Best Solo Practice Patient Messaging Software: 3 Steps 2027
The short answer for a solo practice
For a solo practice, the category decision is simple: buy a patient messaging tool that will sign a business associate agreement (BAA) and that publishes enough pricing to budget before anyone calls sales. Patient messaging software is a service that lets a practice send and receive texts, calls, or app messages with patients from a shared inbox, under contract terms that meet HIPAA. Choose by the job, not the feature list. A staff inbox with a few patient threads is a different purchase from a phone system that routes calls, takes voicemail, and texts patients, and the second costs more on every pricing page in this set.
TL;DR: Start with pChat from pMD if you want the lowest published per-user rate in this set. Check BloomText if your staff need a free secure inbox and you can pay separately for patient texting. Choose Spruce, Weave, or OhMD if phone calls are the real intake. Treat Klara and Curogram as quote-only until you have a written number.
Key Takeaways
Require a signed BAA before any patient information moves by text. The HIPAA definition of a business associate covers a vendor that creates, receives, maintains, or transmits protected health information for your practice, as set out in 45 CFR 160.103.
Five of the seven vendors here publish at least one price on a page I could open. Klara and Curogram showed no figure on the pages I could reach.
The lowest published per-user rate in this set belongs to pChat from pMD. BloomText's staff plan is free, but its patient texting is a separate paid add-on.
Phone-first tools such as Weave, Spruce's Communicator plan, and OhMD cost more because they also handle voice and call routing.
Zapier, Make, or n8n can carry a custom build, but you own the run history, retries, escalation, and access controls.
Get a written monthly number that includes SMS setup, hardware, taxes, and telecom fees before you choose.
How we evaluated these tools
This is a desk review of public vendor pages and independent sources, checked on October 29, 2026. It is not hands-on use of any product, and every figure below comes from a page I opened. The weights reflect the mistakes a solo practice most often makes when buying: missing BAA terms, a staff-only inbox sold as patient texting, and a low per-seat price that hides add-ons. Each criterion is scored on a 0 to 5 scale, and the weight multiplies that score.
| Criterion | Weight | Scoring scale | Why it matters for a solo practice |
|---|---|---|---|
| Signed BAA stated on a page or in account terms | 25% | 5 = signed BAA stated; 3 = BAA only in app terms; 0 = none found | Without a BAA, patient information should not move through the tool |
| Patient texting, not only staff chat | 20% | 5 = patient SMS included; 3 = paid add-on; 0 = staff chat only | A staff inbox does not reach patients by itself |
| Published price or clear quote path | 15% | 5 = public price; 3 = starting price only; 0 = quote-only | Quote-only pricing delays budgeting until a sales call |
| Monthly cost at a three-person team size | 15% | 5 = lowest cost of the set; 0 = highest cost of the set | Shows whether per-user or flat pricing fits a small team |
| Voice, voicemail, and call routing | 10% | 5 = included; 3 = add-on; 0 = none | Phone intake often decides between a texting tool and a phone system |
| Documented EHR, practice system, or API access | 10% | 5 = documented; 3 = listed with an add-on; 0 = not stated | Integration decides whether reminders can come from your own records |
| Exit terms: monthly billing and refund rules | 5% | 5 = monthly, no annual lock-in; 0 = annual only | Lets you leave if the tool does not fit |
The weights are my judgment, not a published standard. If your practice runs mostly on phones, raise the voice row and lower the patient texting row. That shifts the best fit toward Spruce, Weave, and OhMD.
Feature matrix from public pages
Read this matrix as a checklist of what each vendor's pages showed on October 29, 2026. "Not verified" means the page I could open did not say so. It does not mean the feature is missing.
