Skip to content
AI & Automation

Dealership Feedback Platform: 7 Steps to Choose 2026

Oct 15, 2026

Start with the visit, not the brand

A dealership feedback platform is the system that asks every buyer and every service customer what happened, starts private recovery on a low score while still asking every customer for the public review, and leaves a record of the public reviews shoppers actually read. The short answer for a single rooftop is to buy the job, not the logo: a trigger on the closed visit, a private screen, a named person on any public reply, and a price you can read before a sales call. Two of the seven tools below print that price. The other five do not, so they are Quote-based.

TL;DR: pick Widewail when you want a printed automotive price and, on the higher packages, a person writing the reply. Pick Reputation when the public platform card is enough and you will confirm whether an automaker program replaces it. Pick Podium, Kenect, Birdeye, DealerRater, or SureCritic when the fit is texting, listings breadth, a dealer-review site, or a service-drive recovery loop, and you accept a quote.

Shoppers still read before they choose a local business. Shoppers reading reviews: 97% according to BrightLocal (2026), and the same survey says the average consumer uses six review sites. A store that only watches Google is arguing with one of those six.

Key Takeaways

  • A dealership feedback platform has to ask after a real visit, start private recovery on a low score without skipping anyone's public invitation, and get a reply onto the reviews people read.

  • Widewail and Reputation print monthly prices. Podium, Birdeye, Kenect, DealerRater, and SureCritic do not, on the pages checked for this guide, so those five are Quote-based.

  • Widewail's staff-level package names CDK only. A Reynolds and Reynolds or Tekion store does not get that layer on the published card.

  • The shopper bar is both the star rating and whether anyone replies. Generic replies are a reason to walk, not a shortcut.

  • Do not fire a review text on the same day as a service-reminder text. The customer answers neither.

  • A routing layer on top of an inbox you already run is the wrong buy when a manager already answers Google the same day.

Who this is for

This is for the owner or the fixed-ops lead at one rooftop, or a small group of them, who will choose a feedback tool in this buying cycle. You already know reviews move showroom traffic and service appointments. You want to know who answers a one-star visit on a Saturday, and what the contract costs if the vendor will say so in public.

The franchised peer set is concrete. Franchise dealers: 16,991 according to NADA (2026) sold 7.9 million light-duty vehicles in the first half of 2026, and total sales topped $640 billion. That count is franchised light-vehicle dealers, not independent lots. An independent store can still buy several of these tools. It should not treat 16,991 as its competitor list.

Red flags: you will not connect a DMS or CRM export at all, so no tool can ask at the closed visit. Your manufacturer already names the survey vendor and forbids a second ask. You want a private complaint box and do not care about any public review site.

How we evaluated these platforms

The weights below are for an owner choosing this month from public pages. They are not a lab score, and nothing here is from a pilot we ran. A pass is something a buyer can point to on a vendor page.

CriterionWeightBar used here
Private recovery on a low score25%1 same-day recovery, invite still sent
Named human on the public reply20%1 approver before posting
Ask tied to a closed visit20%1 trigger per closed RO or deal
Price printed before a sales call15%1 public price card, else Quote-based
DMS or CRM the vendor names10%1 named system on the vendor page
Sites shoppers already open10%6 sites in the shopper mix

The star bar is why same-day private recovery is the heaviest weight. The Four-star cutoff: 68% according to BrightLocal (2026), up from 55% in 2025, while 31% will only use a business at 4.5 stars or above, 80% are more likely to use a business that responds to every review, and 74% look for reviews written in the last three months. A tool that collects stars and never answers them misses the 80% bar. A tool that answers with one pasted sentence hits the other finding on that page: templated replies make 50% of consumers unlikely to choose the business.

Seven steps match that weighting.

