate access and reporting from one database, and a lower-cost per-unit tool that covers the rent ledger and leaves add-ons to you. Buyers who skip that choice usually compare headline rates, then discover processing charges, add-on fees or a monthly minimum that changes the bill. This guide compares six vendors: Storable Edge, Unit Trac, Yardi Breeze, Storeganise, 6Storage and Storman. Every price here comes from a vendor's own page or from a named third-party listing, and each figure is labeled with its source.
The category is large. U.S. self storage facilities: 57,981 in 2025 according to Self-Storage Almanac 2025 (Radius+ data), up from 52,301 in the prior count, and the same source puts rentable space at 2,650,006,276 square feet. Where US Tech Automations fits is above these systems: it is positioned as an orchestration layer that coordinates workflows across the tools you already run, not as a replacement for unit-management software.
TL;DR: Pick the category first, compare list prices at your real unit count, then price card processing and add-ons before you sign anything. Unit Trac is the only vendor in this set whose own page publishes a per-unit rate and minimum. Storable Edge and Yardi Breeze require a quote, and Storman's only numeric price comes from a third-party listing.
Key Takeaways
Choose the category first: an all-in-one platform or a per-unit tool, because add-ons and processing decide the real cost.
Unit Trac publishes $0.70 per unit per month with a $30 monthly minimum, no setup fees and no contracts. The minimum applies for up to 42 units.
Card processing at Unit Trac is 2.9% + $1.00 per charge, so a single card payment can cost more than a month of software for one unit.
Storeganise's vendor page shows $90 per month for a plan, while the extra-unit rate of about $10 per 10 units comes from a third-party roundup.
Storable Edge and Yardi Breeze publish no self storage price, so treat them as quote-only until you have a written number.
Zapier, Make and n8n can run retries, branches and audit logs, but a DIY build means you design, own and maintain those controls.
Terms to settle before you compare
Self storage management software is the system of record that tracks each unit, rental agreement, tenant ledger, payment and delinquency at a storage facility. Several terms recur in vendor pages and quotes, and the comparison below depends on them.
Unit mix: the inventory of unit sizes and types at a facility, which the software maps to occupancy and rates.
Delinquency: a tenant balance past due, which the software typically drives through reminders, late fees and lockout steps.
Autopay: recurring card or ACH charges scheduled against a tenant's account.
ACH: bank-to-bank electronic payment, usually priced differently from card payments.
Gate access control: software-linked entry for tenants, often sold as a separate product or add-on.
Per-unit pricing: a fee multiplied by the number of units under management, so cost moves with facility size.
Per-user pricing: a fee multiplied by staff logins, so cost moves with headcount instead.
Total cost of ownership (TCO): list price plus processing fees, add-ons, onboarding and data migration over a fixed period.
Evaluation criteria and selection method: how this comparison was weighted
The weights below reflect what changes a buyer's cost and operating risk most, not what a vendor's marketing emphasizes. Each criterion should be scored per vendor, and the weight multiplies that score. We did not produce a numeric ranking from vendor claims. Where a vendor does not publish a figure, the table says so, and that gap keeps the score low until a written quote arrives.
| Criterion | Weight | Why it carries this weight |
|---|---|---|
| Core operations (rentals, unit map, ledger, delinquency) | 25% | This is the daily job; a gap here fails regardless of price |
| Published pricing and total cost at your unit count | 20% | Headline rates hide processing, add-ons and minimums |
| Payments and processing terms | 15% | Card and ACH percentages can outweigh the software fee |
| Implementation and data migration | 15% | Moving unit data and ledgers is where facilities lose time |
| Gate, website and reporting add-ons | 15% | Add-ons change the real monthly bill |
| Contract flexibility and support | 10% | Commitment length and support terms set your exit cost |
Feature matrix, as published
Each cell records what the vendor's public page or a named listing stated on the date checked. "Not published" means the page did not say, not that the feature is missing.