| Vendor | Patient texting | Calls or voice | BAA on page | Free tier | EHR or API mention | Published price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Klara | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified | No figure found |
| Weave | Yes, two-way texting | Yes, call handling | Not stated | Not stated | EHR or PMS integration listed with the phone add-on | Yes |
| Spruce | Yes, text | Yes, phone and video | Yes, automatic on trials and paid plans | Not stated | API access on the Communicator plan | Yes |
| BloomText | Yes, paid add-on | Not stated | Yes, provided free | Yes, staff plan | Not stated | Yes |
| pMD | Yes, invited patient contacts | Yes, voice and video | Yes, through app terms | Yes, basic free account | Not stated | Yes |
| OhMD | Yes, two-way SMS | Yes, voice and video | Yes, listed under Core | Not stated | Developer API, sales contact | Yes |
| Curogram | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified | No figure found |
Three cells decide most solo purchases: the BAA cell, the patient texting cell, and the price cell. Klara and Curogram leave those cells blank on the public pages I could reach, so they need a written answer before they go on a shortlist. The matrix also shows that BloomText treats patient texting as a paid add-on, while pMD includes invited patient contacts in its per-user fee.
What the published prices cost
Pricing checked October 29, 2026.
The table shows the entry price on each vendor's own page. Taxes, telecom fees, and add-ons are excluded unless the page includes them. The monthly math uses a three-person team as an illustrative size, not a measured customer.
| Vendor | Plan or tier | Published price | Monthly math for 3 users |
|---|---|---|---|
| pMD | pChat | $10 per user per month, according to pMD | 3 × $10 = $30 per month |
| Spruce | Basic and Communicator | $24 and $49 per user per month, plus a one-time $19.50 SMS fee, according to Spruce | Basic: 3 × $24 = $72; Communicator: 3 × $49 = $147 |
| BloomText | Free plan and patient texting add-on | Free plan at $0; staff seats $14.50 per user per month; patient SMS from $129 per month, according to BloomText | Free plan covers up to 5 invited coworkers; add-on at $129 per month covers up to 140 contacted patients |
| Weave | Base (starting) | Starting at $199 per month; Coordinate and Attract bundles at $149 per month each, according to Weave | Base: $199; Base plus one $149 bundle: $348 (199 + 149) |
| OhMD | Core | $300 per month; AI and Automation tier at $500 per month, according to OhMD | $300 per month before separately billed calling usage |
| Klara | Not published | Quote-based | Not calculable from public pages |
| Curogram | Not published | Quote-based | Not calculable from public pages |
The two per-user rows are the cheapest seat-based lines in this set, and they are also the rows where add-ons decide the real total. Spruce's Basic row is a floor, not the final bill, because taxes, telecom surcharges, and VoIP hardware sit outside it. BloomText's total depends on how many patients you message in a month, because the patient add-on counts unique people.
pChat from pMD: $10 per user per month according to pMD (2026). The same page says invited patient contacts are included in that fee, and that there are no setup fees or long-term contracts.
Klara and Curogram have no public figure in this table. iPlum's Klara review reports that Klara does not list fixed monthly rates. Curogram's guide, dated July 31, 2026, describes its model as per provider, with setup and staff training included and no per-message fees, according to Curogram (2026). The same guide says the company publishes a range, but that range does not appear on the pages I could reach, so this review does not use it.
Vendor profiles: where each one fits
pMD (pChat)
Best fit: a solo clinician or small team that needs a secure app inbox with voice and video, and that will invite patients into threads. The page says invited patient contacts are covered by the per-user fee. Limitation: on the page I read, the BAA is tied to accepting pMD's app terms, so ask for a countersigned copy before go-live. Implementation: download the app, add each staff member, invite patients, and confirm whether patients must install the app before you promise a patient workflow. Evidence: pMD's pChat page.
Spruce
Best fit: a practice that wants texting, phone, fax, and team chat in one inbox and accepts a per-user model. Basic includes a BAA, a shared inbox, auto-replies, and AI voicemail transcription. Communicator adds self-service call flows, urgent escalation and after-hours triage, and API access, which matter if routing rules drive your intake. Limitations: per-user pricing counts every staff member, not only clinicians, the page excludes taxes and fees, and VoIP desk phone hardware is billed separately. Implementation: enable outbound SMS once for the organization, confirm the BAA is included in your account, and price any desk phones before you commit. Evidence: Spruce's pricing page.