  1. Name the visit you will ask about, sale, service, or both, and ignore a tool that cannot tell them apart.

  2. Require a private recovery step on a low score, and still send the public review invitation after every closed visit.

  3. Name the person who may approve a public reply. If that person is "the software," read the failure mode out loud.

  4. Read the price card. If the dollar amount is not published, write Quote-based and do not invent one.

  5. Match the DMS the vendor names. Do not assume Reynolds because a neighbor store uses it.

  6. Count the other texts that customer already gets that week, including reminders and equity follow-up.

  7. Ask for one sample reply to a one-star service visit before you sign. If they will not show it, stop.

Seven platforms a dealer can still buy

All seven are on sale as of this research. Widewail is automotive-only and prints three rooftop prices. Reputation prints a general platform card and sells managed help as an add-on with no printed fee. Podium is a broad local-business inbox with reviews, phones, and payments, and its pricing page sends you to sales. Birdeye is a broad listings-and-reviews suite with a large integration list and no printed dollar amount. Kenect is a dealer texting and reputation offer with managed review help. DealerRater is the dealer-review site Cars.com acquired in August 2016. SureCritic is built around verified service visits and a patented recovery step. Anything that failed a "sold today" check is not in this set.

What is included, and what is not

Facts in the matrix come from the vendor pages linked in the profiles. "Not stated" means that page did not say it. It is not a hidden no.

VendorPrinted monthly priceManaged human replyPrivate survey before a public askSystems or sites the vendor names
Widewail$500, $750, or $1,200On Pro and Customer ClarityOn every published packageCDK on Customer Clarity; Pro benchmarking for other DMS brands
Reputation$80, $115, or $150Add-on, price not published1 template at $115; 6 at $150CRM or EHR on an add-on, not a named dealer DMS
PodiumQuote-basedNot stated on the pricing pageNot stated on the pricing pageGoogle, Facebook, other sites; 200+ integrations
BirdeyeQuote-basedAI replies described; a writing team is not statedSurveys are a listed productDealertrack, DealerSocket, CDK; 200+ sites
KenectQuote-basedManaged reputation services listedDescribed on the mass-reviews pageGoogle, DealerRater, Cars.com, CarGurus, Facebook
DealerRaterQuote-basedNot stated as a writing teamNot stated on the company pageIts own site, under Cars.com since 2016
SureCriticQuote-basedAutomatic replies describedSurveys sit ahead of public reviewsPOS verification; Google and Facebook via ReviewReach

The matrix is the factual cut. The fit comments under each vendor are the judgment, kept separate so a quoted price is never mixed up with an opinion.

What the price card says, and what one year costs

Pricing checked October 15, 2026. The annual table uses only dollars printed on a vendor pricing page. Where that page prints nothing, the vendor table says Quote-based. Group deals, message overages, and managed-service add-ons are not in the annual math.

PlanMonthly priceMonthsAnnual cost
Core on Widewail$50012$6,000
Pro on Widewail$75012$9,000
Customer Clarity on Widewail$1,20012$14,400
Rep Core on Reputation$8012$960
Rep Core + Pulse on Reputation$11512$1,380
Rep Core + Surveys on Reputation$15012$1,800
VendorPlanMonthly priceHow the vendor bills it
WidewailCore$500Single rooftop; groups are scoped separately
WidewailPro$750Single rooftop
WidewailCustomer Clarity$1,200Single rooftop; CDK at launch
ReputationRep Core$80Per location
ReputationRep Core + Pulse$115Per location
ReputationRep Core + Surveys$150Per location
ReputationEnterpriseQuote-basedCustom, described for 125+ locations
PodiumNot printedQuote-basedPricing page sends the buyer to sales
BirdeyeNot printedQuote-basedPricing page asks for a location count
KenectNot printedQuote-basedNot published
DealerRaterNot printedQuote-basedNot published
SureCriticNot printedQuote-basedNot published

A one-rooftop year, with the arithmetic written out

Take one franchised service drive that already keeps reviews in Podium, and treat this as illustrative arithmetic, not a store's result. Export the Reviews table and sort on review_rating, the field Podium's data guide defines as the rating on the review, documented on Podium's raw data page. Widewail's Core plan costs $500 per single rooftop per month, the Pro plan costs $750, and twelve months are $6,000 and $9,000, so the gap is $3,000 a year, which is $250 a month, and the Customer Clarity package is $1,200 a month or $14,400 a year, with the Core plan monthly fee: $500 according to Widewail (2026). Reputation's Rep Core plan costs $80 per location per month, or $960 a year, Rep Core plus Pulse is $115 a month or $1,380 a year, and Rep Core plus Surveys is $150 a month or $1,800 a year, with the Rep Core monthly fee: $80 according to Reputation (2026). Subtract $960 from $6,000 and the card-to-card gap is $5,040 for one location for one year. That $5,040 is a scope gap between two published cards, not a savings claim, because the $80 card is a general platform price and is not labeled as an automotive program.

