Skip to content
AI & Automation

Melio vs Stampli for Accounting Firms: Which Fits in 2027

Oct 27, 2026

Melio is now part of Xero, and Stampli remains a standalone AP suite

Melio and Stampli solve different parts of the same job, so the category choice comes before the feature list. Melio is a payments-first bill pay platform for small businesses and the accountants who work for them. Stampli is an accounts payable suite built around invoice capture, approval routing, and posting into an ERP. If the goal is low-cost vendor payments with accounting sync, Melio is the closer fit. If the goal is controlled approvals and PO matching across several entities, Stampli is the closer fit.

Accounts payable (AP) automation is software that captures vendor bills, routes them for approval, and pays them. The first fact to check is ownership. Xero completed its acquisition of Melio on October 15, 2025, and the trade press report on the deal put the total at $2.5 billion U.S., made up of $2.15 billion in cash and $360 million in Xero shares upfront, with up to $500 million more in contingent payments over three years. Xero deal price: $2.5 billion U.S. according to CPA Practice Advisor (2025). The same article describes Melio as an SMB bill pay platform that integrates accounting and payments, and it does not say whether the Melio brand or product will be merged into Xero. Ask Melio for its product roadmap before signing a multi-year commitment.

Stampli did not show a change of ownership in the sources checked for this guide. Fintech Global reported a $61 million Series D round led by Blackstone in October 2023. Series D round: $61m in 2023 according to Fintech Global (2023).

TL;DR: Choose Melio for low per-payment fees, published plan prices, and a free firm account. Choose Stampli when approval chains, PO matching, and ERP posting matter more than a published price, and expect to wait for a quote before you see any numbers.

Key Takeaways

  • Melio is owned by Xero after a deal completed on October 15, 2025, so ask about the product roadmap before committing.

  • Melio publishes plan prices from $0 to $80 a month. Stampli publishes no prices and routes buyers to a quote request.

  • Melio says accounting firms pay no subscription fee to use the platform, and clients get accountant pricing at 30% to 45% off.

  • Stampli's published scope leans toward approvals, PO matching, procurement, and ERP connections, with unlimited entities and vendors in its AP tier.

  • Melio's real cost depends on payment method: $0.50 per ACH payment after the free allotment, $1.50 per check, and 2.9% on card-funded payments.

  • Neither vendor's developer reference could be opened for this guide, so confirm API and export access in writing before designing any integration.

How we evaluated these tools

The weights below reflect this guide's judgment about what a small accounting business actually decides on. They are analysis, not vendor data. Factual vendor data comes from the vendor pages and independent sources cited in this article. Review-site star ratings are left out because the Capterra and G2 pages could not be opened during research, and those ratings shift between snapshots.

CriterionWeightWhy it matters for this reader
Approval and audit control20%Firms are judged on who approved a payment and when, so routing and logs decide risk.
Accounting-system sync20%A sync that breaks or lacks vendor credits creates manual rework every month.
Payment rails and per-payment fees15%ACH, check, card, and instant fees often outweigh the subscription for high-volume firms.
Multi-client or multi-entity management15%A tool that handles one company's books poorly will not scale across client books.
Price transparency and total monthly cost15%A quote-only price cannot be compared with a published one until the total is known.
Implementation effort and vendor support10%Setup time delays the first month of savings, and support matters when a sync fails.
Procurement and PO matching depth5%Most small firms rarely need PO matching, so this carries the smallest weight.

Weights total 100%. The rationale column explains why each criterion changes the outcome for a small firm rather than a large AP department.

Feature matrix: where each product's public pages stop

The table below normalizes what each vendor's public pages state. A "Not described" cell means the pages checked did not say, not that the feature is absent. The figures come from the pricing and ERP pages cited in the next two sections.

CapabilityMelioStampli
Published pricesYes, from $0 to $80 a monthNo, quote-based
Free entry optionGo plan, one user, 5 free ACH payments a monthNone listed on the pricing page
Accounting syncQuickBooks Online, Xero, QuickBooks Desktop, and NetSuiteAPI, bridge, or file connections; more than 70 ERPs claimed
Firm or multi-client managementAccountants Dashboard, with six permission levels in Team Management; no client cap statedNot described on the pages checked
PO matchingNot described on the pages checkedSemi-automated two-way and three-way PO matching in the AP tier
ProcurementNot described on the pages checkedProcurement in the Beyond Accounts Payable tier
Entities, locations, and vendorsNot statedUnlimited in the AP tier
Payment methodsACH, check, card, instant transfer, wire, global ACHDomestic check and ACH, global ACH and wire, virtual cards

The gap that matters most is in the last two rows. Melio's pages describe payment rails and firm tools in detail, while Stampli's pages describe approval and procurement depth in more detail, which tells you where each vendor expects its buyer to be.

Pricing and total cost: what's public and what's quote-based

Pricing checked October 26, 2026.