| Feature | Storable Edge | Unit Trac | Yardi Breeze | Storeganise | 6Storage | Storman |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Self storage list price | No; quote | Yes; $0.70/unit | No; form | Yes; $90/month | Conflicting listings | Third-party only |
| Contract terms | Monthly commitment, cancel any time | No contracts | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published |
| Setup fee | Not mentioned | None | "No onboarding fees" | Free | One-time fee; amount not stated | Not published |
| Free trial | Not mentioned | Not mentioned | Not mentioned | Yes; length not stated | Yes, per G2 | Yes, on request |
| Website | Custom website product | $50/month add-on | Not published | Marketing site may cost extra | Not published | Not published |
| Gate access | Separate Access Control product | $30/gate/month add-on | Not published | Add-ons may cost extra | Not published | Not published |
| Card and ACH processing | Not detailed | Card 2.9% + $1.00; ACH 1.9% + $1.00 | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published |
| Reporting | Management Insights, free for Edge users | Not verified | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published |
Pricing, checked October 20, 2026
Pricing checked October 20, 2026. Vendor pages are the baseline. Where no vendor page gives a figure, the table uses a named listing and says so. Unit Trac's own page is the clearest published number in this set: Unit Trac base rate: $0.70 per unit per month according to Unit Trac (2026), with a $30 monthly minimum and no setup fees or contracts. Its page shows one per-unit rate and no tiers, and it shows no date beyond a 2026 copyright line.
Storeganise is the other clearly published figure in this set. Storeganise plan: $90 per month for 1-100 units according to SoftwareConnect (updated June 1, 2026). Its own Storeganise pricing page shows a single $90 plan, a free setup and no free plan, and it says add-ons and the marketing website "may be subject to additional fees."
| Vendor | Listed starting price | Billing basis | Status on October 20, 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Storable Edge | None published | Monthly, monthly commitment | Contact vendor |
| Unit Trac | $0.70/unit; $30 minimum | Per unit, monthly | Vendor page; no change date shown |
| Yardi Breeze | None for self storage; form required | Custom quote | Contact vendor; third-party $1/unit unconfirmed |
| Storeganise | $90/month for 1-100 units | Monthly, billed annually per third-party roundup | Vendor page; extra units from SoftwareConnect |
| 6Storage | $0.75/unit/month per SoftwareConnect | Per unit, one-time onboarding fee | Conflicts with $40/user and $75 flat listings; contact vendor |
| Storman | $240/user/month per SelectHub | Per user, monthly | Third-party listing, undated; vendor URL returned 404 |
The table below turns those listings into monthly list cost at five facility sizes. These figures exclude card and ACH processing, add-ons, onboarding and any billing discount, so they are a starting comparison, not a total.
| Units | Unit Trac | Storeganise | 6Storage | Storman (2 users) | Yardi Breeze (unconfirmed $1/unit) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 20 | $30 (minimum applies) | $90 | $15 | $480 | $20 |
| 40 | $30 (minimum applies) | $90 | $30 | $480 | $40 |
| 80 | $56 | $90 | $60 | $480 | $80 |
| 120 | $84 | about $110 | $90 | $480 | $120 |
| 150 | $105 | about $140 | $112.50 | $480 | $150 |
The Unit Trac minimum binds for up to 42 units, because 42 × $0.70 is $29.40, and 43 units cost $30.10. The Storeganise figures above 100 units add about $10 for each additional 10 units, as SoftwareConnect describes. The Storman price does not change with unit count, so a two-person team pays $480 per month at 20 units or at 150.
Processing is where the headline price changes. Card processing: 2.9% + $1.00 per charge according to Unit Trac (2026), and ACH is 1.9% + $1.00, available only in the USA. Take a hypothetical 120-unit facility with 100 card payments of $95 each. Each card charge costs $2.755 + $1.00 = $3.755, so the month's processing comes to $375.50, against $84 of software at the $0.70 rate. The figures are illustrative inputs, not market data, but the order of magnitude shows why processing belongs in the comparison.
Six vendors, and who should pick each
Storable Edge
Best fit: operators who want one vendor for facility management, websites, reporting and collections, and who accept a quoted price. Storable describes Edge as "An All-in-One Self-Storage Software for Small Business," says it "is billed monthly and only requires a monthly commitment," and says you are "free to cancel at any time." Management Insights is free for Edge users and tracks 13 core data points, per the page.
Limitations: the page publishes no price and routes buyers to a sales rep. Access Control is a separate product that integrates with Edge, and Insurance, Collections and CRM are also separate Storable products, so confirm which are inside the quoted figure. The page does not name a tenant portal, so ask to see the resident-facing side in a live demo.
Implementation: ask whether staff onboarding and data migration are in the quote. The page says support is "covered within your monthly subscription" and lists staff onboarding among facility-management features, but it does not describe migration.
Evidence: Storable Edge product page.
Unit Trac
Best fit: small and mid-size facilities that want a published per-unit rate, no contract and a low floor. At $0.70 per unit per month with a $30 minimum, the first 42 units cost the same $30, so the floor is the number to test first.