Read each vendor against one rooftop

Widewail

Widewail sells customer intelligence for automotive retail and prints three single-rooftop packages on its pricing page. Core, at the fee cited above, includes automated review requests, private surveys, SMS video testimonials, listings, review routing to sales or service listings, and AI or self-serve replies, plus reporting. Pro adds managed review response, managed social comments, social management, executive scorecards, and competitive benchmarking on a map. Customer Clarity adds staff performance, topic-level benchmarking, a recommendations engine, verbatims, role-based email, and CDK integration. The page says Tekion, Reynolds and Reynolds, and other DMS brands can use competitive intelligence on Pro, and that Customer Clarity is CDK-only at launch. Multi-rooftop pricing is configured per group.

Best fit: one rooftop that wants the reply off the manager's desk and will pay a printed automotive price. Limit: a Reynolds store that wants the staff report will not get it on the published package. Implementation: tie the ask to closed visits, and do not tell the staff the performance report is live until CDK is the system of record.

Reputation

Reputation's public card is a location price, not a rooftop story written only for dealers. Rep Core includes review collection, requesting, and AI responding, plus listings. The $115 tier adds a reputation score, an AI reputation manager, pulse analytics, and one survey template. The $150 tier adds six survey templates, email survey requests, outreach campaigns, and deeper experience reporting. Enterprise is custom and is described for 125 or more locations. Managed services, the offer where Reputation's team writes replies, are an add-on with no dollar amount on the pricing page. A competitive-insights add-on and an actions-and-ticketing add-on are also unpriced there.

Best fit: a store that wants a printed per-location fee and will live with AI replies unless it buys the managed add-on. Limit: do not treat $80 as the automaker-program price. Ask whether a brand schedule replaces the public card. Implementation: confirm surveys are in the tier you bought, because the $80 card does not include them.

Podium

Podium's pricing page does not print a monthly fee. It says plans are fit to the business and tells the buyer to talk to sales, so the price is Quote-based. The same page says more than 100,000 businesses use it, which is every industry on that page, not a dealer count, and the Businesses on the platform: over 100,000 according to Podium (2026). That page lists review collection by text to Google, Facebook, and other sites, plus phones, a shared inbox, payments, text marketing, an AI employee add-on, and automations it says connect to 200+ integrations. It does not, on that page, describe a managed writing team or a private survey that blocks a public ask.

Best fit: a store that wants reviews, webchat, and texting in one inbox and will take a quote. Limit: if the pain is "nobody owns the one-star reply," this pricing page does not show a specialist doing that work. Implementation: use the review export, including review_rating, as the audit file, and name a manager to approve anything an automation would post.

Birdeye

Birdeye's automotive page says it serves auto businesses with listings, review requests, messaging, surveys, social posts, payments, and an AI layer for replies. Automotive businesses listed: 2,000+ according to Birdeye (2026). The same page says requests can go to 200+ sites, including Google and Facebook, and that integrations include Dealertrack, DealerSocket, and CDK Global among more than 3,000 systems. The pricing page does not print a dollar amount. It asks for a location count and a phone number, so the price is Quote-based, as on Birdeye's pricing page.

Best fit: a group that wants listings and reviews in one contract and has the patience for a quote. Limit: the automotive page describes AI replies, not a specialist who owns every comment. A one-store buyer who needs that person should not assume it is in the quote. Implementation: connect the CRM or DMS you already pay for, because the review ask is only automatic if that connection exists.

Kenect

Kenect's automotive page positions the product as dealer texting, an AI voice agent, webchat, and reputation. It says review invites can go out after a sale or a service visit, and that a managed team monitors and answers reviews on Google, DealerRater, Cars.com, CarGurus, Facebook, and other sites. No pricing page on Kenect's own site printed a dollar amount in this session, so the price is not published and is Quote-based. A separate product page describes DMS-triggered review texts and a private-feedback path that keeps a complaint off the public site, at Kenect's mass-reviews page.