Melio publishes its plan prices, and its Go plan costs $0 with one user and 5 free ACH payments a month. Core tier list price: $25 a month according to Melio (2026). Each paid tier shows $0 for the first 90 days on the same page. The annual figures are as read from the pricing page layout, so confirm them at checkout. Melio's Platinum tier is quote-based and aimed at high-volume businesses.

Stampli publishes no prices. Its pricing page routes buyers to a quote request and splits its offer into an Accounts Payable tier and a Beyond Accounts Payable tier, and the AP tier lists 12 pre-built reports, according to Stampli (2026). An aggregator comparison analyzing more than 5,628 reviews from 6 review sites says Stampli does not publish list prices and that its costs are driven by invoice volume and selected modules, according to RFP.wiki (2026).

VendorPlanMonthly list priceFree ACH payments per month
MelioGo$05
MelioCore$25 ($20 on annual billing)20
MelioBoost$55 ($44 on annual billing)50
MelioUnlimited$80 ($64 on annual billing)Unlimited
MelioPlatinumQuote-basedNot stated
StampliAccounts PayableQuote-basedNot stated
StampliBeyond Accounts PayableQuote-basedNot stated

The Melio figures in this table come from the pricing page cited above. The Stampli rows reflect that no prices are published.

Subscription price is only part of Melio's cost. Per-payment fees on the same page are $0.50 per ACH payment after the free allotment, $1.50 per check, $20 for a fast check, and 2.9% for card-funded payments. The worked example below shows how those fees change the total.

Worked example (illustrative, not a customer): a client's Melio account on the Boost plan pays 62 vendor bills in one month, 58 by ACH and 4 by paper check. Boost includes 50 free ACH payments, so the 8 extra ACH payments cost $4 at $0.50 each, and the 4 checks cost $6 at $1.50 each. Add the $55 monthly Boost price and the month totals $65, not the $55 a headline price suggests. If the firm adds an approver text reminder through Twilio, the Message resource's error_code field is what the workflow reads to decide whether to fall back to email.

Cost lineQuantityUnit priceAmount
Boost plan, monthly list price1$55$55
ACH payments above the 50 free each month8$0.50$4
Paper checks4$1.50$6
Total monthly cost on the Boost plan——$65

Stampli's equivalent cost cannot be computed from public pages. A realistic comparison needs a written quote covering the AP tier, any Beyond Accounts Payable modules, invoice volume, and implementation.

Melio: where it fits and where it stops

Melio fits a firm that pays many small vendor bills for clients and wants published, low per-payment fees. Firm pricing: no subscription for the firm according to Melio (2026). The accountant page says firms pay nothing to use the platform, and clients get 45 days free before accountant pricing starts at 30% off all plans, rising to 45% off as the firm scales. The firm's free Unlimited plan includes advanced approval workflows, W-9 collection, 1099 sync through Tax1099, and unlimited users within the firm.

Sync is the strongest part of the Melio profile. The accountant page says bills, payments, and vendor credits sync with QuickBooks, Xero, or NetSuite, and that vendor credits are available only with QuickBooks Online. Melio's integration FAQ describes the Xero sync as automatic and real time, triggered when a bill, payment, or vendor is changed in either system.

The limits are plan-related. The Go plan supports one user, and Melio's own pages disagree on which plan includes QuickBooks Desktop sync: the pricing page places it on Boost, while the Xero integration FAQ says Desktop and NetSuite support requires the Unlimited plan. Confirm which applies before you sign up. Melio's pages describe no PO matching or procurement tier, so a firm that needs three-way matching will hit a wall.

Implementation is short. The integration steps are to sign in to Melio, open Settings, select the accounting software sync option, click Connect under the accounting platform, and sign in when prompted.

Here is where a proposed workflow would sit. A proposed US Tech Automations design for a Melio-using firm would start when a new bill syncs into the client's accounting file. The configurable steps would match the vendor against an approved list, compare the amount with an approval limit the firm sets, and check for a duplicate vendor and invoice number. Bills that pass would land in a payment queue with the approver's name attached, and each decision would write a row to a log the firm keeps. Prerequisites: an active Melio sync with the client's QuickBooks Online or Xero file, export or API access to bill records from that accounting platform, and a written approval policy. Human review points: any bill above the limit, any new vendor, any duplicate flag, and the final release of every payment inside Melio.

Stampli: where it fits and where it stops

Stampli fits an AP team that runs approvals and PO matching across mid-size or multi-entity clients and needs posting into an ERP. Its AP tier lists unlimited entities, locations, and vendors, along with semi-automated two-way and three-way PO matching. Procurement, Direct Pay, Credit Card, and Advanced Vendor Management sit in the Beyond Accounts Payable tier, and Stampli says its virtual or physical cards are free for Stampli customers.