BloomText
Best fit: a practice that wants a free secure inbox for staff and will pay only for patient texting. The free plan includes a signed BAA and up to 5 invited coworkers, but it does not reach patients. Limitations: patients are reached through the Patient SMS add-on, which covers up to 140 contacted patients per month at its entry tier. The page does not list prices for the tiers between that entry tier and 5,000 contacts, and anything above 5,000 contacts requires contacting the vendor. The page defines a contacted patient as a unique person messaged in a calendar month, and its 7-day money-back guarantee applies only if you message 140 or fewer contacts in the first week. Implementation: the add-on includes your own phone number, so set that up first, then message patients from it. Evidence: BloomText's pricing page.
Weave
Best fit: a practice that treats phone calls as the main intake and wants text-to-pay, missed-call text-back, and team chat on one system. The Base plan lists two-way texting, missed-call text-back, text-to-pay, a mobile app, team chat, call analytics, fax, and EHR or PMS integration with a phone add-on. Limitations: the Base price is a starting point, the Coordinate and Attract bundles cost extra, and the Base plan lists no message limit. The Attract bundle lists 10,000 emails and 5,000 texts. Implementation: plan the phone number move, confirm the integration path with your records system, and ask whether the AI receptionist is still in early access before you rely on it. Evidence: Weave's plans page.
OhMD
Best fit: a practice that wants voice, text, voicemail transcription, and automated call handling in one platform. The Core tier lists two-way patient SMS, a text-enabled landline, voice and video, and voicemail transcription. The AI and Automation tier adds AI voice and text automation, message routing, and scheduling, and its Developer API is sold by contact. Limitations: calling usage on the AI tier is billed separately with no rates shown, and the BAA appears only under Core. Implementation: the enterprise tier covers single sign-on, multi-location administration, and custom onboarding, which most solo practices will not need. Evidence: OhMD's plans page.
Klara
Best fit: practices already leaning on EHR-connected patient communication, or looking at ModMed's ecosystem. Klara owner since: February 8, 2022 according to PrivSource (2022). ModMed (Modernizing Medicine) now owns the product, so ask whether a solo plan is sold at all. Limitations: there is no public price. The klara.com pricing address redirects to ModMed's patient engagement page, and the content I could read there did not show a price. Implementation: ask for a written quote that covers setup training, the EHR integration scope, and whether pricing is per provider or per user.
Curogram
Best fit: practices that want a texting and no-show platform priced per provider, with setup and staff training included, and that will get a written number before they decide. Limitations: the Curogram homepage I opened shows no currency figures, and the company's guide sends prospects to a walkthrough for a real number. Implementation: bring your seat count, your EHR, and the tools you plan to replace to that walkthrough, so the quote covers the same scope you are comparing.
Build it in Zapier, Make, or n8n instead?
For many solo practices, the real alternative is stitching a texting API or an export to Zapier, Make, or n8n. Those tools can be the cheapest route when the messaging vendor exposes an API or a scheduled export. When they are configured well, they can keep run histories, retries, error branches, and audit evidence. The buyer still has to design and own observability, idempotency so that a retry does not send the same text twice, escalation to a person, access controls for patient data, and maintenance when a vendor changes its API.
A proposed design from US Tech Automations would configure the same pieces with the review points written into the flow. It would not remove the need for a signed BAA on every system that touches patient data, and it needs the same export or API access as any other build.
Proposed workflow, configurable: the trigger is an inbound patient text received outside office hours. The action checks the message against a keyword list that staff write and approve, then routes routine messages to the shared inbox as a task. The output is a timestamped log entry and a morning summary for the front desk. Prerequisites are read access to the messaging tool through its API or a scheduled export, and a signed BAA with the automation provider before any message content moves. Human review points: staff own the keyword list, no automated reply gives clinical advice, and any urgent match goes to an on-call phone rather than an automatic response.
Proposed follow-up workflow, configurable: the trigger is a reminder whose delivery status shows undelivered, or a patient who has not replied within a window your practice sets. The action creates a task for the front desk with the patient record ID and holds any second message until a staff member approves it. The output is a task log with timestamps and an attempt count per patient. Prerequisites are delivery-status data from the messaging vendor, consent records for texting, and access to the scheduling record. Human review points: staff confirm consent before any re-send, and the practice sets the attempt cap, not the software.