Best fit: a store that already lives in text and wants the review ask on the same thread as the "your car is ready" message. Limit: the managed reply is a service you must see in the quote, not a number you can budget from a public card. Implementation: confirm the trigger is a closed repair order or a delivered deal, not every inbound lead, or the store will ask people who never bought anything.

DealerRater

DealerRater is a dealer-review site, founded in 2002, and its own timeline says Cars.com acquired it in August 2016. The company page says the site holds about 7,000,000 consumer reviews and that Monthly reader exposure: over 34 million according to DealerRater (2026). Reviews are screened, and the certified-dealer program dates to 2007 on that timeline. The company page tells dealers to call for the commercial offer. A price is not published, so it is Quote-based. This is the site shoppers open when they want a salesperson, not only a star rating for the building.

Best fit: a store that already gets shoppers from Cars.com and wants those reviews and employee profiles tended. Limit: it is not, on the pages read here, a substitute for a managed Google-reply team. Implementation: decide who answers DealerRater and who answers Google, or the same complaint gets two tones.

SureCritic

SureCritic aims at service drives, collision shops, and independent repair as well as dealers. The solutions page says reviews are verified against the point-of-sale system, that ReviewReach asks for Google and Facebook reviews, and that surveys and a text-the-manager path surface problems before they are public. It describes SARA as the agent that answers reviews, and it states a Resolved-concern return rate: 92% according to SureCritic (2026). The same page says the ReScore recovery process is covered by U.S. Patent No. 10,580,010. No dollar amount is printed there, so the price is Quote-based. The 92% figure is SureCritic's own statement, not a third-party study.

Best fit: a fixed-ops director whose problem is service recovery, not showroom chat. Limit: if sales reviews on DealerRater are the actual hole, this is the wrong center of gravity. Implementation: the verification claim depends on a POS or DMS connection. Without that feed, you have a survey tool, not a verified-review tool.

Route the bad visit before it is public

Dealerships wrote Half-year repair orders: over 136 million according to NADA (2026), and service and parts sales were nearly $83 billion in that half. That is the pile a feedback tool sits on. Most of those visits will never become a review. The ones that go bad are the ones that move the star rating. A recall complaint should be checked against an open campaign before anyone writes a public sentence that sounds like an admission, which is the point of a recall status check before a car is listed or promised. A review that says the car did not match the photos is an inventory problem first, which belongs with an inventory aging check, not with a pasted apology.

A proposed setup from US Tech Automations starts when the DMS drops a closed repair-order file, or when an export the store already runs marks the visit complete. The workflow checks that a mobile number and an advisor name are present, sends the private survey through the feedback tool the store already pays for, and opens a private recovery task for the advisor when the score is low, while the public review invitation still goes out for every closed visit. The output is a same-day recovery list, each row with the repair-order number, the advisor, and the comment, plus a log of which invites went out. Prerequisites are an export the store is allowed to use, texting consent, and a review platform that can send an invite. A service manager works every low score the same day, and still reviews any public reply before it is posted.

The same US Tech Automations design can run a second path for deliveries. The trigger is a deal-status field the CRM already stores, the action is a private delivery survey sent in the same pass as the public review invitation, and the output is a coaching note for the salesperson plus a recovery list for the general manager. This is a configurable design, not a claim about a live store or a measured lift. It needs the CRM export, a named reviewer, and a written recovery step for a low score that still invites every delivery. It does not replace the equity-mining follow-up a sales desk may already run, and it should not fire on the same afternoon as a service reminder text.

Build it in Zapier, Make, or n8n instead

The real alternative for a handy operator is not another logo. It is Zapier, Make, or n8n, or a small in-house script, sitting between the DMS export and a texting account. Those tools can keep a run history, retry a failed send, branch when a step errors, and store an audit trail, if someone configures that. The buyer then owns observability, idempotency so the same repair order is not texted twice, escalation when a score comes back angry, access control for who can read the comment, and the maintenance when the export layout changes. A proposed US Tech Automations design can set the recovery task, the named reviewer, and the handoff into the review tool the store already pays for, with the same prerequisites and the same human check before a public reply. The difference is who keeps that path working after the first month. Neither path produces a result by itself, and neither should be described as a finished deployment.