On connections, the ERP page lists about 48 options, including Sage Intacct, Oracle NetSuite, QuickBooks Online, and several Microsoft Dynamics products, and says Stampli supports more than 70 ERPs in total. ERP coverage: more than 70 systems according to Stampli (2026). The page describes three connection types: pre-built APIs for supported cloud ERPs, a Stampli Bridge for supported on-premises systems, and structured file exchange for compatible workflows. For Sage Intacct, Stampli's page says approved invoices, credits, coding, documents, and payment records export back to Intacct, which remains the system of record.

Implementation is measured in days or weeks, and Stampli's page says simpler environments may take days while larger or more complex deployments typically take weeks rather than months. Expect a discovery, field and workflow mapping, testing, and launch process before the first live invoice.

The limits are price and scope. There is no published price, the core tier is built around AP teams, and PO matching is described as semi-automated rather than fully automated. A firm with a handful of clients and no approval chain may pay for depth it will not use.

A proposed US Tech Automations design for a Stampli team would start when an invoice is held for a PO variance. The configurable steps would open a task in the team's existing ticket queue with the invoice ID, the variance amount, and the vendor contact, then text an approver if the hold is still open after a window the firm sets. Prerequisites: a confirmed way to read invoice-hold status out of Stampli for the connected ERP, which the ERP page describes only as API, bridge, or file connections, and a Twilio account for texts. Stampli's own developer reference was not accessible for this guide, so the field names must be confirmed with Stampli. Human review points: any variance over the firm's threshold and any change to the PO itself.

Where a workflow layer fits, and where it doesn't

Accounts payable cost is the reason firms look at automation at all. Ardent Partners' 2026 research, summarized by Tailride, puts the average processing cost at Ardent average AP cost: $9.90 per invoice according to Tailride (2026). The same summary reports an average invoice exception rate of 19.9%, which is why the variance and duplicate checks above matter more than the headline fee.

The usual do-it-yourself alternative is to stitch these steps together in Zapier, Make, or n8n. Those tools can run flows with run histories, retries, error branches, and audit evidence when configured. The buyer still has to design and own observability, idempotency so a retry never sends a second payment, escalation paths, access controls for bank-linked accounts, and maintenance when a vendor changes a field. A proposed US Tech Automations design would configure those controls as explicit steps, such as a single approval gate with named reviewers and a retry rule that checks for an existing payment before resending, but the buyer would still approve the policy and own the access model.

When NOT to use US Tech Automations: skip an orchestration layer if your bill volume is small enough that Melio's built-in sync is the whole workflow, if your AP suite already runs approvals and ERP posting and your only gap is a status email, or if your real question is which bank account funds a payment, which a bank's bill-pay portal answers directly.

Who this is for and a decision checklist

Melio fits a small accounting firm or bookkeeper that pays vendor bills for several clients and wants published, low per-payment fees. Red flags: you need PO matching or procurement, you need approval chains across several entities, or you need NetSuite or QuickBooks Desktop sync on a low-tier plan.

Stampli fits an AP team running approvals, PO matching, and ERP write-back for mid-size or multi-entity clients. Red flags: you need a price before a sales call, your AP work is mostly simple ACH payments, or you have no ERP to post into.

Before you choose, work through this checklist:

  • Which accounting platform does each client use, and does the plan you need include that sync?

  • How many approval steps and PO matches does a typical invoice need?

  • Does the firm pay the subscription, or does each client?

  • How many ACH, check, and card-funded payments go out each month?

  • Can you wait for a quote and a deployment measured in days or weeks?

  • Will the vendor confirm API or export access in writing?

Questions buyers ask before choosing

Is Melio still an independent company?

No. Xero completed its acquisition of Melio on October 15, 2025, so buyers should ask how the product and brand will be handled under Xero.

Does Stampli publish its prices?

No. Stampli's pricing page says no prices are published and routes buyers to a quote request, so you need a quote to compare totals.

Does Melio charge accounting firms a subscription?

No. Melio's accountant page says firms pay nothing to use the platform, and clients get 45 days free before accountant pricing starts at 30% off.

Can I replace these tools with Zapier, Make, or n8n?

For a narrow flow, yes, but for approvals and payments that need audit evidence you must design and own the controls yourself.

Which tool should a firm with a few clients start with?

Start with Melio, because its free firm account and published plan prices let you test the flow before committing to a larger budget.

Is Stampli worth a quote for a small practice?

Usually only if approvals or PO matching are already a bottleneck, because the price is quote-based and implementation runs days or weeks.

The decision in one paragraph

Pick Melio if your core job is paying vendor bills cheaply and syncing them to QuickBooks Online or Xero, and you want a published price before you talk to anyone. Pick Stampli if your core job is approval control, PO matching, and ERP posting across several entities, and you can accept a quote and a longer setup. If you are not sure which of these two problems is bigger in your practice, see how US Tech Automations configures this for a proposed workflow, then check each prerequisite with the vendor before you commit.

About the Author

Garrett Mullins
Garrett Mullins
Workflow Specialist

Helping businesses leverage automation for operational efficiency.