Take an illustrative practice, not a measured one: 3 staff members each spend 6 hours a week on routine callbacks and reminder fixes. That is 18 hours a week, or 936 hours over 52 weeks. If a configured workflow removed one third of that routine work, the practice would reclaim 6 hours a week, or 312 hours a year, and a staff member would still review the output weekly. A DIY build on Twilio adds its own mapping work: the REST API's JSON responses use the field messaging_service_sid, and delivery status arrives through separate callback fields, as Twilio's status callback guide explains.
Who this is for and where it breaks
Who this is for: a solo clinician or a small practice where the front desk texts patients from one shared inbox and needs a signed BAA before any patient information moves. It fits best when one person owns consent records, the keyword list, and the escalation rule.
Red flags: the vendor will not sign a BAA before go-live; you need phone routing but are buying a texting-only tool; or nobody on staff will own consent records and escalation.
Budget surprises often come from buying the wrong category. Weave starting price: $199 per month according to Weave (2026). That starting figure is for a phone-first system with call handling, not a texting-only inbox, so a texting-only budget should not start there.
| Buyer situation | Look at first | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Staff need one secure inbox with a few patient threads | pMD | Per-user app model with invited patient contacts in the fee |
| Staff only need internal secure chat | BloomText | Free plan covers staff messaging with a signed BAA |
| Calls and voicemail are the main intake | Spruce or Weave | Phone, fax, and call handling sit in the same system |
| Voice AI and call automation are the goal | OhMD | AI tier covers voice and text automation, with calling billed on top |
| You need EHR-connected messaging and can wait for a quote | Klara | Quote-only pricing; confirm the solo fit before you commit |
Decision checklist before you sign
Ask for the BAA as a countersigned document, not only a link to web terms.
Write down the price per user, per location, and per contacted patient, then multiply by your real headcount and patient volume.
Confirm whether patients must install an app or can reply by plain SMS.
Confirm who owns the phone number and how you move it out if you leave.
Check the export path: can you pull message logs and delivery status out of the tool?
Get a written list of add-ons: SMS enablement, hardware, taxes, telecom fees, and setup.
Name the person who owns the keyword list, the consent records, and the escalation rule.
Common mistakes to avoid
Buying a staff chat tool and assuming patients can be texted through it.
Comparing list prices while ignoring the one-time SMS fee, hardware, and taxes.
Treating a "HIPAA compliant" label on a website as the same thing as a signed BAA.
Assuming a patient tier covers your whole list. BloomText's entry tier covers up to 140 contacted patients per month.
Skipping exit terms. Confirm monthly billing and the refund window before signing.
Building a Zapier, Make, or n8n flow with no retry rules, so the same reminder goes out twice.
Frequently asked questions
Do I need a business associate agreement before I text a patient?
Yes, if the texting vendor creates, receives, maintains, or transmits protected health information for your practice, the HIPAA definition makes it a business associate and you need a signed agreement with it. The definition is set out in 45 CFR 160.103.
Is a free plan enough for a solo practice?
Sometimes. BloomText's free plan covers staff messaging with a signed BAA, but patients are reached only through its paid patient SMS add-on, so a free plan alone does not cover patient texting.
Why do Klara and Curogram not show a price?
Both appear to sell by quote. iPlum reports that Klara does not list fixed monthly rates, and Curogram's guide points buyers to a walkthrough for a real number. Get a written quote from either before you compare them with the published prices above.
Can Zapier, Make, or n8n replace a patient messaging tool?
Only in part. They can move data between systems and keep run records when configured, but the texting line itself still needs a vendor that signs a BAA, and you still have to design the escalation and access controls.
When should a solo practice skip US Tech Automations?
Skip it when the job is only a secure inbox, when phone routing is the main need, or when your current systems offer no export or API access. For a secure inbox alone, pChat from pMD or BloomText's free staff plan is a simpler fit. For call routing and voicemail, Spruce or Weave is closer to the job. Without export or API access, a proposed workflow has no data to read, and a vendor's built-in reminders are the simpler path.
Next step
Start with the BAA request, then the written monthly number, then the export question. If a vendor cannot answer all three in writing, move it to the bottom of your list. To see how US Tech Automations configures a workflow like the ones above, see how US Tech Automations configures this with your records, your approvals, and your review points.
About the Author

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.