Mistakes that show up in month two

  • Buying on a promised star lift and never naming who answers a one-star review on a Saturday.

  • Withholding the public invitation after a low private score. Use that score for recovery, and still invite every closed visit.

  • Stacking the review ask on the same day as a reminder or a conquest follow-up. A shopper who arrived from a conquest campaign and then gets three texts will not write the review you wanted.

  • Treating Reputation's $80 card as the automotive price. It is the public platform card. Confirm the brand schedule.

  • Telling a Reynolds store that Widewail's staff report is included. The pricing page says Customer Clarity is CDK-only at launch.

  • Letting an automated reply invent a repair, a discount, or an admission that the DMS does not support. The 50% rejection of generic replies is the mild version of that failure. A false admission is the serious one.

Words the contract actually uses

  • Rooftop: one storefront. Widewail's printed prices are per single rooftop, and a group is a separate scope.

  • Private survey: an internal score used to start recovery. It does not decide who receives the public review invitation.

  • Review invite: the text or email that asks for a public review. In Podium's export this is a row with a review_invite_uid.

  • Managed response: a vendor employee writes the public reply. On Widewail that starts on Pro, not on Core.

  • Quote-based: the vendor's own pricing page does not print a dollar amount. It is not a guess at the dollar amount.

  • DMS trigger: the closed repair order or the delivered deal that is allowed to start the ask.

  • CSI: the manufacturer satisfaction score. It is not the same object as a Google star, even when the comments rhyme.

  • ReScore: SureCritic's name for a follow-up rating after the store tries to fix a bad visit. The original complaint stays visible.

Questions to settle before you sign

What is a dealership feedback platform?

It is software that asks a buyer or a service customer for a score after a real visit, holds a bad score for a person, and tracks the public reviews that follow. A shared inbox with no ask, and a survey with no public site, are each only half of that.

Which of these seven prints a price?

Widewail prints $500, $750, and $1,200 per single rooftop per month, and Reputation prints $80, $115, and $150 per location per month on its platform card. Podium, Birdeye, Kenect, DealerRater, and SureCritic are Quote-based because their pages checked here do not print a fee.

Does the staff report work on Reynolds and Reynolds?

Not on Widewail's published Customer Clarity package. That page says CDK only at launch, and it says Reynolds and Reynolds and Tekion dealers can use competitive benchmarking on the Pro plan instead.

Is Reputation's $80 price the automaker program price?

No. It is the public Rep Core fee per location per month. A dealer should ask whether a brand program uses a different schedule before budgeting the $960 year.

Should a one-store dealer start with Birdeye?

Only if that store wants listings, messaging, surveys, and reviews in one quote. Birdeye's pricing page does not print a dollar amount, and the automotive page does not describe a specialist writing every reply.

Can Zapier, Make, or n8n replace a feedback platform?

Yes for the send itself, if you build the retry, the duplicate-visit block, the error branch, and the audit log. You still need a person on the bad score, and you still need a paid or free place for the public review to land.

When does the simpler tool win?

When NOT to use US Tech Automations, three simpler setups win. A store whose Kenect or Podium setup already texts on a closed visit, and whose manager answers Google the same day, does not need a second router. A rooftop whose manufacturer program already pays for Widewail or Reputation will double-ask customers if another workflow sends its own survey. A handful of deliveries a week can stay on a manual text from the desk phone, with a notebook line for who was asked.

What to do with the short list

Choose the printed card if you need to budget this week: Widewail when the reply and the automotive scope are the job, Reputation when the general platform card matches and you have confirmed it is the card your brand will honor. Choose a Quote-based tool when the missing piece is dealer texting, a listings network, DealerRater itself, or a service-recovery loop, and make the quote name the human reply, the private recovery step, and the DMS. If the remaining gap is the rule between the closed visit and the public ask, see how US Tech Automations configures this as a proposed workflow with an export, a named reviewer, and a private recovery task that still invites every customer, not as a second inbox.

About the Author

Garrett Mullins
Garrett Mullins
Workflow Specialist

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.