Limitations: the software rate excludes processing. Card payments carry 2.9% + $1.00, ACH carries 1.9% + $1.00 in the USA, gate automation adds $30 per gate per month, and the premium website and SEO add-on adds $50 per website per month. A third-party review cites $0.60 per unit, which conflicts with the $0.70 on the vendor page, so use the vendor page as the baseline and confirm the rate in writing.
Implementation: the page states no setup fees and no contracts. It does not describe a data-migration path, so ask who performs the migration and what it costs.
Evidence: Unit Trac pricing.
Yardi Breeze
Best fit: operators already inside the Yardi ecosystem, or those who want a quote from a larger platform vendor. The self storage tab sits inside the pricing section, shows no price and no per-unit figure, and says "Complete the form for pricing." It does list "No onboarding fees," "No training fees," and "No support fees."
Limitations: pricing stays opaque until a form is completed. A third-party listing gives $1 per unit per month with a custom quote, which we did not confirm on Yardi's page, so it appears in the cost table only as an unconfirmed figure.
Implementation: the no-fee claims sit on the tab, but the migration cost and the ongoing per-unit charge need to be in the written quote.
Evidence: Yardi Breeze pricing.
Storeganise
Best fit: operators who want a self-serve trial and a published starting price for facilities up to 100 units. The pricing page calculator covers 1 to 20 locations and 0 to 10,000 total units, with a "Get enterprise quote" option for larger needs.
Limitations: the page lists no free plan, and it does not state the trial length. It says API use, custom integrations and support beyond a set ticket volume "may be subject to additional fees." Those charges belong in the TCO before you compare it with a lower per-unit price.
Implementation: the page says setup is free: "Free! We don't charge you for setup." The real cost question shifts to add-ons, integrations and the marketing website.
Evidence: Storeganise pricing and SoftwareConnect self storage roundup.
6Storage
Best fit: budget-focused buyers who want a per-unit model and will get a written quote, because the listings conflict. SoftwareConnect lists it from $0.75 per unit per month with a one-time onboarding fee. A SoftwareSuggest listing shows $40 per user, a Capterra listing shows $75 flat, and G2 notes a free trial.
Limitations: the onboarding fee amount is not stated in the sources we checked, and the vendor pricing URL we tried returned a 404 error. Do not budget from any single listing until the vendor confirms the per-unit price in writing.
Implementation: ask for a written quote that shows the unit count, the onboarding fee and the scope of data migration.
Evidence: SoftwareConnect self storage roundup.
Storman
Best fit: operators with a small, stable staff who want per-user pricing and are willing to start with a trial. SelectHub lists $240 per user per month with a free trial on request, on an undated page.
Limitations: the only numeric per-user price is a third-party listing. Capterra and similar directories show an A$135 per month basic plan with a pricing model of "Other," which conflicts with the per-user figure. The vendor URL we tried returned a 404 error. Cost scales with each login, so a two-person team pays $480 per month regardless of how many units the facility holds.
Implementation: request a written quote that names the modules, the number of users and the migration scope.
Evidence: SelectHub self storage software.
SelectHub also lists Tredds at $495 one-time and WebSelfStorage from $34.95 per month. Neither is profiled here, but both belong on a longer shortlist.
Unit Trac vs Storable Edge vs Storeganise
Unit Trac is the only one of the three with a published per-unit rate and minimum on its own page. Storable Edge publishes no price and bills monthly on a monthly commitment, so its real cost depends on the quote and on which add-ons you need. Storeganise publishes a $90 monthly plan for 1-100 units on its own page, so its cost depends on your unit count above 100 and on add-ons.
Choose Unit Trac if you need a predictable per-unit rate, no contract, and a low floor, and you can budget processing separately.
Choose Storable Edge if you want facility management, websites, reporting and collections under one vendor, and you can get a full quote that names every module.
Choose Storeganise if you want a published monthly price for up to 100 units and can budget add-ons and the marketing website separately.
When NOT to use US Tech Automations
US Tech Automations is the wrong purchase if your only required workflow is unit management, the rent ledger and gate access, because a self storage platform already covers those. If your system of record already handles tenant billing and reporting, and your staff is satisfied with it, an orchestration layer adds a second system to maintain without removing a manual step. It is also a poor fit if no one will own the workflows: the public property-management page describes AI workflows for maintenance intake, vendor dispatch, tenant messaging and rent collection, but it does not describe a human approval step, so approval points would have to be designed into any scope.
Who this is for
This guide fits a facility owner or operator choosing a system of record for one or more storage sites. The reader usually has staff who handle rentals and collections daily and needs to compare list prices against processing, add-ons and migration.
Red flags: nobody on your team can name who reconciles payments each month; you expect a public price on every tier before talking to sales; or your only goal is a gate-access purchase, which should be scoped with the gate vendor before any software decision.
Before you request quotes, work through this short checklist:
Count your units today and your expected unit count in 12 months.
Estimate monthly card and ACH volume, then price processing at that volume.
Ask each vendor for a written quote that includes add-ons, onboarding, migration and minimums.
Confirm which integrations are live today, not on a roadmap.
Building it yourself in Zapier, Make, or n8n
For many operators the real alternative is not doing nothing. It is stitching together a payment processor, a spreadsheet or database, and a no-code workflow tool such as Zapier, Make or n8n. Those tools can keep run histories, retry failed steps, branch on errors and write audit logs when you configure them, so they are a credible option. The buyer still has to design and own idempotency, escalation paths, access controls, data retention and ongoing maintenance, and none of those come configured by default.
Consider a 140-unit facility that collects 112 autopay rents at $95 a month through a Stripe-based build. When a card declines on a subscription invoice, Stripe emits invoice.payment_failed, so a DIY workflow can listen for that event and retry after a delay. If six failures land in one month, $570 is at risk ($95 × 6). A DIY design needs a retry rule, a manual review queue for the second failure, and a named owner who approves any payment-plan change, plus a log that shows who acted on each tenant. A scoped US Tech Automations design could configure the same branch differently: retry first, then route the account to a named staff member before any collections step. The prerequisites are a live Stripe connection and a live connection to your storage system of record, and the public property-management page lists Stripe as a live rent-collection integration while Yardi, AppFolio and Buildium appear as roadmap items, so confirm which connections are live for your stack before you scope the work.
Common mistakes
Comparing headline rates without processing. At Unit Trac, one $95 card payment costs $3.755 in processing, more than a month of software for one unit at $0.70.
Forgetting add-ons. Unit Trac's gate automation is $30 per gate per month and its premium website is $50 per month, which can double a small facility's bill.
Treating per-user prices as flat. Storman's $240 per user means two staff logins cost $480 per month at any unit count.
Budgeting from undated listings. SelectHub's page shows no update date, and its own review text cites $0.60 for Unit Trac while its listing shows $0.70.
Skipping the migration quote. Unit data and ledgers are where most switching time goes, and few vendor pages price it.
Questions buyers ask
How much does self storage management software cost per unit?
Per-unit list prices in the sources checked start at $0.70 per unit per month at Unit Trac, with a $30 monthly minimum, and at $0.75 per unit per month for 6Storage in a SoftwareConnect listing. Yardi Breeze's $1 per unit figure is third-party and unconfirmed, and Storable Edge publishes no per-unit price.
Which is better for a small facility: Unit Trac, Storable Edge or Storeganise?
Unit Trac is the only one of the three with a published per-unit rate, so it is the easiest to budget for a small facility, though its processing and add-on fees still need to be added. Storable Edge fits operators who want facility management, reporting and collections in one vendor, but its price comes only from a quote. Storeganise publishes $90 per month for 1-100 units, which is above Unit Trac's $30 floor at small sizes.
Is there cheap self storage software for a small facility?
Yes, if the facility is small and the per-unit model fits. At Unit Trac, a 20-unit facility pays the $30 minimum, the same as a 42-unit facility, so the floor is the number to negotiate. Lower-priced options outside this guide include WebSelfStorage at $34.95 per month, listed on SelectHub, which we did not profile.
Is there free self storage management software?
None of the vendor pages checked offers a permanently free tier. The free path is a trial: Storeganise offers a trial without stating its length, 6Storage's trial is noted on G2, and Storman's trial is available on request. A spreadsheet is free in cash but not in staff time, and it leaves the audit trail and delinquency workflow to you.
Can a no-code tool replace self storage management software?
A no-code tool can cover part of the workflow, such as a payment-failure branch or a reminder, when a team designs it carefully. It does not replace a unit map, a tenant ledger and a delinquency history on its own, and the operator must own retries, access controls, retention and maintenance.
Does US Tech Automations replace storage management software?
No. It is positioned above the system of record, coordinating workflows across tools you already run. A buyer still needs a platform for unit management and the tenant ledger, and any workflow layer should be scoped against the connections that are live today.
Next step
If you already run a storage platform and want to see how a workflow layer would sit above it, read more at ustechautomations.com before you request vendor quotes, and ask every vendor for the same written numbers so the comparison stays like-for-like.
About the Author

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.